If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • April, 2013

  • Django Unchained (2012) 8/10

    2013-04-23 22:41
    * * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Jack Reacher (2012) 9/10

    2013-04-18 23:19
    * * * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • The Way (2010) 6/10

    2013-04-05 22:40
    * * * * * *
    0.3
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012) 8/10

    2013-04-02 23:26
    * * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Jesus: Rise to Power 6/10

    2013-04-01 22:42
    * * * * * *
    0.3
  • March, 2013

  • Argo (2012) 8/10

    2013-03-13 22:47
    * * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • February, 2013

  • Life of Pi (2012) 10/10

    2013-02-27 22:19
    * * * * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJekyll (TV Series 2007– ) 7/10

    2013-02-26 22:25
    * * * * * * *

    7 is a generous rating due to the fact that it's a short (6 eps) series. I liked the modern take on Jekyll but I felt that there were a lot of missteps. I didn't like the werewolf thing, the overly long dialog scenes, the way it felt like a play and not a tv show and the awkward relationships between characters. Not a terrible way to spend your time though.

    0.3
  • The Master (2012) 7/10

    2013-02-20 21:51
    * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Side Effects (2013) 6/10

    2013-02-18 22:44
    * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Wreck-It Ralph (2012) 8/10

    2013-02-17 22:44
    * * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Chasing Mavericks (2012) 7/10

    2013-02-16 12:46
    * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Safety Not Guaranteed (2012) 8/10

    2013-02-15 22:46
    * * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me (1992) 6/10

    2013-02-11 22:12
    * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Skyfall (2012) 8/10

    2013-02-09 22:50
    * * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Twin Peaks (TV Series 1990–1991) 7/10

    2013-02-08 22:12
    * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • January, 2013

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSeven Psychopaths (2012) 9/10

    2013-01-15 22:38
    * * * * * * * * *

    I had low expectations for this movie but it surpassed in every way! I was expecting a thoughtless violent movie but this movie had a lot of ideas. I liked the 'Adaptation' like feel where the writer is in the story and changing things as he goes, the acting is great and the characters are very interesting while not being overly cartoonish. Walken and Farrell were especially interesting to me as pacifists in violent surroundings and how/why they hold on to their ideals. Very interesting ideas in a movie where I wasn't expecting any.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIndie Game: The Movie (2012) 8/10

    2013-01-13 22:00
    * * * * * * * *

    Nice look at indie video game developers and the work and passion they put in to their video game for an unknown reward and sometimes undue criticism. The documentary was well made, it had a good flow, good access to characters and enough drama to keep you engaged while also providing cool glimpses into the lives of programmers/artists who make the games.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Artist (2011) 8/10

    2013-01-10 22:41
    * * * * * * * *

    That a movie with essentially no spoken dialog at all can hold your attention for the duration is a feat. The technical achievement of using technology that feels like it would be made exactly the same some 70 years ago before audio was integrated and still make it relevant for an audience today is really something. Well acted and interesting.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTake Shelter (2011) 7/10

    2013-01-09 21:23
    * * * * * * *

    Take a journey with a man as he descends into what he feels is schizophrenia. Well acted and believable story but I didn't like the ending which I feel was too open to interpretation.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Man with the Iron Fists (2012) 5/10

    2013-01-07 22:15
    * * * * *

    With a movie that feels like it was made by teenagers, for teenagers, I have no idea how they assembled all the talent that they did, Russell Crowe, especially. All together very forgettable movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Bourne Legacy (2012) 5/10

    2013-01-07 21:11
    * * * * *

    This feels like the scraps of a proper movie. The character that we came to see is only hinted at while we're left with a second rate Bourne, way too much talking and sitting around but good location shots and the motorcycle chase was great.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKon-Tiki (2012) 9/10

    2013-01-06 22:05
    * * * * * * * * *

    A fictional retelling of the true story of a Norwegian who sets out to prove his thesis that the Polynesian islands were populated from South America as opposed to Asia by rafting his way there using the same apparatus that the natives would have had. The original documentary was an Oscar winner Kon Tiki Doc. Amazing that I didn't know this story already and it's all together very well done, one of my favorites so far this year.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Cabin in the Woods (2011) 7/10

    2013-01-06 14:46
    * * * * * * *

    Horror is absolutely not my genre of movie and this one falls squarely inside it but the plot is so clever that it at least gets decent marks from me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJiro Dreams of Sushi (2011) 8/10

