If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • August, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFear and Loathing in Las Vegas (1998) 8/10

    2005-08-23 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Wow, I liked this a lot more than I thought I would. I loved all the 'as your attorney' lines. All actors were amazing, so many performances that were just unbelievable. A lot funnier than I thought it would be - portrays a very positive and humorous view of heavy drug use.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSin City (2005) 8/10

    2005-08-21 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Very good movie while also being very guesome. Unbelievably faithful to the comic which inspired it in both story, dialogue and visual look. A little too hard boiled, gritty and comicy for me after awhile, still a very good movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe 40 Year Old Virgin (2005) 7/10

    2005-08-21 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I liked this movie and SC in it but it is quite dirty and really not suitable for those who aren't expecting that. Lots of funny moments and a sweet ending but lots of off color stuff in between.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Transporter (2002) 7/10

    2005-08-20 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A decent action movie with a likeable lead, good action and essentially a forgettable story. Not bad.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCatwoman (2004) 3/10

    2005-08-17 12:34
    * * *

    It was on TV so I went for it and what a sucky movie it is (mostly went through at 4X)! Bad directing, awful special effects, lame dialogue and for those expecting a story, you shouldn't!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSuper Size Me (2004) 8/10

    2005-08-17 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I pretty much knew exactly what to expect and it still pleased me. I will certainly still be eating fast food but maybe I'll do a push up afterwards. Well made, friendly and convincing doc on obesity.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Maltese Falcon (1941) 8/10

    2005-08-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Film noir classic! So many quick and witty lines just keep pouring out of everyone's mouths. I was surprisesd by a small aspect of the ending in a weird way that I don't think I liked (but yet I kinda did). All in all, a worthy classic.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNuovo cinema Paradiso (1988) 8/10

    2005-08-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A boyish story of a Spanish kid who wants to be a projectionist in his small town, he does and later goes on to make movies professionally. It captures the time and place quite well and is a nice, quaint movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBlazing Saddles (1974) 7/10

    2005-08-14 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    MB comedy, so you should know what you're getting but I didn't find it quite as over the top as his others. Not a bad comedy and it doesn't go too long as to be tiring, a few too many Jewish jokes, well done.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Sixth Sense (1999) 8/10

    2005-08-10 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    For my generation I think this is the first really great sneak ending movie. Still enjoyed it the second time when I knew the gotcha. Heidi found it a bit too scary even though she really likes other MNS stuff.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCabaret (1972) 7/10

    2005-08-07 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    It's hard to tell when people act well or if that's just who they are really like - such is the case of Liza in Cabaret! A good movie even today, nice musical numbers, great acting, and surprisingly conterversial subject matter.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBatman Returns (1992) 7/10

    2005-08-03 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    These old Batman movies really pale in comparison with the latest BB but it is still quite good. It feels a bit wilder and mean but it's better than the 2 that came after it but not as good as the original.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Boxer (1997) 6/10

    2005-08-03 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Not nearly as good as ITNOTF but still a decent collaboration. Too slow paced and a bit dull with not enough going on but passable.

    0.3
  • July, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Hudsucker Proxy (1994) 7/10

    2005-07-28 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A good Coen brothers movie. It has so many of their common themes and styles in this movie. JJL has a very unique and enjoyable (in a grating way) role and the other performances are also good.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBride & Prejudice (2004) 5/10

    2005-07-27 12:34
    * * * * *

    I think it has something to do with my being fun-deficient but this movie just didn't make it for me. Very colorful, and sing-y; but I didn't like the story or the feel. I don't mind being alone in not liking this movie; you may enjoy it!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCitizen Kane (1941) 9/10

    2005-07-22 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I think I inflated my rating a bit because of this movie's legendary status. Great camera work, story, characters and writing - so much in this movie is the groundwork for today's movies, so thanks!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIn the Name of the Father (1993) 8/10

    2005-07-21 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Astounding true story of a Irish punk who is blamed for bombings in England and his eventual framing and time behind bars for the crime he didn't commit. Amazing acting, heartfelt story really reminds me of David Milgaard (though I don't know a lot about that story) and what is presently going on in England.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSahara (2005) 6/10

    2005-07-17 12:34
    * * * * * *

    YUL -> LAX - Not much good to say here so I'll just shut up.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLords of Dogtown (2005) 8/10

    2005-07-16 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Heidi's pick, the Hollywood version of the Dogtown documentary and it's actually quite well done. I was impressed with about 1/2 of the acting, the directing was good and the story stuck pretty close to the documentary. A solid flick.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJaws (1975) 8/10

    2005-07-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    The original summer blockbuster! Good movie, nice special effects and really the blueprint for a million other Summer Blockbusters that have come along since. Also the movie to shoot SS to fame.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Assassination of Richard Nixon (2004) 9/10

    2005-07-07 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    It's about MONEY, DICK!! Ohh, the switch from soft push over, to renegade would be assassin. Great story of a down on his luck guy who starts going a bit nuts, ostracizing his friends and eventually finds himself alone with only the system to blame.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKagemusha (1980) 7/10

    2005-07-06 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Not my favorite AK film, very long and took about 3 seperate viewings to get through it. Interesting premise which is based on a true story has a thief pose as the king after the king is killed to keep their country together. A little bit long and detailed and I don't think I understood everything they were trying to do but not bad.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPieces of April (2003) 7/10

    2005-07-05 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    An estranged daughter and her family (including her dying mother) come together for a classic Thanksgiving meal in her dingy NY apartment. Shot home video style, gives a sense of the American Thanksgiving and a sweet ending to tie it all up.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLes triplettes de Belleville (2003) 7/10

    2005-07-03 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A very stange animation no doubt. Very dark and fairly adult based humor, kids wouldn't really get it or find it funny. I appreciated the uniqueness of it and the non-Disney ness of the look and story.

