If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • February, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe King's Speech (2010) 9/10

    2011-02-08 22:52
    * * * * * * * * *

    A very nice and friendly film showing how an unsuspecting king enlists the help of a speech therapist to overcome his stutter. Great performances with wonderfully sympathetic characters. From the premise it seems boring, but like Frost/Nixon, it really pulls you in.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHarry Brown (2009) 8/10

    2011-02-01 23:20
    * * * * * * * *

    A complex and dramatic revenge movie focusing much less on the violence (although it doesn't skimp) and more-so on the moral dilemma. Great performances all around resulting in a movie that will certainly trouble your soul.

    0.3
  • January, 2011

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMegamind (2010) 6/10

    2011-01-30 16:03
    * * * * * *

    Ugg, I didn't like the animation, the voice overs (except Brad Pitt, he was good) and the general plot. I guess it's a little surprising that this even got a 6.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Fighter (2010) 8/10

    2011-01-29 22:48
    * * * * * * * *

    Awesome acting all around, great story about a neglected brother who excels at boxing despite his family mis-managing him.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Ascent of Money (TV 2008) 7/10

    2011-01-29 15:48
    * * * * * * *

    A pretty comprehensive look at what money is and how people manipulate it to make fortunes. The host (Neil Gaiman) is a complete snob and it seems as though he just did this series to fulfill his personal travel desires to go around the world. Good information if you can get past the high-brows.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTrue Grit (2010) 9/10

    2011-01-25 22:52
    * * * * * * * * *

    The Coen's constantly impress me with their trademark wit, snappy dialogue and great acting throughout. A gripping Western about a girl looking for revenge on her father's killer.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Trotsky (2009) 6/10

    2011-01-08 08:49
    * * * * * *

    Not too bad for a Canadian film but the ending left something to be desired as did the main relationship. I wouldn't be sure who to recommend this one to.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review127 Hours (2010) 9/10

    2011-01-06 22:16
    * * * * * * * * *

    Just awesome, I read the book a few years ago and was really excited to see the movie adaptation and it was really great in adding some nice visuals to the story and fleshing out (ha!) the character a bit more. Great adventure and survival story.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMachete (2010) 6/10

    2011-01-05 22:27
    * * * * * *

    I guess these Grindhouse-esque exploitation films are not for me cause I just didn't really like it - the WAY over the top characters were just ridiculous, but it was good to see Jeff Fahey in fine form.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLars and the Real Girl (2007) 8/10

    2011-01-03 22:43
    * * * * * * * *

    A story about a man who is drawn to treat a sex doll as his real living girlfriend and the town who rallies around him to help him get through the trauma of his earlier life. Great cast and unique story which is delivered very well.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn... 8/10

    2011-01-01 22:19
    * * * * * * * *

    I liked the first Narnia a lot and the second one not so much and this one would land in between. I thought the effects and acting were just fine and they stuck to the story well enough. I liked that they didn't drift into over-emphasizing the action like they did in the second.

    0.3
  • December, 2010

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBuried (2010) 8/10

    2010-12-27 23:33
    * * * * * * * *

    I was amazed that a movie about a man buried in a coffin could really be confined to that space for the entire duration and keep me entertained, but it did! Great performance, high tension and the gimmick is pulled off - nice work all around!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Town (2010) 8/10

    2010-12-24 13:49
    * * * * * * * *

    A mix of Mystic River, Heat and Point Break, it pulls off the drama and tension pretty nicely - no major complaints, good acting and entertaining heist story.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIp Man 2 (2010) 8/10

    2010-12-22 13:48
    * * * * * * * *

    The first one was good enough that it warranted watching the next. The drama was less dramatic and the story was a bit more predicable and so I'd recommend the first one more but this second one was not too bad at all.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDear Zachary: A Letter to a Son About His Father... 9/10

    2010-12-18 23:28
    * * * * * * * * *

    An absolutely heart wrenching documentary - I haven't seen a movie that has grieved my heart so much. It's numbingly real and that heightens the pain and suffering so much more. I don't want to give more than I need to away but watch this when you're ready to be brought to tears by an incredible family and their great misfortune. On behalf of Canada, my apologies for our messed up system.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Nightmare Before Christmas (1993) 7/10

    2010-12-15 22:09
    * * * * * * *

    I had surprisingly never really seen this movie before and seeing that it was Christmas-time, I thought it was time. I can see the respect this movie demands as it is really original and has the typical Tim Burton feel but I didn't really love it. I appreciated the originality and designs but overall, I wouldn't make this a Holiday tradition.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe American (2010) 7/10

