If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • January, 2005

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Godfather (1972) 8/10

    2005-01-22 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    First in the Godfather marathon - this one is almost my favorite cause it tells a straight story that you can really follow and get involved in.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMy Life Without Me (2003) 6/10

    2005-01-12 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Sure SP got a Genie for her performance in 2004 but I didn't buy it. I think my beef is mostly with the script but I just didn't think it worked.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCode 46 (2003) 6/10

    2005-01-10 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Again, westerns and futuristic movies really never interest me that much and this one is no exception. Reminds me of Gattaca for moving slowly and being a social commentary.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMaria Full of Grace (2004) 8/10

    2005-01-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Powerful and tragic story of the plights of young Columians girls and their desire for quick riches (seems like anyone!) by muling drugs to America. Amazing performances deserving of the Oscar nomination.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHulk (2003) 9/10

    2005-01-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I was blown away by how well this super hero movie was done. The characters were rich, the story was very fluid and the super stuff was done really well - one of the best super hero movies yet!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNapoleon Dynamite (2004) 8/10

    2005-01-07 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Very funny, quotable, popular, and clean story of the Idaho losers. Reminds me a lot of home (sorry everyone from SK)

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGarden State (2004) 9/10

    2005-01-06 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Oh boy, if I had the policy of changing my grades after I put them this would be a 10 - probably even on my top 10 movies all time. An amazing movie that speaks to me almost directly.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLuther (2003) 8/10

    2005-01-03 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I found the movie showed what a fine balance it is to start something new and the fear of being misrepresented - it's hard to herd humans!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewChinatown (1974) 8/10

    2005-01-01 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Not an amazing movie but really very good. Popular for showing the growing mistrust of citizens regarding their government's capability (or desire) to act in their best interests. Great performances and an interesting mystery.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShaun of the Dead (2004) 8/10

    2005-01-01 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Really a pretty good zombie movie (not that I'm a fan of the genre). Silly but not a farce; still plenty of substance - does what Scream did for horror movies

    0.3
  • December, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Manchurian Candidate (2004) 7/10

    2004-12-29 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Good sequel to what I hear is a good original. Heidi liked the thrill of this caper and was actual held awake into the wee hours wanting to find out what happened - really a rarity for our house.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewZatôichi (2003) 5/10

    2004-12-28 12:34
    * * * * *

    Ohh, this seems like a big mistake. The action is comical, almost making fun of itself and the dance numbers peppered throughout are just silly. I was looking for something quite different.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMou gaan dou (2002) 8/10

    2004-12-28 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Great modern Chinese cinema - wonderful concept and actually well executed. Cat and mouse taken to a whole new level.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCollateral (2004) 8/10

    2004-12-27 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I was very surprised by this one - much better than I expected. Very well acted, quite a fun script, unexpected (and some expected) turns with some trendy action make this pretty enjoyable

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou (2004) 8/10

    2004-12-26 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Great movie, WA movies are really about a feeling you get while watching them and the sort of relationships that are abundant in his films. This movie was full of that stuff, very creative, well acted, therefore, great!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewI, Robot (2004) 7/10

    2004-12-25 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Not a bad movie - I was expecting it to be about a 5 but it pulled it up. The story is very complex and certainly has a lot of flaws if you look into it but it's not too bad as a movie and as a warning (which movies like to do to us now... Matrix?)

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHeaven (2002/I) 7/10

    2004-12-25 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I was impartial to this movie after seeing it. It seemed to dodge the big points that it brought up. Either there was something here that I missed or I'm supposed to be more creative in my viewing; a lucky 7

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMeet the Fockers (2004) 8/10

    2004-12-24 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Funny sequel to the great original. This one seemed to target the main character less and make him look like a dork and moved it instead to the dad. The new parents were convincing and funny in their stark differences from the originals.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Bells of St. Mary's (1945) 7/10