    0.3
  • June, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPer un pugno di dollari (1964) 6/10

    2005-06-28 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Another remake of Yojimbo this time with CE in the Yojimbo role. Didn't really like Yojimbo and don't really like this one, not that it's nececssarily flawed, I just didn't go for it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMar adentro (2004/I) 7/10

    2005-06-26 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I liked this movie for not making the main star like a hero, he was pretty seriously flawed IMHO but still trying to get you to take his side on the battle he was fighting. It does argue a point but I don't think I agreed with the outcome in this case.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBatman Begins (2005) 10/10

    2005-06-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    I don't know what more I want from a Batman movie! I've been looking forward to this one for at least a year and it did not fail to deliver! Great cast, story, villians, pace, mood, effects made this the best Batman movie yet!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHitch (2005/I) 6/10

    2005-06-14 12:34
    * * * * * *

    ORD -> SNA - I've said before that movies on airplanes are just not as good by virtue of having to watch them in a plane, this one is no exception. Textbook romantic comedy, it's like color by number. So played.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Arrested Development" (2003) 9/10

    2005-06-12 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 2 - I think I consumed this whole season on a trip to CA and back! So funny again - constantly new and interesting material for all of the cast. This series is seriously the best on TV.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCellular (2004) 7/10

    2005-06-11 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    For what it's trying to do I thought it was ok. Pretty much was you're expecting, a waste of 2 hours as the bad guys try to kill the good guys - yahoo!

    0.3
  • May, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStar Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith (2005) 8/10

    2005-05-24 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Woo - this is getting better! Too bad they didn't hit their stride earlier and make some decent movies but this one was great; dark and foreboding. Good conclusion to the whole saga.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMillion Dollar Baby (2004) 8/10

    2005-05-20 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Very solid drama about a down and out-er who wants to be a boxer. Not a wasted scene in the movie, very good flow and strong characters.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Arrested Development" (2003) 9/10

    2005-05-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - Oh man, by far the best comedy since Seinfeld. Story of a tight but completely worlds apart family and their grabs for power and money from each other. Amazing supporting cast - funny across the board. I can't wait for more of this!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIn Good Company (2004) 9/10

    2005-05-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Great movie and better than most in this genre. Very well written dialogue, well acted, realistic story and a very nice flow to it all. This'll make it to top 10 of the year!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Firefly" (2002) 7/10

    2005-05-04 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - Not great but not bad either. I like the braveness of making unlikeable characters but all in all, I just watched it cause it was there and nothing better was on.

    0.3
  • April, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Elephant Man (1980) 8/10

    2005-04-25 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Powerful classic drama about human dignity. A circus freak is discovered by a doctor and given sanctuary in a hospital - very human, well acted and based on a true story!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSigns (2002) 7/10

    2005-04-24 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I'm enjoying M Night's movies! This one is not exactly like his others where there's the twist at the end but it is still a great movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewUnforgiven (1992) 8/10

    2005-04-24 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Although not a fan of westerns I did enjoy this one. I think I watched it when it came out in 1992 and didn't enjoy it. This time around it was much better. Great acting and directing!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGerry (2002) 4/10

    2005-04-23 12:34
    * * * *

    Speaking of slow pace, this is the slowest paced movie I have EVER SEEN! Could have been compressed to a 10 minute short. I did enjoy the funny words they used though (mountain top scout about, dirt mattress, shirt basket, marooned...)

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Office" (2001) 7/10

    2005-04-22 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - I liked this show but don't think I'll be addicted to it. It's a little to realistic and slow paced to be excellent but does have its funny moments.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOcean's Twelve (2004) 5/10

    2005-04-21 12:34
    * * * * *

    This was a very un-excellent movie. Bad pacing, ineffective use of the 12 and really wasn't written for the cast they had. Stay away

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Yes Men (2003) 5/10

    2005-04-16 12:34
    * * * * *

    This was actually pretty bad. The trailer looked good but that's everything that is good. It is very poorly constructed and edited and lacks depth to be a feature film. Interesting premise but not for a whole movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSideways (2004) 7/10

    2005-04-16 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Good story and very strong written and acted characters but it lacks a great ending - all too happy and that doesn't flow with the movie methinks.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Corporation (2003) 7/10

    2005-04-10 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A nice effort but too wildly across the board, not balanced enough and the solution is weak (hand everything over to government - yeah, they've never screwed anything up). How about consuming less? Not even addressed.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewC'era una volta il West (1968) 7/10

    2005-04-08 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Better than OUTIA but not great. It felt a lot like OUTIA but it had a better story, it was able to tie things up and a decent villian.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSpanglish (2004) 8/10

    2005-04-03 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    HNL to EWR - High marks almost purely for a brave ending. Liked some of the characters, didn't like the dialogue, and it was acted well.

