If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • June, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCasablanca (1942) 8/10

    2004-06-19 09:12
    * * * * * * * *

    A LOT of quotes in this movie are part of regular verbage so this movie had quite the effect. Other than that I have to read why it's one of the best movies of all time.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAmadeus (1984) 8/10

    2004-06-17 09:12
    * * * * * * * *

    An old classic about the piano player Mozart. What a great portrayal of two very complex characters and extremely well acted. Well acted and directed - worthy of all the Oscars

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewChicago (2002) 8/10

    2004-06-14 09:11
    * * * * * * * *

    The singing was actually pretty fun when it helped to tell the story - well directed, and sung. Heidi's still singing All that Jazz!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStarsky & Hutch (2004) 5/10

    2004-06-11 09:11
    * * * * *

    San Diego (SAN) -> YUL - the trailer actually had all of the good jokes that were in the movie - nothing more to see here.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMiracle (2004) 3/10

    2004-06-06 09:11
    * * *

    YUL -> San Diego (SAN) - This one was too bad to even warrant wearing headphones for the whole time - a little too patriotic (sorry Americans)

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Day After Tomorrow (2004) 4/10

    2004-06-01 09:11
    * * * *

    Special effects were great but augh what a waste of time otherwise - Heidi took me to this one to see the weather and she enjoyed it for that but the wolves were really a bit over the top, dontcha think?

    0.3
  • May, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWhale Rider (2002) 8/10

    2004-05-24 09:10
    * * * * * * * *

    Similar themes as Bend it and I found this one a little bit more enjoyable for the more complex characters that it had.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBend It Like Beckham (2002) 7/10

    2004-05-23 09:10
    * * * * * * *

    Good but not great. It was a little bit teenager-y to really apply to me but still well acted and the cultural differences were really well portrayed. Didn't find the male lead appealing at all and couldn't imagine how anyone would.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSnatch. (2000) 7/10

    2004-05-23 09:10
    * * * * * * *

    If I'd have watched this about 8 years ago it would have been my favorite movie of the year. Lots of gangster attitude, fun characters, quoteable lines (some not so-quoteable), and unnessesary deaths.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA Man Apart (2003) 5/10

    2004-05-22 09:10
    * * * * *

    Yet another movie I wouldn't be worse off if I hadn't seen. Not much to really say except that Vin Diesel isn't in for the long haul

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSen to Chihiro no kamikakushi (2001) 8/10

    2004-05-17 09:10
    * * * * * * * *

    I admit, I didn't get this movie as much as I would have liked to but i did find the uniqueneness of it surprising and confusing. I think the confusing it what scored it low, probably just weird for my culture but not Japanese

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIn America (2002) 7/10

    2004-05-16 09:09
    * * * * * * *

    Joyful and sad movie of Irish immigrants and their struggle to make it in present day America. I liked the lack of horror when there were good moments to have it and the cute kids were enjoyable

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTroy (2004) 7/10

    2004-05-14 09:09
    * * * * * * *

    Not an amazing movie but I thought that the special effects were used well and all in all, i enjoyed the telling of the story. Could've got better actors but the Trojan horse was pretty cool

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBridget Jones's Diary (2001) 7/10

    2004-05-09 09:09
    * * * * * * *

    British comedy - very honest and fun but not really too winning. I did enjoy it though and would recommend it

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWaiting for Guffman (1996) 7/10

    2004-05-08 09:09
    * * * * * * *

    Another great CG movie - I don't think it's as good as his other two but it holds its own. Very specific kind of comedy

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBad Boys II (2003) 5/10

    2004-05-06 09:09
    * * * * *

    This is the kind of crap that I really want to cut out of my movie diet. Really useless movies. Fun to watch when you're watching it but what a waste of time!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAffluenza (1997) (TV) 8/10

    2004-05-01 09:08
    * * * * * * * *

    Really speaks to a certain kind of person that wants to consume less or is open to the idea, I am and therefore liked it, am I consuming less - I'll let my foosball table answer that one.