    2004-12-21 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Not an extremely Christmas-y Christmas movie this isn't too bad. Very much a product of older ideals (the idea that community really wants to help out churchs is pretty lost in Montreal). It is good fun and it also brings up some interesting discussions on violence and the purpose of grading.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRaye makhfi (2001) 6/10

    2004-12-20 12:34
    * * * * * *

    A tough look at the challenges of actually changing a country into a voting country and the work of convincing the people to vote and educating them on how to. Very slow, detailed shots; I found it took too long (I took almost a year to finish this movie!) not bad though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMean Streets (1973) 6/10

    2004-12-20 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Really early work of MS and it seems to lack drive. The characterization and acting is superb but the direction and screenplay seem too real, to a fault - it gets kinda slow.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShi mian mai fu (2004) 7/10

    2004-12-19 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I liked this but not nearly as much as other Chinese cinema. Too many twists and turns that I was just off balance, but good acting and a wonderful love interest who actually had a keen sense of humor which I find rare in Chinese action cinema.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShark Tale (2004) 6/10

    2004-12-12 12:34
    * * * * * *

    YUL -> LAX - This was trying too hard to be entertaining that it forgot to tell a really good story. Too many charicatures and not enough characters.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewYing xiong (2002) 9/10

    2004-12-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    A MUCH better movie than I was expecting. Great stuntwork, fascinating story, challenging characters, and a non typical storyline make this a great pick! The Chinese sure do love more challenging movies than we do - I'm a big fan!

    0.3
  • November, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the review"The American Experience" RFK (2004) 7/10

    2004-11-29 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Really educational documentary about RFK and his political rise, the loss of his brother and how he needed to overcome that. It's amazing how close he was to becoming the next president when he was assassinated.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMaster and Commander: The Far Side of the World (2003) 8/10

    2004-11-29 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Much better than I thought this would be. I was expecting very little (a chase and shoot movie) which this basically was but it was very well acted and made. Too dramatic in points but all in all good.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewElf (2003) 6/10

    2004-11-26 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Too fruity and unbelievable. An actual elf trying to convince people (people similar to us who don't really believe in elves) that they do exist. Funny for parts but in the end unable to suspend my disbelief.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSweet and Lowdown (1999) 8/10

    2004-11-21 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    This was a very funny WA movie in what he claims is based on a true story but is actually a completely fabicated 'historical' character. A worthy best actor nomination for SP.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCheaper by the Dozen (2003) 5/10

    2004-11-17 12:34
    * * * * *

    Well, I wasted some time so that was good - nothing to complain about really but I wish HBO was carrying something else this boring evening

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Terminal (2004) 7/10

    2004-11-07 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    YYZ -> CAN - a fun lighthearted airplane movie with the ever-lovable TH as a European tourist with a heart of gold who's stuck in an airport for an extended period of time, the lives he touches and the ways he copes.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAVP: Alien vs. Predator (2004) 5/10

    2004-11-04 12:34
    * * * * *

    Too many fan bases to be loyal to to make a really great movie here. Too cliche and tired to really be good - humans are so useless compared to these uniquely imagined creations of our imagination.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSaved! (2004) 8/10

    2004-11-02 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I liked this for the fact that it rang very true. It is very critical of Christian behavior but I think that it's still pretty accurate.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004) 8/10

    2004-11-01 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    One of the greatest 'romantic comedies' ever (if you want to call it that). Quirky story of two unlikely people who get together and love each other only to end up despising each other after some time and deciding to erase each other out of their memories. I love the casting against type too!

