If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • January, 2012

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWarrior (2011) 8/10

    2012-01-14 14:01
    * * * * * * * *

    MSP > YVR - Solid acting in this action-drama, decent story, pretty good fight scenes and sympathetic characters. All in all, nicely done.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBreaking the Press (2010) 4/10

    2012-01-06 21:41
    * * * *

    Ugh, this Christian movie was not worth watching. While it followed the plot of the Prodigal Son story closely, it seemed to lack all the great details that we had been learning about in the Prodigal God book study that we were going through. The acting was poor, most of the characters were poorly developed and the dialog was very local (to Texas) and didn't sound very natural to my Canadian ears.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLife's Too Short (TV Series 2011) 7/10

    2012-01-02 19:46
    * * * * * * *

    Seems like a re-hash of Extras with a main character that although funny to laugh at doesn't seem sympathetic. I liked the series but not as much as I liked Gervais' other stuff, maybe he just has a specific style that is getting tiresome.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRise of the Planet of the Apes (2011) 9/10

    2012-01-01 22:25
    * * * * * * * * *

    This was a really good prequel!! The acting was great, the animation was quite good (not flawless but not distracting), the story was well told and the characters were awesome with moments of Godfather II in there with Caeser as the original Don. Really loved it!

    0.3
  • December, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRadiohead - Life on Demand (2011) 6/10

    2011-12-28 22:12
    * * * * * *

    A pretty in-depth look at OK Computer and the meaning of the songs within. I'm glad I'm not a music critic after watching this; their job sucks

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol (2011) 8/10

    2011-12-27 20:39
    * * * * * * * *

    This movie was a lot of fun with loads of memorable action scenes in the Kremlin, Dubai (Burj al Arab) and Bombay. I didn't like the very end scene in Seattle so much but the rest of the movie was great fun (don't expect realism).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewColombiana (2011) 6/10

    2011-12-26 14:42
    * * * * * *

    A bit better than 6 but not much more. It seemed to show some restraint for a revenge based action movie which was appreciated and having a competent woman action star is nice (although she was thin as a stick).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Misfits" (TV Series 2009) 8/10

    2011-12-24 15:40
    * * * * * * * *

    Seasons 1 and 2 were simply amazing but season 3 was a big let down due to the lack of Nathan and the energy he brought. Very crude show but it brings a unique viewpoint to the superhero genre.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewImmortals (2011) 5/10

    2011-12-13 22:11
    * * * * *

    Truthfully, I wasn't watching it very carefully but it seemed to not have a great flow to it. Part Conan and part Clash of the Titans would be two movies that you don't want to emulate too closely in my book.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTT3D: Closer to the Edge 6/10

    2011-12-08 22:05
    * * * * * *

    Wouldn't recommend unless you're really in to motorcycle racing but the cinematography and history was great - the story felt like it was lacking a bit for me in comparison to the similar Senna or Faster

    0.3
  • November, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewConan the Barbarian (2011) 5/10

    2011-11-16 18:49
    * * * * *

    Lots of really bloody action but unless you really like Conan, I'm not sure this is for you. If you like the sorcery, it's really limited to one scene which was already too much for me. If you want some over the top bloody action though, it may satisfy that.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Change-Up (2011) 5/10

    2011-11-15 20:48
    * * * * *

    Body Switch movie that I did not care for. It seemed like the only way to tell which character was in which actor was by how much they swore.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Hangover Part II (2011) 6/10

    2011-11-13 18:46
    * * * * * *

    YVR > MSP Too little original material and far too much of the original in this one

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review30 Minutes or Less (2011) 4/10

    2011-11-08 21:51
    * * * *

    Too vulgar, me and my sensibilities couldn't make it through.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGhostbusters (1984) 7/10

    2011-11-07 22:40
    * * * * * * *

    some funny lines from Bill Murray on this one

    0.3
  • October, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the review50/50 (2011) 7/10

    2011-10-25 22:13
    * * * * * * *

    Moderately crude movie but I guess that should be expected considering the talent involved. Nice comedy laced and truth-based story about a guy who gets cancer and tries to beat it with the help of his friend and family.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKung Fu Panda 2 (2011) 7/10

    2011-10-22 22:12
    * * * * * * *

    The action in these movies is a lot of fun and although there wasn't a lot of laughs, there was some. I think the first was better but this one wasn't too bad.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFast Five (2011) 6/10

    2011-10-19 22:41
    * * * * * *

    You kinda know what you're getting when you watch these and I think that my low expectations were met; why do I watch these silly empty action movies? It may be time to move to some higher quality movies.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBatman: Year One (2011) 8/10

    2011-10-11 21:57
    * * * * * * * *

    This was an action comic movie really worth watching. One of the better Batman cartoons I've seen in awhile.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCaptain America: The First Avenger (2011) 6/10

    2011-10-08 14:47
    * * * * * *

    ORD -> YVR - the trailer should have been enough for me as most of everything is in there already. Not really that much fun and the action was not epic enough for me to really go for this movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDrive (2011) 8/10

    2011-10-03 16:46
    * * * * * * * *

    YVR -> ORD - this movie was so wonderfully unexpected. The soundtrack really grabbed me (which is very rare for a soundtrack) and the action was so simple that the drama really took over the movie. Great acting, story, soundtrack and characters!