    0.3
  • April, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Ladykillers (2004) 7/10

    2004-04-30 09:08
    * * * * * * *

    Enjoyable Coen fare made even better by the very fine acting of Tom Hanks and the wonderful Coen characters.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAbout a Boy (2002) 9/10

    2004-04-25 09:08
    * * * * * * * * *

    I really liked this comedy - one of my favorite films of the year already. Very different, very British and it really made me laugh.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStep Into Liquid (2003) 8/10

    2004-04-24 09:08
    * * * * * * * *

    The third in the BB Trilogy of surf documentary films. Heidi loved the other two and I think that she quite like this one too

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSolaris (2002) 8/10

    2004-04-23 09:07
    * * * * * * * *

    I actually liked this movie a lot more than the other remake of the original but then again I'm not really one for horrors...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKill Bill: Vol. 2 (2004) 6/10

    2004-04-16 09:07
    * * * * * *

    Movie was pretty good but I'm intentionally grading it low because I'm frustrated that they broke this into two movies, that it did well and that they're going to keep doing this to me - should have been 1 movie with a bunch of the second part cut out. 1st part was a lot better.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Last Temptation of Christ (1988) 8/10

    2004-04-11 09:07
    * * * * * * * *

    Oh boy - a wildly scandalous movie about the humanity of Christ; don't watch it if you don't know what to expect and DO NOT stop before the end of the movie. It made me think about some things differently so I appreciated it for that...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMan on the Moon (1999) 8/10

    2004-04-09 09:07
    * * * * * * * *

    A repeat viewing of this one - JC is incredible in the movie about the life of AK - the legendary aloof and wacky comedian. Tony Clifton is hilarious and I found myself laughing a lot.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewConfessions of a Dangerous Mind (2002) 9/10

    2004-04-08 09:07
    * * * * * * * * *

    So far, one of the best of the year. I started out loving it, in the middle I didn't really care for it and by the end I loved it. I think that I like everything that CK does - this movie is a fast-paced look at a crazy man's life

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOld School (2003) 6/10

    2004-04-07 09:06
    * * * * * *

    Again, very silly and not many big laughs but not too bad if you like this kind of humor (yes you Jordan)

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review61* (2001) (TV) 7/10

    2004-04-06 09:06
    * * * * * * *

    Nice history lesson in how the home run record of Babe Ruth was broken by a small time home body Roger Maris and the competition that he had with Mickey Mantle - well made and educational.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSpellbound (2002/I) 7/10

    2004-04-06 09:06
    * * * * * * *

    Watched this ages ago but I remember the energetic kid, the driven kids and overall enjoyed this.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKill Bill: Vol. 1 (2003) 8/10

    2004-04-05 09:06
    * * * * * * * *

    This was pretty much what I was expecting (and I guess that was a lot) - the action was slick, the dialogue snappy and the gore well, kinda fun. I'll be hitting Vol 2 when it comes to theatres in a few days here...

    0.3
  • March, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLilo & Stitch (2002) 7/10

    2004-03-22 09:06
    * * * * * * *

    Pretty funny and light-hearted Disney cartoon that doesn't feel like Disney at all. Seems like IG with a touch of Titan A.E. and Shrek - pretty fun and lots of original ideas make this a good pic.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDevil's Playground (2002) 8/10

    2004-03-21 09:05
    * * * * * * * *

    I doubt you'll be able to find this documentary about the Amish and how they guide their teenagers to choose which life they want (in the community or out) but if you can find it you won't want to miss it!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBillabong Odyssey (2003) 2/10

    2004-03-19 09:05
    * *

    Documentary gone WAY WRONG - not that anyone will watch this thing but if you're thinking about it please don't - not nearly enough footage so they're showing you a bunch of stuff that should be on the b-sides

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThere's Something About Mary (1998) 6/10

    2004-03-15 09:05
    * * * * * *

    I finally got around to watching this and it was pretty good but not great. First off, I don't really love these kinds of movies so a strike against it there - not too bad though...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Salton Sea (2002) 5/10

    2004-03-15 09:05
    * * * * *

    A story of the revenge a husband wants when his wife is randomly killed by a drug ring hit. Interesting over-the-top bad guy VD'O is fun to watch but otherwise it missed for me

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review25th Hour (2002) 6/10

    2004-03-14 09:04
    * * * * * *

    Too slow without developing much - a little too talky and not enough to talk about. Interesting premise but not enough to carry a whole feature film

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDeconstructing Harry (1997) 4/10

    2004-03-07 09:04
    * * * *

    Yeah, I don't really care for WA movies - he doesn't try to speak to my generation and I don't understand his - kind of missing the whole deal-i-o here

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMystic River (2003) 8/10

    2004-03-02 09:04
    * * * * * * * *

    Kind of a glamorous episode of CSI but the characters were incredible, the acting great and the story really sticks with you after the movie ends. Very saddening and powerful too.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSwingers (1996) 7/10

    2004-03-01 09:04
    * * * * * * *

    If I would have watched this in college it would have been awesome but even now it is a pretty good movie - really dated already but still does a good job of looking at some insecure college kids and how they chase women.

