If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • June, 2006

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDomino (2005) 7/10

    2006-06-04 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A nice piece of acting here and a reasonably well fleshed out character, some of the plot points I didn't really care for but overall a decent movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAn Unfinished Life (2005) 8/10

    2006-06-03 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A slow moving movie with a few relationships at the heart of it. Plot unravels gently, history of the characters comes out in time, well acted by all and believable dialogue. It shows the huge uphill battle that abused women have to go through to get back on their feet.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMelinda and Melinda (2004) 6/10

    2006-06-03 12:34
    * * * * * *

    The concept of this movie is much better than the actual execution - there's one story but two different takes on it, one that it is tragedy, one that it is comedy - well acted throughout but I wasn't drawn to the characters and thought that some were actually miscast.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewV for Vendetta (2005) 8/10

    2006-06-03 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    This movie has a lot more talking than you may be expecting and not a ton of action. I was impressed with a few things about the movie (some are spoiler-y so I won't say) but I generally liked it and the idea that government needs some restraining.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewC.R.A.Z.Y. (2005) 9/10

    2006-06-02 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I didn't know what to expect from this movie but the acclaim is well deserved. Not as much about Quebecois culture as I thought it would be - more about the 70's in general, methinks. Great acting, interesting family to watch the duration of the film.

    0.3
  • May, 2006

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewX-Men: The Last Stand (2006) 7/10

    2006-05-28 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    This was the worst of the three X-Men movies due to the dialogue which was awfully cartoonish in so many places. The action was good as was the overall story - I didn't like th Phoenix character, there was no depth to her/it at all, not a bad movie though all in all.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTrois couleurs: Bleu (1993) 7/10

    2006-05-25 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A woman who loses her family in a car accident takes it out on herself by isolating herself and being abusive to others (and herself). A painful portrayal which is very well acted and there's a little bit of a mystery in the story which is kinda of revelaed right at the beginning.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Da Vinci Code (2006) 8/10

    2006-05-21 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I thought it was an accurate cinematic representation of the novel, and BTW, movies are never as good as the book they're made from, so we won't complain about that. I found the musical score too obtrusive, especially at the end, but other than that, the acting and casting was just fine - Enjoyable!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMarathon Man (1976) 7/10

    2006-05-21 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A classic thriller, involving aged Nazis and super secret government agents; not really what I was expecting but still a pretty good movie. Not something you really must go a see but a worthy thriller from 30 years ago.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRusskiy kovcheg (2002) 5/10

    2006-05-20 12:34
    * * * * *

    A little to art-y and incomprehensible for me, nice idea for a novelty picture though (the whole film is one shot).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Squid and the Whale (2005) 9/10

    2006-05-17 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    From about 2 minutes in I knew I was going to like this one. It did have moments where it was fairly crude but the dialogue and family situation was bang-on, phenomenal performances by everyone; I was really drawn into the story and couldn't put it down.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe New World (2005) 7/10

    2006-05-15 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    This movie had me particularily conflicted because while I wasn't really enjoying myself while watching it, it is a good movie. The editing, storytelling, and acting was all good but I found myself constantly tiring of the movie. Maybe because it lacks action, anyways, a very good movie that I made it through and didn't turn off (Heidi loved it).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKramer vs. Kramer (1979) 7/10

    2006-05-10 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I believe this is one of the first custody movies which takes the mans perspective in a system where the woman is highly favored simply for being the mother. Well acted and good chemistry between the main characters, I didn't really love the ending although it does seem to be consistent with the characters; not bad.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNine Lives (2005) 7/10

    2006-05-09 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Everyone is connected. The theme for these nine vignettes of women in LA, some stories are tragic, others humorous - all are well acted; this movie is full of big name small film actors and it was a pleasure to watch them on the screen. After a while I could feel the screewriters personality come out in all of the women but I guess that's ok.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMatch Point (2005) 7/10

    2006-05-05 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    LAX -> YUL - This probably would have been better had I watched it at home instead of the stupid airplane teeny tv's but the movie was quite good, had a nice albeit slow pace and the ending takes you for quite a ride when you're least expecting it. Quite enjoyable.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJarhead (2005) 7/10

    2006-05-02 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    The language will have some reeling but I really enjoyed this frank look at a soldiers boring life in the first Gulf War. Some images will stick with you (oil fields burning) but the pace may be to slow and the language too coarse for many. Overall, I enjoyed it.