    0.3
  • October, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Punisher (2004) 6/10

    2004-10-29 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I know, what was I really expecting in a story of not only vengence but punishment on top of that. The neighbors were comic relief that I didn't go for but in the end it was okay.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA Streetcar Named Desire (1951) 5/10

    2004-10-28 12:34
    * * * * *

    Another 3 acting Oscar winner (which is a very rare feat) and this one I didn't like at all. I didn't like the characters, didn't like the extremely stageplay feel of it and found myself rooting for the 'bad' guy.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNetwork (1976) 9/10

    2004-10-26 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Definitely top 10 for the year - this is the movie I'm recommending to everyone. Terrific screenplay with fascinating dialogue and great acting make this movie worthy of its 3 acting Oscars! Still very relevant even 30 years later.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review28 Days Later... (2002) 7/10

    2004-10-21 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I don't really like horror movie but this one was on HBO in my hotel so I tuned in and found myself enjoying it. I liked that it wasn't too stupid, the zombies were kinda bright and that there were other bad guys besides the zombies - interesting.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGood Bye Lenin! (2003) 7/10

    2004-10-14 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    An interesting movie about a boy whose socialist mother just had a heart attack and requires no surprises - this just after the Berlin wall falls; he tries to shield her from the new Berlin to keep her from having another attack. Fun movie but it does get a bit tiring by the end.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review21 Grams (2003) 8/10

    2004-10-05 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Heavy movie about coping with death, organ donation, Jesus and other big issues. Well acted, but a bit heavy for those who don't feel like dealing with that.

    0.3
  • September, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRabbit-Proof Fence (2002) 8/10

    2004-09-26 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Great movie with great acting by some new actors again. Fascinating story about the quest to rid Australia of its mixed race people (part Native and part white - equivalent to Canada's Metis) and the mixed people's desire just to be with their families.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLe déclin de l'empire américain (1986) 5/10

    2004-09-24 12:34
    * * * * *

    Not nearly as good as the sequel - this one is much more about sex whereas the sequel is much more about death - death is easier for us Anglo's to talk about ;) Well made movie though but can't recommend this one.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCidade de Deus (2002) 9/10

    2004-09-20 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Wow - Brazilian movie about the local gangs and the huge problem and challenge it is to stay out and to stay alive if you're in or out of them! Great acting by a bunch of first timers and a well told true story.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAnchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy (2004) 6/10

    2004-09-17 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I don't think much of a review is really required here - all the great jokes were in the preview, the movie jsut kinda draws that out. WF is always funny though so it wasn't too bad.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLes invasions barbares (2003) 9/10

    2004-09-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Wow - what a great movie. It's very Quebecois and those outside of Quebec may not understand it that much but it's an amazing movie. Well shot, well acted and well written - a worthy entry as Canada's first Oscar winner!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Fog of War: Eleven Lessons from the Life of... 7/10

    2004-09-10 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Not as good as I hoped it would be but still a pretty solid documentary. Based on the life of Robert McNamara (the Secretary of Defence during the Vietnam War) and his thoughts about that time

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShrek 2 (2004) 8/10

    2004-09-06 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Another great sequel to a great original. Tons of new laughs and not based entirely on respun jokes from the original. The new characters are hilarious and the ones that came back are still funny

    0.3
  • August, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThumb Wars: The Phantom Cuticle (1999) (TV) 7/10

    2004-08-23 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Funny Star Wars spoof and just over 30 mins so you won't get tired of it by the end.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOpen Range (2003) 4/10

    2004-08-22 12:34
    * * * *

    Again, I'm not a western fan but I try to watch them once in awhile to see if I'm missing anything; so far, I'm not.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShackleton (2002) (TV) 4/10

    2004-08-21 12:34
    * * * *

    Very poor made for TV movie. After seeing the discovery channel special this movie just sucked. Way too much time on the behind the scenes drama and not nearly enough of the actual voyage.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRiding Giants (2004) 9/10

    2004-08-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    A absolutely great documentary on the evolution of big wave surfing from the very talented SP of Dogtown fame. I really enjoyed this movie and would recommend it to anyone with even a mild appreciation of surfing - well made!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCapturing the Friedmans (2003) 7/10

    2004-08-14 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A fascinating inside look at a strange Jewish American family. Using lots of their own camcorded footage previous to and during their trial for child pornography possession; I found it doesn't help you determine their guilt or innocence

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSpider-Man 2 (2004) 8/10

    2004-08-10 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A worthy sequel to a good original. Great villian, good story that didn't drift off topic too much and nice set up for a sequel, I'm ready for more OsCorp madness