    0.3
  • March, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFinding Neverland (2004) 6/10

    2005-03-26 12:34
    * * * * * *

    EWR to HNL - It was meant to be childish and goofy but I didn't really need to see it. Not a great movie by any stretch but it is simple and heartwarming if that's what you're going for.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Village (2004) 8/10

    2005-03-19 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I like MNS's movies almost across the board. I really don't like horror's but he seems to make them well. I loved the story and the ending was believable and made it all worthwhile

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCloser (2004/I) 4/10

    2005-03-18 12:34
    * * * *

    This movie was way too dirty which I wouldn't have minded so much had the story been better. Solid acting but I didn't care for any of the characters and actually walked out before it was over.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIl buono, il brutto, il cattivo. (1966) 9/10

    2005-03-15 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    This is probably the first western that I've seen that I really liked. Feels like Star Wars for being a little bit lighthearted but still ominous.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOnce Upon a Time in America (1984) 6/10

    2005-03-13 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Oh, I didn't much like this one. Made to be an epic but there were so many things I didn't like and for a 4 hour movie it would be nice if they could tie up the storylines. I did like the Jewish mafia angle though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA Clockwork Orange (1971) 7/10

    2005-03-12 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I think this movie is so popular because it's the first one to do many things but I didn't really love it. Good story, more of a social commentary though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLe peuple migrateur (2001) 9/10

    2005-03-07 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I put this one on to fall asleep to but it kept me up and riveted for the whole feature. Beautifully shot scenes of birds as they travel north and south to find food.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Incredibles (2004) 8/10

    2005-03-06 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I don't think that this movie should be in the top 100 movies of all time but I did enjoy it quite a lot. Fun villian and supporting cast, good flowing story and visual effects - worth a viewing.

    0.3
  • February, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewI Heart Huckabees (2004) 7/10

    2005-02-27 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I liked the way this movie thought and how you could feel what they were talking about even though you couldn't understand. Great performances and very post-modern.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSky Captain and the World of Tomorrow (2004) 9/10

    2005-02-25 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I loved the look and feel of this one - it felt like the old Batman cartoons with a mix of IG, IJ and some other things. Didn't much like the characters or relationships but that didn't seem to matter for me. Nicely done!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Forgotten (2004) 6/10

    2005-02-23 12:34
    * * * * * *

    A great idea based on one of my favorite ST:TNG eps but the explanation just didn't make it for me. Relied too much on a sci-fi belief without humoring it with answers.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMan on Fire (2004) 7/10

    2005-02-22 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    What the Punisher should have been. A vengence flick with a young boy's sensibilties and a very hollywood ending but I was entertained.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Manchurian Candidate (1962) 7/10

    2005-02-18 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    This movie was pretty good - didn't have nearly the number of twists that the remake did but it was a solid fear-the-commie movie. FS really runs like a girl, I can't imagine a time when that would have been cool.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDog Day Afternoon (1975) 8/10

    2005-02-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I can't say I understand what all the fuss is about but it was a good movie. The content may have been wild or the fact that it was based on a true story but all in all, average but for Pacino.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRay (2004/I) 9/10

    2005-02-13 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Another great biopic about Ray Charles. Terrific acting deserving the Oscar win and fun jiving music. An amazing journey follwing an amazing life full of personal triumphs

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBonnie and Clyde (1967) 6/10

    2005-02-04 12:34
    * * * * * *

    This one was very disappointing and doesn't stand the test of time at all. The storytelling was quite poor and could have been made a lot more interesting.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Aviator (2004) 9/10

    2005-02-02 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Whoa, great acting, interesting story, and wild life before we were ruled by boundaries of position Hughes does it all!

    0.3
  • January, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002) 8/10

    2005-01-29 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I'm really glad that I saw this one, some of the extended scenes were really great (the Saruman finale especially).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring... 8/10

    2005-01-28 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Repeat viewing with the EE - some more details were nice and overall the flow was still excellent, the cut scenes didn't really stand out.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBridget Jones: The Edge of Reason (2004) 7/10

    2005-01-26 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Funny if you liked the original. Bridget gets herself into more trouble and much laugher ensues.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRiding Giants (2004) 9/10

    2005-01-25 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Repeat viewing of one of my top 10 of last year - loved it again

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003) 8/10

    2005-01-24 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Another top ten repeat viewing - this time the Extended Edition which is worth it entirely for the scene of the Mouth of Sauron; that was sooo cool

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Godfather: Part III (1990) 6/10

    2005-01-22 12:34
    * * * * * *

    This one had interesting ideas about the church and personal redeption but it didn't come together nicely enough for me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Godfather: Part II (1974) 8/10

    2005-01-22 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Second in the marathon, I love RD performance in this one and the tragic dark ending, great movie

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>