    0.3
  • April, 2006

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHostage (2005/I) 6/10

    2006-04-18 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I was kind of rolling with this movie until near the end when it started to get a little too impausible. Didn't mind the acting and the story but it just got kind of out of hand by the time the end rolled around.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLayer Cake (2004) 6/10

    2006-04-14 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I think the point of this movie was to make everything feel completely out of control and free-flowing like anything could happen and I wasn't quite ready for what I got. As much as I preach that I want unique movies, when I get one like this I didn't quite like it. Can't put my finger right on it but I didn't love this movie...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewConstantine (2005) 5/10

    2006-04-11 12:34
    * * * * *

    I'm setting myself up here with bad movies so really, can I really complain? This one was pretty much exactly what you'd expect, silly, irreverant, and then, just dumb - Although the words of Gabriel at the very end were pretty hilarious. "You could have shot me, John! You chose a higher path. Look how well you're doing!"

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHellboy (2004) 5/10

    2006-04-10 12:34
    * * * * *

    Seemed like a tired version of so many other crappy movies before it like TLOEG, TR, and even Spawn. Too many fancy sets, not enough meaningful dialogue. I also thought the romantic jealousy storyline was pathetic, I hate those storylines that only happen because you overhear the last part of the conversation.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMr. & Mrs. Smith (2005) 8/10

    2006-04-10 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I was actually impressed with this movie - more fun than I though. I enjoyed the action (except for the very last scene which was too unbelievable) and the chemistry was pretty great. Worth watching for the type of movie it is.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJenseits der Stille (1996) 5/10

    2006-04-03 12:34
    * * * * *

    I could barely force myself to watch the second half of this after seeing the first half and having my computer battery die. Way too melodramatic, I didn't have a character I was rooting for in the movie, I thought they were all all a little messed up and not portrayed endearingly. Weak dialogue and offbeat pace, not great.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMemoirs of a Geisha (2005) 5/10

    2006-04-02 12:34
    * * * * *

    The scenery and wardrobes in this movie were outstanding but everything else was bad. The characters were unmotivated and unbelievable, the story was uninteresting, the dialogue was out of a soap opera and I couldn't believe it was in English! I was very disappointed by this one.

    0.3
  • March, 2006

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSyriana (2005) 8/10

    2006-03-26 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A very good movie, you kind of hover around the edge of what the movie is trying to say until afterwards when you have time to put it all together. Nice performances and well written script.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHauru no ugoku shiro (2004) 8/10

    2006-03-25 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Japanese animation is really appealing to me in my 20's. I thought about this movie long after it had finished, there are so many themes that it conveys that don't get attention in other movies. I like how the 'bad' guys always have a chance at redeeming themselves, they're not cut and dried; so many great things to say.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCapote (2005) 7/10

    2006-03-24 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Brilliant acting and nice story covering a brilliant artist and piece of history but a really slow movie; not one I could watch again mostly for the slow pace.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA History of Violence (2005) 9/10

    2006-03-17 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I enjoyed this more than I thought I would, and I had pretty high expectations. A mix of guilty pleasure 90's action movies with a story that makes sense and performances that are riveting. Great action and story merge here for a great movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBroken Flowers (2005) 4/10

    2006-03-13 12:34
    * * * *

    This was awful. I understand it was likely trying to do some of the things that I didn't like but I really didn't go for it. Extremely slow, no plot driving the story, and the characters aren't interesting enough to hold it together; oh, and there's no ending.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKing Kong (2005) 8/10

    2006-03-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    The special effects in this are phenomonal! Some of the acting is off, but Kong, and the dinosaurs are just awesome. A few moments when the movies was too horror-ish and squeamy but otherwise a very fun show.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAll the President's Men (1976) 8/10

    2006-03-10 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A nice historical movie about the Watergate scandal and the reporters at the Washington Post who broke it. I like the way that they confirmed information from their sources, very sneaky. "I'm going to count to 10 and if you're still on the line at that time I know Haldeman was involved, if you hang up I'll know not to print the story". Cool stuff.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMononoke-hime (1997) 10/10

    2006-03-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    A repeat watching for me - I don't usually watch movies again once I've seen them but I absolutely love this movie even the second time; I would watch it again! I love the honor, mysticism and brand new feel to this movie (it's no Disney fluff!) - a real winner!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Constant Gardener (2005) 9/10

    2006-03-06 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    A large scale look at the situation in Africa and how their poverty makes them targets as cheap bodies to test drugs. I really enjoyed the characters as they changed in the movie and the plot confused me enough to be believable. A worthy Oscar win for Weiss.

