If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • October, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPunch-Drunk Love (2002) 9/10

    2003-10-29 08:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    This is another real winner. I gotta say that I don't really like PTA but this one is an exception. Expertly crafted story about a loner boy in a family of overwheming sisters and the troubles he faces and how he deals with them. AS is amazing!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNarc (2002) 8/10

    2003-10-27 08:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I actually liked this one quite a bit. A cop uncovers some secrets and the answers get you closer to and further from the truth (Sounds like a real review line ;) anyways, great characters, believable story (most of it) and pretty tight script.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewConfidence (2003) 6/10

    2003-10-26 08:34
    * * * * * *

    Passable, good story, interesting characters, all in all not bad. But not great either.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewVanilla Sky (2001) 9/10

    2003-10-22 08:33
    * * * * * * * * *

    Definately in the top 10 of this year. Some people love this, some hate it. I love the weirdness of it, the riddles that the movie takes you on and the facinating Crowe dialogue. A real winner...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAnger Management (2003) 4/10

    2003-10-20 08:33
    * * * *

    This was downright stupid. They should have just left the ending completely unexplained because the explanation makes no sense - the plot was <insert profound word here> and I just couldn't take it - good idea, poor execution

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe School of Rock (2003) 6/10

    2003-10-19 08:33
    * * * * * *

    This did generate some laughs but what's with comedies and characters that grate on nerves? Jack Black was a little bit too much of a funny character.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBallistic: Ecks vs. Sever (2002) 2/10

    2003-10-16 08:32
    * *

    Ugh. Instantly forgettable, I'm a crappy creator of anything interesting but I'm quite sure I could have done better than this. I fell asleep twice during this bore-a-rama.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPhone Booth (2002) 5/10

    2003-10-14 08:32
    * * * * *

    Huh?! I was watching this movie and I was impressed that I was fairly entertained during it despite it's limited location but at the end I couldn't get the thought out of my head, so... what was the point? The moral police has snipers now?

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJackass: The Movie (2002) 7/10

    2003-10-13 08:32
    * * * * * * *

    I confess that I actually found myself laughing during a good portion of this self-abuse session. Some things in here are just stupid and some are downright hilarious - i think that my favorite is department store boxing with Butterbean.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFemme Fatale (2002) 3/10

    2003-10-12 08:32
    * * *

    Wow - I didn't know that this was like a film-noir when I watched it and those movies never sit too well with me. Anyways, the plot is bizarre, ridiculous and yes, even stupid. Stay away from this stinker.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDaredevil (2003) 6/10

    2003-10-10 08:31
    * * * * * *

    I found myself entertained while watching this but I don't really like Daredevil as a superhero or Ben Affleck as an 'actor'. Nevertheless, it wasn't too bad of a movie and definately had some surprises that I wasn't expecting

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBlade II (2002) 4/10

    2003-10-09 08:31
    * * * *

    Yeah, I don't really know what I was doing here - I really don't like vampire movies and I didn't even really like the first Blade but yet I come back for more of the same. If you like the first you'll like the 2nd, if not, stay away.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAustin Powers in Goldmember (2002) 6/10

    2003-10-08 08:31
    * * * * * *

    Again, very crude and lots of jokes are redone in slightly different ways. I liked Dr. Evil in the first movie and after that he just went downhill. The first 10 minutes of the movie are ridiculously funny though...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewZoolander (2001) 5/10

    2003-10-07 08:31
    * * * * *

    A cameo laced silly farce. Not really going for much, the main character grates on nerves after about 20 minutes - not much to talk about here - very forgettable.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Sum of All Fears (2002) 4/10

    2003-10-05 08:30
    * * * *

    Why does the hero always have to be right? I didn't really like that about this movie - I think it would have been more interesting if he was wrong - steer clear of this and go for Thirteen Days instead - a real story!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSuper Troopers (2001) 5/10

    2003-10-04 14:14
    * * * * *

    A movie full of crude humor with some intelligence, I did find myself chuckling at a few points but basically for the American Pie crowd out there.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPollock (2000) 6/10

    2003-10-02 14:14
    * * * * * *

    I don't know exactly what I think of this movie. I know the performances were amazing, the story was good but I just didn't quite care for the overall film - no real good reason for not liking it either. Good movie for those who like character studies.