    2013-01-02 23:01
    * * * * * * * *

    A study of Jiro, a man in a lifelong obsession with creating the finest quality sushi. It's so interesting to see his intense drive to make sushi, the sacrifices he's made to get to where he is and the determination to keep improving and never stagnate.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSearching for Sugar Man (2012) 8/10

    2013-01-01 23:05
    * * * * * * * *

    A truly fascinating documentary about a man from Detroit with lyrical talent who cut 2 records in the 70's that didn't sell at all in America. He returns to his regular construction life to find out 30 years later that South Africa adores him and he has sold millions of records there where he's as famous as Elvis or Simon & Garfunkel.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012) 8/10

    2013-01-01 18:52
    * * * * * * * *

    I'm not a LOTR die hard fan by any means so I wasn't terribly excited about this movie. I have read the book though I remember very little of it. This movie was long but didn't feel very unnecessary in its length. The acting was good, the pace and action is very familiar and similar to the first trilogy. Bilbo is solid in this and it's nice seeing some of the old LOTR characters as well. Solid film, not much to critique but not a lot of original things to praise either.

    0.3
  • December, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLåt den rätte komma in (2008) 7/10

    2012-12-29 22:12
    * * * * * * *

    A Norwegian vampire movie with kids where a young bullied boy befriends a young girl who he slowly discovers is a vampire. A very practical look at what being a vampire would be like and a saddening look at a boy who is the victim of bullying. Great acting and good story if you're into foreign flicks.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTaken 2 (2012) 6/10

    2012-12-20 11:13
    * * * * * *

    DTW > YVR - I find this sequel does nothing to improve on the original, it merely copies it. Not much originality and a bit of a silly plot kind of ruin this one. The original was great as it launched Liam Neeson to action star status but this one does nothing to add.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDredd 3D (2012) 7/10

    2012-12-20 11:12
    * * * * * * *

    DTW > YVR - basically an American version of the great Raid: Redemption asian movie from a little while ago. This Dredd is very good though, the action is constant and the effects are really cool and I'd say the acting itself is even pretty good. Very gory and certainly aimed at a male audience but if that sounds good then go for it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBreaking Bad (TV Series 2008– ) 9/10

    2012-12-18 11:12
    * * * * * * * * *

    If a TV series can be described as a page turner, this is one. At first, I had a very hard time getting into it as it's pretty dark watching a good man slowly and methodically go down a dark path but I started again and got hooked. The acting is incredible, the stories are unique and the writing of the show is top notch. One of the best character tv shows ever.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMoonrise Kingdom (2012) 7/10

    2012-12-13 22:14
    * * * * * * *

    Since Rushmore, I've really liked Wes Anderson and this film is well loved by most who see it. I liked it and it fits right in the Wes Anderson style but I didn't love it, not sure why.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPremium Rush (2012) 7/10

    2012-12-06 22:15
    * * * * * * *

    A soft action movie revolving around city biking. Lots of bike riding action and a plot that is simple but works well enough. The acting is really great overall for the main two characters and a plot that keeps moving makes this a nice easy watch.

    0.3
  • November, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSherlock (TV Series 2010– ) 9/10

    2012-11-25 22:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    An absolutely awesome TV show that would be suitable for nearly everyone. Very cleverly written, and well acted throughout. I love the shortened seasons (3 longer episodes) that the British use as they’ve really packed a movie-like punch into every episode. Well recommended.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTinker Tailor Soldier Spy (2011) 8/10

    2012-11-25 16:14
    * * * * * * * *

    This is a proper political/spy thriller that feels pretty old school. Not a lot of James Bond chases and shootouts, it's all about out-thinking your opponent and not trusting the wrong person. Much more cerebral but very enjoyable if you're in the mood.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Expendables 2 (2012) 6/10

    2012-11-18 19:13
    * * * * * *

    These movies are doing exactly what they should be doing but it just kind of sucks. It's awesome to have all these action guys together for a new action movie but it just doesn't feel right. Chuck Norris's character was ridiculous and the plot is quite outlandish; that is all.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTotal Recall (2012) 7/10

    2012-11-16 19:10
    * * * * * * *

    Fast action throughout and lots of differences from the original Total Recall. The story was alright but I didn't like Bryan Cranston as the president; I just don't think that he fits that role. The action and great effects were the best part of this movie.