    0.3
  • February, 2006

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMillions (2004) 9/10

    2006-02-28 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    A family story with pronounced relevance. British in its humor, this story has strongly written characters in interesting situations that are handled in (mostly) a believable way. A great show!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJunebug (2005) 9/10

    2006-02-20 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Despite the slow pace this movie had me on the edge of my seat. Accurate portrayal of Christians and also not demeaning. Some unexpected character behavior at the end of the film was a bit unsatisfying but great performances and interesting script keep this moving.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Island (2005) 6/10

    2006-02-18 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I'm a tough sell on futuristic movies and this one isn't working. So many plot holes, and a story that doesn't quite work. Decent marks for good action and sharp effects.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCinderella Man (2005) 7/10

    2006-02-14 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A great story and great acting too but I'm growing tired of the expected outcome. I need something with a little bit more unknowns involved; but I guess, what was I expecting?

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRyan (2004) 8/10

    2006-02-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A Canadian Oscar winning short about broken people and how their previous experiences affect them. Brilliant and creative animation make this worth watching.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLa marche de l'empereur (2005) 8/10

    2006-02-08 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I'm surprised I gave this an 8 but it was a good movie, thoroughly filmed and researched. Could have been an hour Discovery Channel special but doesn't suffer too much for being a feature length, it seems to hold the length alright. By the end you'll be saying - I get it! It's a cruel world! Sheesh

    0.3
  • January, 2006

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Hustler (1961) 8/10

    2006-01-22 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Great performance by PN in an interesting story. It ends in an interesting way and there may be a few unexpected surprises by the time you get there. A cinematic classic for a reason.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGrizzly Man (2005) 8/10

    2006-01-21 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Heidi loved this movie - Treadwell is an tortured, creepy and fascinating man who is very watchable when revealed through this movie. We were singing for days, "Geronimo's gone... and Treadwell is gone". Good stuff.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCrash (2004/I) 10/10

    2006-01-04 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    I was astounded at how good this movie actually was. Not cruder than it needed to be and also not graver than necessary. I loved that it avoided lots of opportunities to be a heavier movie. It is in each of us to be better people... or worse - make the small decisions to choose to be better!

    0.3
  • December, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSerenity (2005) 9/10

    2005-12-29 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    This is what I'm talking about! This is what going to the movies should feel like. Original dialogue, plot turns, ending, and a plot that is intelligent while not being tough to follow. A great film - I hope others will come out that have this level of originality.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the... 9/10

    2005-12-29 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I found this adaptation to be faithful enough for me to the original. There were some added scenes and extra characters but I thought that it kept the mood and themes of the original book quite well. The special effects were also an added treat as they didn't feel too sepcial, they blended quite well.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWalk the Line (2005) 8/10

    2005-12-06 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Ray with white people. Great performances and story but lacks originality in direction to make it really stand out. A nice biopic though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAmerican Graffiti (1973) 7/10

    2005-12-05 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Another classic revisited. A well documented peek into the past that still seems relevant today. Well written and while it seems to have no flow it does go from beginning to end in a orderly and timely fashion.

    0.3
  • November, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWar of the Worlds (2005) 6/10

    2005-11-24 12:34
    * * * * * *

    The special effects were great but any movie with TC has to be astounding for me to enjoy it as I'm disposed to disliking him. Way too many horror aspects to this film; lef this movie wuite displeased, could have been much better.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOn the Waterfront (1954) 8/10

    2005-11-19 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Another classic that is worth seeing. I understand that this movie actually brought changes to the docks in the East, so a useful classic too. Great performaces, interesting story, yesir.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGood Night, and Good Luck. (2005) 8/10

    2005-11-17 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I went with my friend and he fell asleep but I absolutely loved this. The performances were amazing, directing also good. I don't know what that marriage at CBS story was about in here but otherwise a very good (albeit biased) movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Endurance: Shackleton's Legendary Antarctic... 8/10

    2005-11-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    The best Shackleton movie out there, captures most of the high points of his incredible Antarctic expedition and the effort it took to get everyone out alive.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStar Wreck: In the Pirkinning (2005) (V) 6/10

    2005-11-04 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Free to download. I don't think I was able to get through this whole thing. The special effects are great but the worlds portrayed in satire movies almost always grow old on me in about 30 minutes.

    0.3
  • October, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the review"Angels in America" (2003) 7/10

    2005-10-31 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    About the NY gay community in the mid-80's and how AIDS is affecting them. There were a couple of characters in this mini-series that I really liked which is why I'm recommending this. The acting and dialogue was quite good as well. Enjoyable if this plot interests you.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDer Untergang (2004) 8/10

    2005-10-29 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    The first German movie to portray Hitler at all - these are his end days. A very difficult film to watch which is based on the documentary Blind Spot. A fascinating look at the humanity and madness of the people behind the war and what their motivation and percieved successes were.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAlexander (2004) 4/10