    0.3
  • September, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLost in Translation (2003) 8/10

    2003-09-30 14:13
    * * * * * * * *

    This is one of the most interesting movies of this year. Great performances and storytelling make this plot-less movie very entertaining. A great show!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLocal Boys (2002) 3/10

    2003-09-29 14:13
    * * *

    Yikers, I know most surfing movies suck but this one really sucked! Heidi didn't even like it because it didn't really have much good surfing and the story was like something off of 7th Heaven - no thanks!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMax (2002/I) 4/10

    2003-09-14 14:13
    * * * *

    I confess, I didn't like this movie because it was too smart for me. I didn't get any of the art stuff, I can't even comprehend it - The Htiler character was interesting to see develop but I think that I've seen to many WW2 movies.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTears of the Sun (2003) 7/10

    2003-09-09 14:13
    * * * * * * *

    This movie really progressed and turned into something that I wasn't really expecting it to be - a minor plot twist but it made me happy enough to give it a 7.

    0.3
  • August, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life (2003) 6/10

    2003-08-26 14:12
    * * * * * *

    Forgettable but entertaining - no worse than the first one but really no better either.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRaging Bull (1980) 8/10

    2003-08-24 14:12
    * * * * * * * *

    A classic and one of the greatest acting performances ever. Tons of language make this too much for some but otherwise watch it to view the rise and fall of one of the most interesting characters ever put on the big screen.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStartup.com (2001) 8/10

    2003-08-24 14:12
    * * * * * * * *

    This documentary was a lot better than I thought it would be. The rise and fall of a .com business but the interesting part is seeing how these people relate and handle their varying degress of success.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewUndisputed (2002) 5/10

    2003-08-18 14:12
    * * * * *

    Well, I think that you know what you are going to be getting with this one. The fictitious story of Mike Tyson's time in jail is ultra-cliche and not too thought provoking but it does pass time when you're in the mood for it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWindtalkers (2002) 2/10

    2003-08-11 14:12
    * *

    After 10 minutes I just couldn't take this movie anymore. I'm not a big fan of John Woo and his war action sequences seemed just silly - I can't really take too much of Nic Cage either - I was really setting myself up for disaster.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Big Kahuna (1999) 8/10

    2003-08-10 14:11
    * * * * * * * *

    Second watching but a great movie - feels like a stage play because there's not many charcters (3) or set pieces (about 2) but it is an interesting story, with witty dialogue and a meaty Christian character.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Recruit (2003) 6/10

    2003-08-07 14:15
    * * * * * *

    Kind of an interesting story but it just dwindled by the end of it. The start was interesting but the end was a cheap way out of a story that could have been more interesting.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGangs of New York (2002) 9/10

    2003-08-05 14:11
    * * * * * * * * *

    So far, the best movie I've seen all year. Daniel Day Lewis was astounding as Bill the Butcher and this film really brought me back to the time. Great performances, great sets, and interesting true(ish) story.

    0.3
  • July, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Adventures of Bob & Doug McKenzie: Strange... 7/10

    2003-07-30 14:11
    * * * * * * *

    Classic Canadian beer guzzling and silliness, eh? These hosers made the most recognizable Canadian piece of comedy and it's still pretty funny today - tell me what work of Shakespeare it's based on?

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPacte des loups, Le (2001) 5/10

    2003-07-24 14:11
    * * * * *

    An overly stylized French movie about a beast that is killing people in old France - I didn't really understand what the beast really was - was this fantasy or reality based? Pretty decent for French cinema though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBlood Simple. (1984) 6/10

    2003-07-21 14:10
    * * * * * *

    If you like the Coens movies (which I do) then you'll like this movie (which I marginally did) but it is very grim, bloody and does of course revolve around murder and the problems surrounding that.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPane e tulipani (2000) 7/10

    2003-07-20 14:10
    * * * * * * *

    An enjoyable escape to Italian culture - endearing characters, interesting story, consequence free existence (is that good?) but overall it's time enjoyably spent.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTerminator 3: Rise of the Machines (2003) 7/10

    2003-07-02 09:31
    * * * * * * *

    I enjoyed this a LOT more than I thought I would but it's no where up to par with the first two. It had a high action pace and MUCH less story - the sequences were amazing but the characters were undeveloped - too much silliness...