    2010-12-11 15:26
    * * * * * * *

    This is a movie wildly different from the typical American spy movie but very satisfying. George Clooney stars as an American craftsman/assassin who is put in the middle of nowhere to cool from his last job and prep for his next. During his hiatus, he engages with a priest and falls for a call girl. Worth seeing if you like spy movies with very little action.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBrooklyn's Finest (2009) 5/10

    2010-12-09 22:57
    * * * * *

    MSP -> YVR - This movie was dripping with so much despair that I couldn't get past 25 minutes. Feel free to let me know if the ending made it all worthwhile but I couldn't trudge through the beginning

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDespicable Me (2010) 7/10

    2010-12-05 15:00
    * * * * * * *

    SLC -> JFK - It had good animation and the little hyper characters were really cute (a scaled up version of the squirrel from Ice Age), the story was okay. I felt like I could always hear Steve Carrel putting on an accent which bothered me a bit but otherwise, it's fine.

    0.3
  • November, 2010

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIp Man (2008) 8/10

    2010-11-29 19:45
    * * * * * * * *

    Based on the story of Chinese legend Yip Man who had a very interesting life but ended up being most well known for being the mentor of Bruce Lee. This was an interesting mix of story and excellent martial arts action. The acting and action was all good - an easy recommend for any fan of the genre.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWhere the Wild Things Are (2009) 3/10

    2010-11-27 17:20
    * * *

    After watching the first 30 minutes it took me about a month to get around to watching the rest; I should have just given up. I ended up dis-liking this movie and would not recommend it for anything other than the puppetry and animation, which was good.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKnight and Day (2010) 6/10

    2010-11-25 16:15
    * * * * * *

    Very light-hearted spy flick with capable actors but if you want anything more this is not the film for you.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSalt (2010) 7/10

    2010-11-23 23:38
    * * * * * * *

    A spy flick with a few things that I wasn't expecting, and then a few things that I was. I enjoyed AJ in this and her transition from humble desk jockey to amped up super spy was gradual and enjoyable. Not the best spy movie out there as it's got a few suspend belief moments, but it's not too bad.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTrumbo (2007) 7/10

    2010-11-20 16:18
    * * * * * * *

    I don't hear enough good stories about the Blacklist of the 60's during the height of the Communist paranoia but this is a documentary that tells it with tragedy and great humor by one of Hollywood's greatest screenwriters at the time, Dalton Trumbo.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe A-Team (2010) 5/10

    2010-11-20 15:17
    * * * * *

    Maybe I needed to like the TV show to like this but this movie was ridiculous; basically a collection of army guys that constantly avoid death by the flukiest means, the bad guy was ok though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewToy Story 3 (2010) 9/10

    2010-11-10 22:10
    * * * * * * * * *

    The Toy Story trilogy doesn't disappoint at all and this is no exception. Great return of the characters for another slightly darker expedition to a daycare and the toys that run it. Great fun and adventure.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Social Network (2010) 8/10

    2010-11-04 22:13
    * * * * * * * *

    An almost overwhelming amount of dialog but despite the fact that you may not be catching every word, the overall story and characters in it are very clear. From what I hear, this isn't based on too much reality, but it feels like there's enough to make it a worthwhile story or a lonely billionaire narcissist.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewScott Pilgrim vs. the World (2010) 9/10

    2010-11-03 22:13
    * * * * * * * * *

    Ooh, I loved the originality of this movie!! It did so many things that were just wonderful and unique so for that I give it big applause

    0.3
  • October, 2010

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewArmored (2009) 5/10

    2010-10-28 20:22
    * * * * *

    Good cast but everything else was a miss.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Fall (2006) 6/10

    2010-10-24 14:52
    * * * * * *

    After watching the first half it still took me about a year to get around to finishing it. It was a nice movie, with a good ending, lots of color, etc but it simply didn't draw me in like I would have liked it to.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRed (2010) 9/10

    2010-10-21 12:10
    * * * * * * * * *

    MSP -> YVR This was a ton of fun, reminded me of The Losers which I enjoyed but with an A-cast. Great characters, acting and over the top action.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKing Corn (2007) 8/10

    2010-10-18 12:53
    * * * * * * * *

    Slow paced documentary about how and why corn is made to the massive abundance we have now. The pace and subject of the doc are nice and mild compared with the heavy hitting Food Inc

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCenturion (2010) 5/10

    2010-10-17 15:51
    * * * * *

    This one seemed more interested in getting as much gore onto the screen as possible and less interested in telling a good story with characters you could relate to. Anyways, I'm sure no one has heard of this anyway, but if you do, it's probably not worth it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHow to Train Your Dragon (2010) 8/10

    2010-10-13 12:48
    * * * * * * * *

    DTW - YVR I enjoyed this, the dragon was awesome and reminded me of my black cat I had as a kid. The story was full of colorful characters and the voice acting was good. Recommended for those who like cartoony kids movies.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPredators (2010) 7/10

    2010-10-04 22:24
    * * * * * * *

    Not too bad. This one really channeled the first one while ignoring the others (good choice!) The action is good, the characters are interesting enough and there is enough new information to keep the Predator fans happy. Set up perfectly for a sequel too...