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Batman" (1992) 9/10

    2004-08-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Volume 1 - I absolutely love this animated series. The new batmans that they are coming out with are really kiddish but this series is just great - serious enough for adults and fun enough for kids

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDirty Pretty Things (2002) 5/10

    2004-08-07 12:34
    * * * * *

    From Amelie star AT I was expecting something a little softer but this was a pretty gritty show about illegal immigrants in the UK and how they get by and the things they need to do to stay in.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLove Actually (2003) 8/10

    2004-08-06 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I really quite liked this movie. I liked how it all kinda tied together but still didn't and I always enjoy British comedies, as always HG was amazing.

    0.3
  • July, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewVeronica Guerin (2003) 8/10

    2004-07-30 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Being that this movie was by Batman movie killer JS I wasn't expecting too much but it turned out to be an enjoyable movie as a rough and tumble paper reporter starts talking too much about the local gangs in Ireland

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Cooler (2003) 7/10

    2004-07-29 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    AB had a good performance and the casino scene was pretty cool but make way for the new mega casinos. I don't see the real super power of coolers though...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStuck on You (2003) 6/10

    2004-07-27 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Not too bad for a silly waste of time. A few laughs but the Farrely brothers really hit the same themes of outter appearances pretty frequently

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Bourne Supremacy (2004) 8/10

    2004-07-27 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    True story of survival during a mountain climb. The story is amazing - the direction is great (I loved that the real people told the story, not the actors playing them), well done

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Bourne Supremacy (2004) 8/10

    2004-07-25 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I enjoyed this action movie almost as much as the first. Real edge of the seat stuff to keep your nerves going for a long time and a lot of fun along the way.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRoger & Me (1989) 7/10

    2004-07-23 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    The rabbit person and other people made this movie very interesting but I thought it lacked the punch of his other movie - I think I was missing something but I wasn't really convinced

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFahrenheit 9/11 (2004) 10/10

    2004-07-20 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    Possibly the best movie I've ever seen! My first 10 on this list. I was amazed to hear a perspective that I've never heard before - why haven't I? A movie to certainly make you ask questions...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Quiet American (2002) 8/10

    2004-07-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Interesting story of the Americans involvement in the Vietnam war... before the war. Fascinating how they try to pull strings and influence nations by boosting local warlords.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAlong Came Polly (2004) 5/10

    2004-07-12 12:34
    * * * * *

    YUL -> San Jose (SJC) - it's movies like this that make me rethink why i found Ben Stiller in Meet the Parents funny, I did, right? I know he's talented but he's just missing on all these awful movies - screewriter problems?

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMoulin Rouge! (2001) 8/10

    2004-07-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    This musical was a lot of fun too! After Chicago we thought we'd try another one and we both liked this one too - It's a little bit odd which really suits me and was also colorful and vibrant

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Verdict (1982) 8/10

    2004-07-09 08:18
    * * * * * * * *

    Very well acted, nice story of the alcoholic ambulance chaser getting a conscience and working a big case against the machine law firm. Nice flow to it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLaws of Attraction (2004) 3/10

    2004-07-02 08:17
    * * *

    YUL -> Victoria (YYJ) - The only thing going for this movie is that it was free - other than that it was very poor. Some good actors are shoved into really 2D roles and crappy storyline

    0.3
  • June, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDuplex (2003) 2/10

    2004-06-25 09:12
    * *

    Burbank (BUR) -> YUL - this movie rubbed me so wrong I don't even know where to begin but it's just awful

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMatchstick Men (2003) 7/10

    2004-06-21 09:12
    * * * * * * *

    I really don't care for Nic Cage but the ending of this movie really surprised me so for that it pulled up from a 5 to a 7 - very unique story and ending.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSpartan (2004) 6/10

    2004-06-20 09:12
    * * * * * *

    Not as bad as some, but there are a lot of plot holes and bad lines but it did the trick

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>