    0.3
  • September, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTransformers: Dark of the Moon (2011) 7/10

    2011-09-26 18:17
    * * * * * * *

    For Transformers, I don't know what I'd really want more than what this delivered. It had good action, the overall story was actually great and provided some real anxiety. The characters all suck, but I guess that's not the reason we go, is it?

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGreen Lantern (2011) 6/10

    2011-09-24 14:33
    * * * * * *

    I could not connect with this movie. I have no knowledge of the Green Lantern character and thought the story was pretty dumb, I will try hard not to watch any more of these should they come out.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLimitless (2011) 7/10

    2011-09-19 22:58
    * * * * * * *

    A drug that eventually kills you but for a short time allows you to use the full capabilities of your brain. Not too bad - Heidi watched it and stayed up so that's some praise.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBridesmaids (2011) 8/10

    2011-09-10 23:09
    * * * * * * * *

    This movie was pretty fun. Some good things were the actor who played the boyfriend character who I thought was pretty unique for the movie, and lots of the comedy was pretty fun. It was too long with a number of scenes feeling like the extended director's cut version, but all in all, pretty funny.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAssassination Games (2011) 6/10

    2011-09-07 21:29
    * * * * * *

    Strange when you find out that 'the girl' in the film is his real daughter. This is one of the only movies that the color of the movie was really annoying, it was changed to basically a yellow for the whole film. Nothing new from the plot at all and the action was decent; acting was touch and go.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThis Film Is Not Yet Rated (2006) 9/10

    2011-09-07 19:35
    * * * * * * * * *

    9 is generous but I enjoyed the expose of the corrupt and secretive MPAA. It's fascinating to hear of the arbitrary and unjust censorship by a secretive bunch of people and the drastic effect that it has on film-makers. I share the opinion that violence and sex should swap places as ratings offenders but it's not an opinion I share with too many people, I don't think...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMeek's Cutoff (2010) 4/10

    2011-09-06 21:57
    * * * *

    Less of a story and more of a 'feeling' Don't come to this movie looking for a plot at all because there isn't one - it exists to allow you to watch some early settlers migrate across the rough America's.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEverything Must Go (2010) 6/10

    2011-09-03 19:41
    * * * * * *

    Very a-typical Will Ferrell but he's solid in the story of a business-man who battles with alcohol and tries to keep it together when he loses his job and wife. A little slow and depressing for me to really like.

    0.3
  • August, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewX-Men: First Class (2011) 8/10

    2011-08-28 23:28
    * * * * * * * *

    As good as any X-Men in the series, great re-casting and the story and acting are solid. Nice Wolverine cameo too.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSenna (2010) 8/10

    2011-08-23 23:20
    * * * * * * * *

    I know next to nothing about Ayrton Senna but he was a Formula1 legend (and the face behind the Genesis' Super Monaco GP). The story about his uphill battle against the politics of F1 and his untimely death in the sport are inspiring.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Greatest Movie Ever Sold (2011) 6/10

    2011-08-23 22:07
    * * * * * *

    I don't think that there was anything too revealing or shocking and the movie itself was a bit of a gimmick but it plants a seed in your mind. Whenever I see product placement in a movie now, I stop to think of the money they got to put it in.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSuper 8 (2011) 7/10

    2011-08-21 21:59
    * * * * * * *

    This one reminded me very much of a Cloverfield movie where you're seeing an alien entity move through town through the eyes of regular people in a shaky cam type of way. I'm not a huge fan of the genre but this movie was ok.

    0.3
  • July, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFaster (2003) 7/10

    2011-07-18 22:00
    * * * * * * *

    I'm not a MotoGP follower but this movie really brought me in to the tour itself, the main contestants and the insanity it takes to participate. A little slow at points and while it was a good look at the bike racing world, it lacked a really great finish.