    0.3
  • September, 2010

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSuperman/Batman: Apocalypse (2010) (V) 4/10

    2010-09-27 20:47
    * * * *

    This is really a Superman movie with a bit of Batman in it. Truthfully, it has a lot more SuperGirl and Wonder Woman than Batman. I only watch these movies for Batman so that was a big disappointment and Superman did nothing for me here.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAlone in the Wilderness (2004) (TV) 8/10

    2010-09-19 22:40
    * * * * * * * *

    This is the way you live in the outdoors! DP is the Martha Stewart of man's men. Making a cabin with whatever he finds and living in the Alaskan wilderness for 35 years on his own. This is worth watching just to see how hard working and resourceful he is in making his bush living.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTRON (1982) 7/10

    2010-09-13 12:32
    * * * * * * *

    I had never seen this classic so with the second one coming out, I thought it would be time to. It doesn't really stand up to time that well as the effects are quite outdated already and the story is mediocre at best. I'm interested though to see what they're going to do with the next one.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHarvard Beats Yale 29-29 (2008) 7/10

    2010-09-08 22:16
    * * * * * * *

    If you like football, this movie is worth watching. It goes well beyond just football with stories of the times and it delves into characters of whom many are very interesting. The game itself is covered well and worth learning about.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIron Man 2 (2010) 8/10

    2010-09-07 22:57
    * * * * * * * *

    If you liked the first one, this one is about the same. I like the special effects and cavalier attitude but don't care so much for the overt pro military-ism and the tie ins with the other Marvel characters. Black Widow was a pretty lame character, not much complexity to her at all.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Other Guys (2010) 8/10

    2010-09-07 20:57
    * * * * * * * *

    I liked this a lot more than I thought I would. WF tends to have a singular style and while it was somewhat true of his character here, there was enough fresh stuff to keep me laughing. I loved the whisper funeral fight, the different kind of 'bad guy', and so many other things in this. Worth watching.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPonyo (2008) 7/10

    2010-09-06 15:13
    * * * * * * *

    I like HM movies as PM is one of my very favorite movies. His other movies have a very similar feeling and messages but I wasn't quite as enamored by this one. Still, not bad - and good voice work by the English cast.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPrince of Persia: The Sands of Time (2010) 7/10

    2010-09-06 14:12
    * * * * * * *

    I didn't mind this - the action, acting, direction was all fine and the story wasn't too bad - decent if not predictable movie.

    0.3
  • August, 2010

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMacGruber (2010) 4/10

    2010-08-31 22:16
    * * * *

    There were some laughs in here but the comedy was very crude and there were no real MacGyver moments. I could only get about 30 minutes in. A big letdown as I had hopes for this movie being great.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Expendables (2010) 8/10

    2010-08-30 23:19
    * * * * * * * *

    You gotta appreciate all the effort they went to in getting such an incredible cast of former (and present) action superstars. I loved the non-stop action and seeing all these guys back in the fight.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEat Pray Love (2010) 6/10

    2010-08-27 17:08
    * * * * * *

    Heidi saw in theatres at the matinee by herself - first time doing that in awhile.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Karate Kid (2010) 7/10

    2010-08-26 22:08
    * * * * * * *

    This was good! Based on the classic that I enjoyed at a younger age where JC does a good job of channeling his inner Miyagi and JS is a real charmer. Sympathetic characters with good direction and good fighting sequences.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEclipse (2010) 5/10

    2010-08-24 22:49
    * * * * *

    Marginally better than the second one in that Bella weeps less but still not great. The dialogue is uninteresting and it constantly feel like the story is going in the opposite direction that I want it to.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTekken (2010) 4/10

    2010-08-23 16:58
    * * * *

    Terrible story and even worse story-telling complete with weird casting makes this movie suck thoroughly. The action was decent(ish) but nothing really worth slugging through the rest of this for.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBatman: Under the Red Hood (2010) (V) 8/10

    2010-08-19 16:03
    * * * * * * * *

    This is a good animated Batman movie! Great story and action; they get to appropriately use a lot of characters and it's a bit dark (which was good). A definite watch if you enjoy (or enjoyed) the Batman animated series.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKick-Ass (2010) 8/10

    2010-08-12 23:37
    * * * * * * * *

    This leans heavily to the adolescent crowd but I enjoyed it a lot as well. Great characters, good action although the violence was quite excessive.