    0.3
  • June, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDie Another Day (2002) 5/10

    2003-06-15 09:29
    * * * * *

    What can you say? I think you know what you're getting when you go to a James Bond movie but I didn't think this one was as good as others, highly charged, typical JB fare.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCharlotte Gray (2001) 7/10

    2003-06-14 09:29
    * * * * * * *

    I enjoyed this movie because of the great performances by a bunch of underrated actors. The story was fairly interesting and educational regarding spies in WW2 and the characters were very fleshed out.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDogtown and Z-Boys (2001) 8/10

    2003-06-12 09:29
    * * * * * * * *

    Heidi loved this documentary - it's the introduction from some young punks in CA the skateboarding that we all know and love today. Well documented with many interesting personalities.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Pianist (2002) 8/10

    2003-06-06 09:28
    * * * * * * * *

    Another very powerful true WW2 movie from the perspective of a Jew who avoids going to the camps and hides and tries to survive in Germany through it. Great performance, very saddening.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFinding Nemo (2003) 7/10

    2003-06-04 09:28
    * * * * * * *

    An entertaining movie if you like the Pixar stuff but the formula is getting a bit tiresome (small guy overcoming massive obstacles). Still, good for a laugh.

    0.3
  • May, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEquilibrium (2002) 7/10

    2003-05-23 09:28
    * * * * * * *

    Worth seeking out and watching for the crazy action. I like the concept of having guns being used like swords by samurai - some surprises, reasonable plot, great actors, I still don't know why this didn't make it to theatres. Try out the trailer.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBlue Velvet (1986) 5/10

    2003-05-18 09:28
    * * * * *

    I like the weirdness of David Lynch when there's a payoff - this whole movie I'm thinking, 'where's the twist?' but there really is none - it's just a straight up (but really weird) story. Disturbing without the reward.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Matrix Reloaded (2003) 8/10

    2003-05-15 09:27
    * * * * * * * *

    Some extremely boring and un-needed scenes (drop Zion all together - what a let down) but the action and the confusion in it all was worth the wait. Not as good as the first but an adequate sequel.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewX2 (2003) 7/10

    2003-05-06 09:27
    * * * * * * *

    Another entertaining ride. As good as the first one but with more - still true to the comic and able to entertain dolts like me so all in all very fun!

    0.3
  • April, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Pink Panther (1963) 3/10

    2003-04-26 09:27
    * * *

    I take that last review back - THIS one was the most disappointing - it was dreadful! After Strangelove we though Sellers would be a lock here but it is confusing and essentially very boring movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Color of Money (1986) 5/10

    2003-04-24 09:27
    * * * * *

    Of the classics that I have been reviewing this one is the most disappointing. I wasn't drawn into the lifestyle that they led and just couldn't get into it. Good performances but it missed me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSerpico (1973) 8/10

    2003-04-18 09:26
    * * * * * * * *

    The more I think about this movie the more I actually like it. I was expecting Serpico to be a bad cop but he was actually the only good cop in amongst bad cops - a facinating story about swimming against the flow.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Samurai Jack" (2001) 6/10

    2003-04-18 09:26
    * * * * * *

    Some adrenaline and cool swordplay with interesting animation but it really only holds for about 30 minutes no the full length. Cool but not that cool.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThree Seasons (1999) 8/10

    2003-04-11 09:26
    * * * * * * * *

    A sensational actual love story on all levels. All of the stories are about unconditional love and what that actually means. A phenomenal film (not too much Harvey Kietel which is good) - don't miss this!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWe Were Soldiers (2002) 8/10

    2003-04-09 09:25
    * * * * * * * *

    Honestly, I really enjoyed this movie. It's in the vein of Black Hawk Down for intense battle scenes during a few days. This one is more emotionalized but still quite good and worth a rent.

    0.3
  • March, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBottle Rocket (1996) 7/10

    2003-03-31 09:25
    * * * * * * *

    The first entry from Wes Anderson with the brothers Wilson has a huge amount of similar themes and feelings from the later movies - The topic is a bit edgy to make it really funny though - a good time.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOrange County (2002) 6/10

    2003-03-29 09:25
    * * * * * *

    Made by MTV - if you know that you know what you're getting. A silly story with silly characters (a LOT of cameos) and a predictable story. Again not bad but not really that good either.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying... 9/10

    2003-03-29 08:59
    * * * * * * * * *

    Another great classic from Benoit! This movie was so funny that you don't really know what's hitting you the first time you see it so we had to watch a bunch of it again - great black satire!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewProof of Life (2000) 7/10