    0.3
  • June, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGame of Thrones (TV Series 2011) 9/10

    2011-06-20 22:32
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - I was instantly drawn to and completely engrossed in this fantastic HBO series. I was blown away by the risks that they take and the stories that they tell, excellent tv but probably not for everyone.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBlue Crush 2 2/10

    2011-06-20 22:31
    * *

    I avoided this one and Heidi said it was the worst surfing movie she has ever seen.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewUnknown (2011) 7/10

    2011-06-18 15:30
    * * * * * * *

    It seemed to want to emulate Taken by the poster and promo material but it didn't have nearly the action or story necessary to do that. Not bad though and I'm a sucker for memory loss stories.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Adjustment Bureau (2011) 6/10

    2011-06-12 22:14
    * * * * * *

    If you're overly concerned with the argument of fate vs. free will you may enjoy this a bit more but such a debate is lost on my inferior mind as was the main thrust of this movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRango (2011) 8/10

    2011-06-09 22:11
    * * * * * * * *

    So utterly colorful and unique! A nice story about a chameleon wandering through the desert after being lost by his (human) family who becomes the hero of a small town. Great voice acting too.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPrimer (2004) 8/10

    2011-06-04 20:35
    * * * * * * * *

    A movie made by engineers on a really low budget and the story is awesome! A group of engineers come up with an amazing invention and try to come to grips with the ramifications of what they've invented and how it will affect their lives.

    0.3
  • May, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Way Back (2010) 9/10

    2011-05-21 23:19
    * * * * * * * * *

    A great movie showing the power of the human spirit to overcome adversity in order to survive. Great scenery, characters and although the veracity of the story may be questioned, it is still compelling.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Mechanic (2011) 7/10

    2011-05-13 14:04
    * * * * * * *

    PHX -> YVR - the story of a secluded hit man who tries to tutor a hot headed brawler in his trade. Lots of action and solid enough characters to make this a respectable film.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThor (2011) 7/10

    2011-05-11 19:36
    * * * * * * *

    Although this was better than some super hero movies, it was not spectacular. Good acting by the peripheral cast and decent effects throughout but nothing to get too excited about.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSource Code (2011) 8/10

    2011-05-10 19:36
    * * * * * * * *

    Although the big twist was obvious to most before it was actually revealed to the characters in the film, it was still a good sci-fi action movie well worth watching.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewI Am Number Four (2011) 6/10

    2011-05-09 13:35
    * * * * * *

    YVR -> DFW - very obviously not aimed at my demographic but it was a fun action spectacle about a teenage guy who has powers and how he learns to cope with them and the people pursuing him.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Green Hornet (2011) 4/10

    2011-05-07 15:00
    * * * *

    Got through 30 minutes and gave up, attempt at buddy action movie was a tremendous failure.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHanna (2011) 9/10

    2011-05-01 23:29
    * * * * * * * * *

    The best action movie of the year so far! The story of a rogue and very secluded CIA agent who spends many years raising his young daughter to be a super agent while depriving her of any childhood. When she's unleashed on the world, she needs to decide what to do with her life. Great characters and acting especially by Cate Blanchett and Saoirse Ronan.

    0.3
  • April, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFrozen River (2008) 7/10

    2011-04-18 21:46
    * * * * * * *

    Interesting story with great characters and acting. A poor mom near the Canadian border finds out that there's money to be made by smuggling people from Canada into the US putting herself and her family in jeopardy.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBattle: Los Angeles (2011) 5/10

    2011-04-17 15:00
    * * * * *

    More Marine recruitment video that actual movie

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review13 Assassins (2010) 8/10

    2011-04-16 14:32
    * * * * * * * *

    A Japanese movie set in the time of the samurai where 13 samurai are assembled to go on a suicide mission to assassinate an evil lord. It has a feeling similar to my favorite film, Seven Samurai, with the assembling of the team, the planning of the attack and the subsequent gory battle. It is excessively gory but I can not resist a good samurai movie, and this is one.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Joy of Stats (TV 2010) 7/10

    2011-04-15 23:37
    * * * * * * *

    A geeky look at numbers by people that love them

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Disappearance of Alice Creed (2009) 7/10

    2011-04-08 23:23
    * * * * * * *

    A movie that feels more like a stageplay, a woman gets abducted and (SPOILER) finds out that it's her boyfriend doing the kidnapping in order to get some money from her father. Many unravelings ensue. Not a lot of action, but good characters and gritty ambiance.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Next Three Days (2010) 8/10

    2011-04-03 14:17
    * * * * * * * *

    YVR - YUL - A prison breakout movie of an unusual sort. A husband is convinced his wife is falsely imprisoned and devises a plan to break her out of prison. Good acting and (relatively) plausible plot.