    0.3
  • July, 2010

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEdge of Darkness (2010) 6/10

    2010-07-28 23:13
    * * * * * *

    A revenge flick that can't find its message (despite trying) nor its action core. Beware the big guys - you can't stop them.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Young Victoria (2009) 3/10

    2010-07-27 20:29
    * * *

    Heidi - stopped after 30 minutes, more interested in pita chips and noting the lack of Colin Firth

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCrazy Heart (2009) 7/10

    2010-07-25 23:24
    * * * * * * *

    Another long winded drama that takes cues from every musical biopic and The Wrestler about a down and out, alcoholic country singer who hooks up with a much younger fan (gross) and makes some mistakes. Great acting all around and watchable if you like the longhand drama.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDate Night (2010) 8/10

    2010-07-25 21:24
    * * * * * * * *

    I enjoyed this quite a bit. TF and SC were hilarious in their improvised scenes and the action was good enough. Lots of funny lines and very relate-able characters (especially lately!)

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewInception (2010) 10/10

    2010-07-24 01:09
    * * * * * * * * * *

    Woah!! This is big budget movie making! Very smart story, well acted, awesome effects and it sticks with you for awhile after watching - go see this!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Runaways (2010) 6/10

    2010-07-22 22:37
    * * * * * *

    Heidi watched and somewhat liked

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Client List (TV 2010) 7/10

    2010-07-20 22:50
    * * * * * * *

    While it doesn't offer much in terms of originality, it is fun to watch, with lots of beautiful people to keep you from changing channels. Check this out if you're a fan of Jennifer Love Hewitt and Texan largess.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCouples Retreat (2009) 6/10

    2010-07-18 21:02
    * * * * * *

    Some funny moments of interaction between couples with some solid comedy chops starring and while not terrible, I wouldn't recommend it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHot Tub Time Machine (2010) 4/10

    2010-07-16 23:38
    * * * *

    I only got through about 30 minutes before I quit. I'm normally not a huge fan of extremely coarse language in comedies and this was no exception. Did anyone notice the KT song when RC was driving into his garage??!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Curious Case of Benjamin Button (2008) 6/10

    2010-07-16 22:38
    * * * * * *

    After how many years I finally brought myself to trudge through this FG remake. I can't really object to much of it but after seeing the trailer, I (correctly) assumed that it wasn't for me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRepo Men (2010) 6/10

    2010-07-15 23:11
    * * * * * *

    I saw the 'twist' ending coming from way too far away and the graphic organ removal content was a little much. Not really anything I'd recommend although it wasn't terrible.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Messenger (2009/I) 7/10

    2010-07-12 22:23
    * * * * * * *

    Powerful drama with great acting. It brought you into the lives of the men that have to convey the worst news and how they cope. The acting was great all around. Only a 7 because I don't know who I'd really recommend it to and I'd never want to watch it again (it was slow).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Strange Days on Planet Earth" (2005) 7/10

    2010-07-11 22:40
    * * * * * * *

    A decent documentary series on how things are changing so rapidly on Earth due to mans intervention from intermingling species from all over the world to removing large predators.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGreen Zone (2010) 6/10

    2010-07-04 16:11
    * * * * * *

    This seemed like a movie that was reveling in something that it found out that we all already knew. From Lyf, "I would say that this movie had something to say …… 5-6 years ago!"

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCollapse (2009/II) 8/10

    2010-07-03 22:11
    * * * * * * * *

    This guy seems to have a lot of information that ties together pretty well. His basic message is that the worst of the economic crisis is yet to come... because nothing has really changed in how we spend/manage our money. Doom and gloom ensues.

    0.3
  • June, 2010

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Men Who Stare at Goats (2009) 7/10

    2010-06-27 22:22
    * * * * * * *

    This was quirky enough to be a real winner. I enjoyed the radically different story that they're trying to tell in a serious way. It reminds me of a Coen brothers movie for the zaniness and the use of GC (who was great!)

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJourney of Man (2003) (TV) 8/10

    2010-06-24 22:50
    * * * * * * * *

    This was a great documentary explaining from the point of science where people emigrated from - fascinating and seems to make a lot of sense.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Keep Your Head Up Kid: The Don Cherry... 8/10

    2010-06-10 23:38
    * * * * * * * *

    The peculiar charm of DC in a biopic made for tv movie which seems like it would be tough to do but it did it very well. Captured the core of his ethic and portrayed him (and his family) very endearingly.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAmelia (2009) 7/10

    2010-06-08 22:09
    * * * * * * *

    I thought it was a bit average as far as film making goes but Heidi enjoyed the adventurous spirit of Amelia so it gets a more favorable review.

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>