    0.3
  • October, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCloud Atlas (2012) 8/10

    2012-10-31 17:41
    * * * * * * * *

    Fascinating story overall which is reasonably complex and somewhat jarring in it's constant movement but it doesn't take too long to get used to. I'm not sure the actors playing multiple roles worked so well (in some cases it was fine) as the makeup is nearly impossible to have work. All together, a very interesting type of movie which takes big risks, enjoyed.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLooper (2012) 8/10

    2012-10-29 22:42
    * * * * * * * *

    Great Sci-Fi! I thought it was a cool idea on the time travel genre where it's similar to Terminator but a little different. Nice work by JGL to mimic Bruce Willis and good action overall.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFastest (2011) 6/10

    2012-10-21 14:59
    * * * * * *

    A documentary about the madness that is MotoGP focusing on the season of Valentino Rossi. The overall story was lacking but the footage and racing was pretty cool.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Amazing Spider-Man (2012) 7/10

    2012-10-06 12:59
    * * * * * * *

    YUL > YVR - I think this was better than the first set of Spiderman's because the relationships seem much more realistic especially the one with Stacy. The action is good but I could have done with a better villain (when is Mysterio coming?!)

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBrave (2012) 9/10

    2012-10-05 11:58
    * * * * * * * * *

    YUL > YVR - I enjoyed this a lot! I was happy that the trailers didn’t spoil too much of the movie. The characters were lively and entertaining, the story was very interesting and kept you involved to see how the characters would change compared to how they were when you first met them.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJ. Edgar (2011) 6/10

    2012-10-01 16:57
    * * * * * *

    YVR > YUL - Good performances but I didn't really love the movie. Focused on his intense drive, personal morals and conflicting desires.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Ides of March (2011) 7/10

    2012-10-01 12:51
    * * * * * * *

    YVR > YUL - Political movie about the corruption of character. Young gun is shown with high ideals and after a few poor choices he's forced into making some bad choices to stay afloat. Good performances and story if you're into political movies.

    0.3
  • September, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPrometheus (2012) 7/10

    2012-09-12 16:18
    * * * * * * *

    YVR > LAX - the effects and feelings of this movie were very right. Suspicion of the government, robots of ill-repute mixed with aliens make for an interesting story. Not bad if you're into the series.

    0.3
  • August, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBlue Like Jazz (2012) 8/10

    2012-08-18 23:32
    * * * * * * * *

    This one was notable for impressing me beyond what I expected. I read and loved the book and saw the trailer for this which I thought looked terrible. The movie itself though was great and would be an easy recommend for nearly any Christian who liked the book or is interested in an honest depiction of faith among young adults.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBatoru rowaiaru (2000) 7/10

    2012-08-09 23:37
    * * * * * * *

    The Japanese version of The Hunger Games before the Hunger Games even came out. This one has a much more difficult to understand reason for the hunting but the film is way more adult-themed. More grisly action, more kids absolutely losing their minds; interesting film.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Dark Knight Rises (2012) 9/10

    2012-08-08 22:48
    * * * * * * * * *

    I couldn't be much happier with the Batman trilogy overall. This movie was the weakest of the three but was still quite good. I felt that they were trying to tie too many things together and it felt forced. The plot and characters were pretty good though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Hunger Games (2012) 7/10

    2012-08-07 23:16
    * * * * * * *

    It felt pretty teenager-y so if you're in that age group, it will probably work. The concept of kids killing each other for amusement is pretty adult but the way that it's done doesn't seem very adult. Overall, not bad but I think I'm past the demographic age group.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBernie (2011) 8/10

    2012-08-02 22:58
    * * * * * * * *

    Interesting true story of a kind Texan funeral director who befriends a miserable widow with a subtle yet slightly comedic performance by Jack Black - good stuff

    0.3
  • July, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSerbuan maut (2011) 8/10

    2012-07-31 22:41
    * * * * * * * *

    Absolutely grsily action, from start to end - that's all that you need to know.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewI Am Bruce Lee (TV 2011) 7/10

    2012-07-29 23:59
    * * * * * * *

    Famous people influenced by Bruce Lee and his family talk about his impact on the martial arts community. If you like Bruce Lee and don't mind 'talking heads' documentaries, then this will be good.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011) 8/10

    2012-07-18 22:50
    * * * * * * * *

    This is a very adult movie in the themes it explores, the depths it stoops to and also in the complexity of story and characters. I liked it because it was a rewarding and challenging movie to watch but would not recommend it for the light hearted.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHugo (2011) 6/10

    2012-07-09 21:19
    * * * * * *

    I admired this film more than I enjoyed it. The camerawork and cinematography were exquisite but I found the story to be slow and uninteresting. I thought that it lacked any tension and that the climax of the movie came half way through and the second half was merely an homage to film making itself.