    0.3
  • March, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLittle Fockers (2010) 7/10

    2011-03-29 23:06
    * * * * * * *

    More of the same but there are some laughs along the way

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Spice Trail (TV Series 2011) 7/10

    2011-03-28 22:38
    * * * * * * *

    A follow up to the Frankincense Trail from the BBC starring Kate Humble it's a really interesting look at where a bunch of common (and expensive) spices come from including cinnamon, pepper, nutmeg, cloves, vanilla and saffron.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Warrior's Way (2010) 5/10

    2011-03-27 23:12
    * * * * *

    This was a mess of a movie that I have no idea how Kate Bosworth got involved in - she's so out of place.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHereafter (2010) 6/10

    2011-03-27 22:13
    * * * * * *

    A strange movie, it felt like a foreign film but with Matt Damon in it and directed by Clint Eastwood. Not terrible but it felt to depressing for me to really like it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTangled (2010) 8/10

    2011-03-25 23:15
    * * * * * * * *

    I enjoyed this more than I thought I would. I like the voice work, the characters and the overall story. I don't think the stallion was that great but I'm sure he would be the highlight for the little ones. Worth checking out.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Ultimate Wave Tahiti (2010) 8/10

    2011-03-19 15:06
    * * * * * * * *

    Watching this in a Real IMAX theatre is an amazing experience! Having a full field of view utilizing even your most peripheral vision is so special. The movie itself was fine, the shots of waves in Tahiti were incredible.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFreakonomics (2010) 7/10

    2011-03-18 22:50
    * * * * * * *

    I really like their books as they find a really unique way of asking questions and providing unbiased answers based on hard to find facts. This movie had lots of things from the books but I found the books themselves to be much better than this patchy movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFair Game (2010) 8/10

    2011-03-14 22:33
    * * * * * * * *

    Based on the very interesting political story of the outing of Valerie Plame and who should take the blame for it and really, why it happened. Sober look at the state of politics in our modern democracy which does not inspire a lot of confidence. Good acting and interesting story to watch - worth finding.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOpen Water (2003) 6/10

    2011-03-13 14:13
    * * * * * *

    The shaky-cam home footage way this was shot was not enjoyable and the overall story is completely told in the trailer or a brief synopsys. The acting didn't seem that great but it may have been the way the movie was shot that threw me off. I wouldn't really recommend searching your netflix or video store to find this one.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOutsourced (2006) 5/10

    2011-03-08 22:50
    * * * * *

    I really enjoy the NBC sitcom that is based on this movie and I can see a lot of similarities but this movie is devoid of heart. I found the acting and characters just terrible, the mood completely confusing (was this a drama or a comedy?) which speaks to the poor direction. Stick with the sitcom for a similar but much better version.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewExit Through the Gift Shop (2010) 7/10

    2011-03-08 21:52
    * * * * * * *

    An interesting documentary which was supposed to be about the reclusive street artist, Banksy, but ended up being about the person making the documentary (who is fascinating). A complex look at relationships, consumerism, fads and even mental stability make this worth watching. The confusing and somewhat ambiguous ending was a nice way to finish.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTRON: Legacy (2010) 6/10

    2011-03-05 15:38
    * * * * * *

    Probably what I expected. The story of the first was not great and this one wasn't any better. I loved that they were able to get Jeff Bridges back and they did some good CG to get a young JB which was cool. The effects overall were great but the story was just so sucky to bring the overall experience way down.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSomewhere (2010) 6/10

    2011-03-04 22:12
    * * * * * *

    An intensely slow paced movie about an indulgent movie star who spends a few weeks taking care of his well adjusted tween child. I understand that the point was to show the emptiness and futility of his life and the change when his daughter entered and it did that pretty well but the long shots and lethargic pace kept the rating down. Good acting all around though (it hardly felt like anyone actually was acting - that's a good thing!)

    0.3
  • February, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJackass 3D (2010) 6/10

    2011-02-27 15:20
    * * * * * *

    These movies always teeter on the edge of good taste where some skits are outrageously funny (the tree cutting, the hand slap, the opening sketch) and the rest are weirdly obsessive about sex and naughty things. I can tolerate the latter to laugh at the former, if you can, you should.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFaster (2010) 6/10

    2011-02-21 17:47
    * * * * * *

    YVR -> ORD - From the nothing that I knew about this, I was surprised by the tone of it. It seemed very dark and serious for what I thought would be a lighter revenge flick (is there such a thing?) Decent acting, and a ending that was only slightly more complex than I anticipated.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Visitor (2007) 8/10

    2011-02-19 22:51
    * * * * * * * *

    Besides being a drama, it's a movie that defies categorization. About a man who is aimlessly wandering through life after the loss of his wife when he strikes up a relationship with some immigrants who show him how to be happy as they struggle against the government to stay in the country. A political, personal and compelling story to make you rethink your stance on 'illegals'.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewUnstoppable (2010) 8/10

    2011-02-18 22:51
    * * * * * * * *

    LAX -> YVR - I was much more entertained by this than I thought I would be. How much action and tension can be evoked from an unmanned train rolling down the tracks? Evidently, lots! Good 'action' movie overall.

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>