    0.3
  • February, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIntolerable Cruelty (2003) 8/10

    2004-02-27 09:03
    * * * * * * * *

    I love the Coen brothers and their wacked sense of humor - this one is off-key and hilarious with GC desperately attracted to a gold digger girl...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBowling for Columbine (2002) 8/10

    2004-02-22 09:03
    * * * * * * * *

    Good documentary about fear and violence in the States - interesting when Marilyn Manson has the most profound thing to say in a movie...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBruce Almighty (2003) 8/10

    2004-02-15 09:03
    * * * * * * * *

    I think that my expectations were really low because I really liked this film - I thought it really showed what people would likely do if they were God and hopefully where they would end up

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAmerican Splendor (2003) 8/10

    2004-02-14 09:03
    * * * * * * * *

    Another documentary which borders on movie (or is this the other way around?) Fantastic acting (mimicing?), great charcter (life), and a breath of fresh air to not have a movie where you know what's going to happen next or how it's going to end - very fresh indeed!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOnce Upon a Time in Mexico (2003) 4/10

    2004-02-08 09:03
    * * * *

    Enrique?

    0.3
  • January, 2004

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Big Bounce (2004) 5/10

    2004-01-29 09:02
    * * * * *

    FREE SCREENER! - This movie would have been a 1 had it not had OW and been set in Hawaii. Just 90 minutes (which in this case was good), no real plot (that mattered), all just a set up for an ending that didn't really mean much. Oh well, it was free!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewS.W.A.T. (2003) 4/10

    2004-01-27 09:02
    * * * *

    Ouch - why do I watch this sugar-coated junk!? Awful story, totally predictable characters/ending and nothing to talk about re performances. Watch if you want to turn your mind off...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTimecode (2000) 6/10

    2004-01-22 09:02
    * * * * * *

    Totally a gimmick movie and I thought that it was well executed but not great enough to really recommend. The movie was done in one take with four cameras (screen constantly split into 4 corners - one corner per camera). Cool idea...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Magnificent Seven (1960) 7/10

    2004-01-20 09:02
    * * * * * * *

    7 for the Seven. A good movie on its own but really pathetic when measured against the Seven Samurai. I don't usually go for Westerns so it had that against it - there was an all star cast which was cool; so yeah, it was pretty good...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBig Fish (2003) 7/10

    2004-01-13 09:01
    * * * * * * *

    Not a bad movie but even after a month I probably need more time to process it. The story was well told (and really, what else matters!) and the facts hard to discern but I think that I like it but would be cautious about recommending this wholeheartedly.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIris (2001/I) 7/10

    2004-01-12 09:01
    * * * * * * *

    A great movie about losing your mind. Good performances (very Oscar worthy) and amazing character development by two actors in each person's case. An enjoyable movie - but don't watch if you're terrified of losing your mind when you age...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (2003) 3/10

    2004-01-06 08:40
    * * *

    Oh boy - what a mess! I primarily watched this for PW who really didn't have much screen time and the story was all over the board - no time for charcter development because there's about 12 main characters and not enough time - stay away.

    0.3
  • December, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black... 5/10

    2003-12-24 08:40
    * * * * *

    Unlike most people I didn't go for this movie at all. I fell asleep about 3 times and the plot just got lost on me. I admit that JD was great as the pirate but other than that the movie was just weak...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003) 9/10

    2003-12-20 08:39
    * * * * * * * * *

    A fantastic conclusion to possibly the best trilogy out there. The CG effects actually enhance the experience (take note Star Wars) and the story is really compelling. Watch this whole set!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewChristmas Vacation (1989) 7/10

    2003-12-15 08:39
    * * * * * * *

    This one's getting to be a bit of a M&H Christmas classic (up there with Festivus!). If you haven't seen it you may find it amusing - check it out next year!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBest in Show (2000) 8/10

    2003-12-13 08:39
    * * * * * * * *

    Another CG movie - this one still great but we didn't like it as much as AMW - normally viewers like the first movie they see of this kind the best and the rest are never quite as good. This one, about a dog show competition has some more great characters.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEnigma (2001) 4/10