    0.3
  • June, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHomeland (TV Series 2011) 7/10

    2012-06-19 23:28
    * * * * * * *

    This popular tv series is pretty contained in scope delving deeply into 2 or 3 characters; those characters are really quite amazing. I think my dis-love for politics skew this lower than most people but if you're into politics and modern terrorism, this is a solid tv series.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJohn Carter (2012) 7/10

    2012-06-07 21:19
    * * * * * * *

    The visuals were good but I found the story and characters to be mediocre; not bad, but not amazing

    0.3
  • May, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIf a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation... 9/10

    2012-05-26 22:41
    * * * * * * * * *

    Very compelling doc about a group of radicalized young people who resort to property destruction on a grand scale to get the attention of the people that (they feel) are damaging the environment. Shows the story from both sides although it leans to the protesters, good doc which goes to show that almost anything can be made interesting in good hands.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows (2011) 7/10

    2012-05-20 22:18
    * * * * * * *

    I really liked the ending with the mental chess match that Sherlock and Moriarty have but other than that, I wasn't thrilled. Truthfully, I didn't really love the original either but if you did like the original, you'd like this one as well.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewChronicle (2012) 8/10

    2012-05-18 22:39
    * * * * * * * *

    Great low budget, unknown cast, shaky cam video about 3 high schoolers and their acquisition and (mis)use of their new found super powers. Takes a very realistic approach and the action, effects and acting are all pretty seamless.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Avengers (2012) 9/10

    2012-05-04 21:10
    * * * * * * * * *

    watched this in Denver with my friend on opening night and it was awesome!

    0.3
  • April, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHaywire (2011) 5/10

    2012-04-22 14:11
    * * * * *

    SLC > MSP - I can like Soderbergh, I want to like Carano and the supporting cast is pretty awesome but this movie felt like a big miss. The acting was not great (that was expected), the story was incomprehensible and could only be traced by action scene to action scene and the characters were very under-developed. The stunts were (probably) all done by Carano which for the fighting scenes was pretty cool but lots of the other stuff felt like it could have been better. All told, I'd love to see her in more movies (or a tv show) even though this one was not that great.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Descendants (2011) 7/10

    2012-04-17 06:39
    * * * * * * *

    Good performances, interesting characters, good location, and a simple story well told. All that said, I liked it, but I didn't love it. Best quote was, "Give you kids enough money to do something but not enough to do nothing."

    0.3
  • February, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLike Water (2011) 7/10

    2012-02-25 16:19
    * * * * * * *

    An honest look at the most successful but certainly not the most loved athlete in UFC history, Anderson Silva.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAir Guitar Nation (2006) 7/10

    2012-02-19 11:37
    * * * * * * *

    Documentary about the rise of Air Guitar in the States and it's popularity worldwide. The first few minutes it seems to be really bizarre to be taken so seriously but by the end it begins to seem much more normal.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAnother Year (2010) 5/10

    2012-02-12 22:07
    * * * * *

    Far too slow with little plot at all. I understand that it was going for character development more so than plot but it seemed to just drop every character that it started a story with, the insomniac at the beginning, Ken, the drunkard and ultimately Mary who seemed to become the lead character by the end. No closure and way too little happening.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHigher Ground (2011) 8/10

    2012-02-08 22:25
    * * * * * * * *

    On Kevin's recommendation, Heidi and I watched this movie and we were glued to the screen throughout. It's the story of a woman's acceptance and struggle with her faith. I have no idea who I could recommend this to as it can be a bit crude for a Christian movie and a bit boring for those who like more' entertaining' movies. Nevertheless, her openness is powerful, "I gave my heart outright. I'm telling you today, I'm still waiting for Him to make Himself at home. I feel like I live in an empty place."

    0.3
  • January, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewReal Steel (2011) 7/10

    2012-01-30 22:13
    * * * * * * *

    YVR > SJC - kind of a zany concept but it works relatively well, not a great boxing movie but not too bad.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Guard (2011) 8/10

    2012-01-21 22:38
    * * * * * * * *

    This movie came well recommended to me and it was a good, strange and profanity laced comedy. The main character was profound, confusing and yet remarkably consistent and believable. Some good lines in there and a nice change of pace from an action movie loaded with action to this one which seems to try to avoid it at every turn.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMoneyball (2011) 9/10

    2012-01-14 23:44
    * * * * * * * * *

    When a movie with a plot as benign as MLB drafting and trading using statistics instead of scouting intuition is this entertaining, you know they did something right. Great story that had both Heidi and I riveted to a sport that we really know and care very little about.

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>