    2005-10-28 12:34
    * * * *

    I have a fascination about movies that people say are horrible, I need to see for myself if they were right and oh boy, they were right. This movie is very bad. Not for the man-love which is culturally awkward today but for the poor management of the story. The acting is poor, the screenplay is awful, i can't stand the flashbacks - what a mess!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDial M for Murder (1954) 7/10

    2005-10-26 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I realized a bit of the way into this one that I had previously seen it but I enjoyed it anyways. AH movies are so very smart and well written that they're almost always a pleasure. I love the way the villianous husband comes up so quickly with a plan B when his original plan fails and the movie slowly enveils his dastardly logic.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStay (2005/I) 7/10

    2005-10-25 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Here's the best forum to learn what it all means. I spent a few hours reading through forums to figure out what was going on - a sure sign that it's a decent movie because I wanted to spend the time and there was enought that I couldn't understand that I knew there was an answer to. If you get it straight in your head it's a pretty good film.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAladdin (1992) 8/10

    2005-10-22 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    An animation classic revisited. I watched this movie so many times but there was so much that I could not remember. Not that you need to watch it again but it was a pretty good movie once again. The sing alongs are pretty fun but the Genie does get a little tiring.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKingdom of Heaven (2005) 6/10

    2005-10-22 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I appreciate that there's a movie out there that is covering a time period in history not typically covered. I found this to be a fair and balanced portrayal of the people at the time. The story wasn't too bad but the lead characters were completely unable to carry this film. Not a bad movie to watch though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPer qualche dollaro in più (1965) 7/10

    2005-10-20 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A decent western. I found the culture and relationships difficult to grasp periodically but on the whole a worthwhile western experience. Clint is in fine form as the wandering bounty hunter again.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOng-bak (2003) 8/10

    2005-10-16 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A legitimate new action hero coming from Thailand. I like his style of kickboxing and JC type aerobics. The subtitles and culture were tiring but the action really held its own when it got going. Cool new stunts make this worth watching.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFantastic Four (2005) 6/10

    2005-10-06 12:34
    * * * * * *

    LAX -> YYZ - as I say, movies on planes are so much worse - this one was really missable. Terribly formulaic, I don't think I need to see another superhero origins movie again for a long time.

    0.3
  • September, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFlightplan (2005) 8/10

    2005-09-30 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I like a movie with a good twist, this movie had one. Although after sitting back for a bit after the movie you wonder about some plot confusion, while you're watching it, everything seems to make sense; even the gotcha at the end seems to fit. Decent thriller with a decent twist = good fun

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBUtterfield 8 (1960) 7/10

    2005-09-27 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A few classic scenes, and ET in one of her most famous roles make this worth watching but doesn't age quite as well as some other classics.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSpellbound (2002/I) 8/10

    2005-09-25 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    An intelligen, voyeristic look into the homes of a few kids vying for the US Spelling Bee prize. The lengths that some will go to (parents mostly) is astounding and most of the kids are a pleasure to watch on film making this a decent documentary.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewUnderworld (2003) 6/10

    2005-09-16 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Well, when you're in the mood for crap, this is what you watch. Nothing great here, vampires vs werewolves, blah blah blah. Good action and watchable heroine but...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDead Man Walking (1995) 9/10

    2005-09-04 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    A phenomonal movie that actually made me think and feel for the characters. I mostly identified with the nun who was trying to do good things but kept running into trouble as she was trying to help. By the end she had forged a few substantial relationships at a personal cost. Great movie!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Dancer Upstairs (2002) 7/10

    2005-09-04 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Foreign film about figthing homeland terrorists was pretty good. It brought me into the culture and explaned many things in that regard quite well. Good performances, characters, but a more adult (in pace, subtitles, and lack of action) may shy most away.

    0.3
  • August, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Interpreter (2005) 6/10

    2005-08-30 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Could have been better. Some respect that it didn't go too over the top when it could have with chases and stuff. A little bit more of an intelligent movie and not so much of a childish action flick. Respectable but too little, too slowly.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLife or Something Like It (2002) 5/10

    2005-08-28 12:34
    * * * * *

    Instnatly forgettable craptastic movie. I think I watched this feature movie in about 30 minutes so maybe I didn't give it much of a chance but part of the high mark is that it didn't waste too much of my time.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEl maquinista (2004) 6/10

    2005-08-28 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I was hoping for a lot more from this film. Amazing performance and body starvation by CB but it went with a feel that was too horror-y. I liked the twist/explanation at the end and bought the whole storyline - good for thinking but I didn't like the tone.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Snow Walker (2003) 7/10

    2005-08-26 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A well made Canadian film with decent acting, insufficient character development and a captivating survival story. Takes a while to get into it but once you're there it goes along pretty well; very CDN in feel but still quite good.

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>