    2003-12-11 08:39
    * * * *

    Well, here's where the streak breaks down - this movie was pretty stupid - too many plot lines going on and not making sense with each other and not great filmwork made this pretty tiresome to watch...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Last Samurai (2003) 8/10

    2003-12-09 08:39
    * * * * * * * *

    Evidently I'm on a roll because I'm watching a bunch of movies that I like. Normally I don't really go for TC but in this case I thought that he was actually pretty good. I loved the fighting and the Japanese culture - the ending was a bit cheesy but otherwise pretty solid.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA Mighty Wind (2003) 9/10

    2003-12-06 08:38
    * * * * * * * * *

    The first CG movie (documentary style films) that we saw and the characters and the silly things they say and do really grew on us. Our favorite charcters are FW and JC - they're so creative! Wha' happened?!

    0.3
  • November, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOwning Mahowny (2003) 8/10

    2003-11-30 08:38
    * * * * * * * *

    Amazing performance by PSH and an interesting story of a bankers downward spiral into gambling debt (set in Canada!!) make this fairly depressing but a great character study.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAbout a Boy (2002) 8/10

    2003-11-29 08:38
    * * * * * * * *

    One of the best comedies I've seen in a long time. Very offbeat with lots of genuine laughs and an odd way of building characters. FYI - I like most things that Hugh Grant does so that may skew my judgment

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Kid Stays in the Picture (2002) 8/10

    2003-11-28 08:37
    * * * * * * * *

    I find that they're really putting a lot of effort into documetaries these days to keep people interested and this one was no exception. Great story, fascinating personality, and well told

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRequiem for a Dream (2000) 8/10

    2003-11-25 08:37
    * * * * * * * *

    Another hit for me. I liked this one but be warned before you rent it - it's not for everyone. The story of four people and their downward spiral as they give in to their addictions. Most interesting was Burstyn's elderly character - worth the rental for her.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDark Blue (2002) 7/10

    2003-11-24 08:37
    * * * * * * *

    Again, another good cop flick. I enjoyed the history of the story and the Rodney King thing in LA. The story also stood on its own too. Good acting, good story, and strong characters.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFour Rooms (1995) 2/10

    2003-11-21 08:37
    * *

    I couldn't make it through this whole thing. Tim Roth was just annoying as the finnicky bellhop and the four different stories were really odd and didn't work in any way for me. Stay away.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIgby Goes Down (2002) 8/10

    2003-11-20 08:36
    * * * * * * * *

    I liked this movie because it was strange (like most movies I enjoy). I don't know who I could recommend this to or how to really sum up the story but I did like it. Great acting, fascinating characters and interesting story of a highly disfunctinoal family in NY.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLegally Blonde 2: Red, White & Blonde (2003) 3/10

    2003-11-15 08:36
    * * *

    I think that I remember enjoying the first one to an extent but this one is just plain silly. More far-fetched and silly than the first and Elle just gets to be a bit much.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTakedown (2000) 5/10

    2003-11-13 08:36
    * * * * *

    Based on a true story of a computer hacker that does all kinds of stuff and the FBI agent who tracks him down. Kind of interesting but you really know what's going to happen so that ruined it for me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCharlie's Angels: Full Throttle (2003) 4/10

    2003-11-10 08:35
    * * * *

    Sometimes people learn lessons from the originals sometimes they don't... I don't. Stay away from these stinkers, they're like cartoons with slow-mo effects. They did have one memorable line that made it to quote of the day though...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Matrix Revolutions (2003) 5/10

    2003-11-05 08:35
    * * * * *

    Not bad for a sci-fi movie but pretty sucky for a Matrix one. The special effects were moderate and didn't leave me with too much that I was thrilled about. The story was rambling and flimsy and I just didn't like it :(

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRashômon (1950) 7/10

    2003-11-04 08:35
    * * * * * * *

    A super classic film but not as good as some of Akira's others. The storytelling is really unique and has been copied so many times since it first came out that it seems stale now. Fascinating to think about and try to see who's telling the truth.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCube 2: Hypercube (2002) (V) 6/10

    2003-11-01 08:35
    * * * * * *

    Not as good as the first but not bad either. Not as unique as the first, too similar to the first and all in all doesn't create as much interest - great for Canadian film though!

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>