    2003-03-24 08:59
    * * * * * * *

    A lot better than I thought it would be (I wasn't expecting much). Good acting, very interesting story and believable characters made this an enjoyable learning experience.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShanghai Knights (2003) 7/10

    2003-03-21 08:59
    * * * * * * *

    It's been awhile since the first one so we forgot most of the first jokes (they were recycled though). A fun ride through England and Owen Wilson just keeps us coming back - what a joker!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAlmost Famous (2000) 8/10

    2003-03-17 08:58
    * * * * * * * *

    The story of a young aspiring writer who gets a contract to write a story on a semi-famous band for Rolling Stone's magazine. The characters are believable and they bring you into their world. Easy 8

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPearl Harbor (2001) 3/10

    2003-03-16 08:58
    * * *

    We finally broke down and decided to watch this. So many bad things to say about it too few lines - the attack sequence is really amazing but otherwise it's awful.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHart's War (2002) 6/10

    2003-03-14 08:59
    * * * * * *

    Heidi said it best, "it started off pretty interesting but then it just turned into a story". Not a bad movie but not great either.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewYojimbo (1961) 7/10

    2003-03-10 08:57
    * * * * * * *

    An original Eastern Western - the source material for a few modern Western remakes. Not really my favorite genre but it was well made and acted

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKakushi-toride no san-akunin (1958) 8/10

    2003-03-08 08:57
    * * * * * * * *

    A really funny movie about two bumbling greedy idiots who are trying to get back home with the princess and the gold they have - the source material for C3PO and R2D2 - it's very funny.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRoad to Perdition (2002) 7/10

    2003-03-04 08:57
    * * * * * * *

    Tom Hanks playing against type as a mob enforcer; great acting, tight little story but too grisly for some (hey, it's a mob movie!) I enjoyed this one.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShichinin no samurai (1954) 9/10

    2003-03-02 08:57
    * * * * * * * * *

    An amazing cinematic masterpiece about the lives of Japanese rice farmers and their battle against bandits. The Samurai are so funny, not stoic like they're usually portrayed - very enjoyable!

    0.3
  • February, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGirlfight (2000) 7/10

    2003-02-23 08:56
    * * * * * * *

    Great acting by Rodriguez, interesting family, good boxing, decent story of a girl who wants to fight with the boys because that's the only place to get competition.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewI Am Sam (2001) 7/10

    2003-02-18 08:56
    * * * * * * *

    A touching look at a mentally challenged man who battles to be able to keep his daughter. Good perfomances all around and good story - I actually watched all of the extras!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Legend of Bagger Vance (2000) 5/10

    2003-02-16 08:56
    * * * * *

    Overly sappy and contrived - watchable but not very satisfying. Damon is an ex-golfer who comes back as the local hero to play against the two best - Smith is his guru-caddy.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Last Castle (2001) 6/10

    2003-02-14 08:56
    * * * * * *

    Not a huge action movie - more of an acting movie than I expected (which was good). Redford lands in a military prison and is a hero to all his fellow inmates. Much flag waving ensues but all in all pretty entertaining.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Gambler (1974) 7/10

    2003-02-11 08:55
    * * * * * * *

    A classic gambling tale about a respected man who is literally addicted to gambling and risk and can't see beyond that to the consequences. Great acting and great story...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Justice League" (2001) 2/10

    2003-02-10 08:55
    * *

    Way too many superheroes make this a giant mess. No one hero is given enough time to show anything past their superpower skill set - stick with them by themselves.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Count of Monte Cristo (2002) 7/10

    2003-02-08 08:55
    * * * * * * *

    Great acting (Pearce), interesting but un-challenging story of the underdog who plots and gets his revenge. Recommended for watching with other people or as a popcorn movie. Good for what it's trying to do...

    0.3
  • January, 2003

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTwo Weeks Notice (2002) 8/10

    2003-01-28 08:55
    * * * * * * * *

    More Hugh Grant romantic comedy fun - very clean and basically as good as Notting Hill. Very funny - lots of laughs - and yes, I know that the story was far fetched.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Rookie (2002/I) 7/10

    2003-01-24 08:54
    * * * * * * *

    H - A real nice clean family flick, but a little too Disney predictable.

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>