If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • August, 2009

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewInside the Koran (2008) (V) 7/10

    2009-08-02 22:45
    * * * * * * *

    Good documentary on the different ways the Koran can be interpreted. Reminds me greatly of the diversity among Christians - especially with it's comparison of Catholics and Protestants and the Muslim's Sunnis and Shiities. Interesting documentary on the Muslims and their views of each other and the world. See a 5 minute preview at National Geographic.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewX-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009) 7/10

    2009-08-01 22:03
    * * * * * * *

    I found the action to be pretty good (lots of stabbing, to be expected) and some cool characters (Deadpool was a great villain) but it suffered from HAVING to do too many things (Wolverine gets metal, he's lonely, Sabretooth & Stryker survive, he doesn't have any memory). BTW - the bullets to the head with the hope of erasing his memory was RIDICULOUS! Truly bizarre - wouldn't you hope that he'd be mentally incapable of doing anything (like moving) instead of just lacking memory - lame.

    0.3
  • July, 2009

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTerminator Salvation (2009) 7/10

    2009-07-21 16:06
    * * * * * * *

    Not absolutely terrible but not a 'Terminator' quality film. The plot of the movie seemed to steal very heavily from the BSG series of recent (with the robot programmed to be human and infiltrate the enemy) which I didn't think was a great angle for the film but the scene with the Arnold Terminator from T1 and T2 was unbelievably good. I also liked the sounds that the large machines made as they went about scooping people.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Hangover (2009) 8/10

    2009-07-20 22:05
    * * * * * * * *

    The scenes (although spoiled by the trailer) with Mike Tyson were great. I liked the backwards figuring of what happened last night and the characters were all great - a lot of good laughs throughout.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewChangeling (2008) 7/10

    2009-07-10 22:13
    * * * * * * *

    A very well made movie about a woman who loses her son only to have the wrong one returned based on a true story. It deals much with the corruption and power of the LA police and the woman (with the help of a local minister) who tried to get their help. Quite a grizzly story (I wasn't expecting that) which would be why I liked it less than I thought I would.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLe scaphandre et le papillon (2007) 7/10

    2009-07-08 22:57
    * * * * * * *

    A good movie about a man who has a massive stroke but is still able to think as clearly as before, he's just unable to control his body outside of blinking his eye. Interesting true story with some cool first person perspective on being a stroke victim (I especially liked the eye scene at the beginning). The French and subtitles may be a turn off but it's a decent movie if you want to watch a foreign one. Hearing the alphabet over and over was at first annoying then became humorous as it sped up. E, S, A, R, I, N, T, U, L...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLetters from Iwo Jima (2006) 7/10

    2009-07-07 16:54
    * * * * * * *

    A good movie with a definite anti-war message. It was hard to follow all the strategy of the actual battles, it just felt chaotic (maybe that was the point). The characters were well defined and gave the Japanese point of view to the war very nicely. Good movie but tough to recommend really highly.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMy Left Foot: The Story of Christy Brown (1989) 8/10

    2009-07-06 22:56
    * * * * * * * *

    An uplifting and very well acted true life story of a man with cerebral palsy who only has control of his left foot. He accomplishes much by painting, and writing his autobiography. The movie is much kinder than I was expecting it to be; his whole family loves and supports him and are still complex and flawed characters. I'll admit though, it felt like a CBC movie at times...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Wrestler (2008) 8/10

    2009-07-02 22:02
    * * * * * * * *

    Mickey Rourke was amazing and the movie was well done. Slow, Oscar pace and very realistic characters. Funny and shocking wrestling action was well done also. Good movie but points off for the open-ish ending (which isn't so bad, but it's not what I wanted).

    0.3
  • June, 2009

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewVicky Cristina Barcelona (2008) 5/10

    2009-06-30 22:00
    * * * * *

    I don't enjoy the dialog and acting in most Woody Allen movies; there are some exceptions but this wasn't one. Not a fan at all.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMilk (2008/I) 9/10

    2009-06-27 21:48
    * * * * * * * * *

    The acting was great, the story was told very well and the message is important. Good job on the movie with a strong message to Christians to love your neighbor, you know, like Jesus would.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHe Was a Quiet Man (2007) 6/10

    2009-06-25 22:18
    * * * * * *

    CS was good, but the rest of the acting seemed off. It appears that there was a reason that the acting (and the movie) felt off but that would be spoiling (not that anyone will watch this film). Not enough here to recommend, I'd probably rather push Assassination of Richard Nixon or Taxi Driver for the single wierdo changing the world with a gun plot instead.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOng bak 2 (2008) 6/10

    2009-06-23 22:18
    * * * * * *

    Even in Tony Jaa's native tongue, I don't think that he managed to utter more than one or two lines of dialogue all movie long. The acting and story were poor but the action was pretty great (which is all that was being attempted). Not enough to recommend though...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStranded: I've Come from a Plane That Crashed on... 8/10

    2009-06-23 21:18
    * * * * * * * *

    Great documentary which was the true story for which Alive was based on. I was impressed with the candidness of the interviewee's, the amazing story of survival, and their maturity even at such a young age.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Mormons (2007) 8/10

    2009-06-22 22:18
    * * * * * * * *

    Fascinating look at the figures, history and current trends of the Mormons. It certainly left me with some questions and also helped me to take an outsiders look at my own faith. BTW, there's some crazy stuff that the Mormons believe, such as modern day American Indian's are actually a long lost race of ancient Israelites and that during the 3 days when Jesus was dead, he appeared to these people and taught them the way of peace.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFlash of Genius (2008) 6/10

    2009-06-20 22:00
    * * * * * *

    There wasn't much more in here outside the trailer. You know the outcome because the movie got made, the characters were not that deep or even sympathetic. It was cool seeing a movie that has lots of tech talk in it but that wasn't enough.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNe le dis à personne (2006) 8/10

    2009-06-16 21:59
    * * * * * * * *

    A good thriller that reminded me of The Vanishing which I liked at the time. Story of a man whose wife is murdered only to discover 8 years later that all was not what it seemed.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Hunt for Gollum (2009) 7/10

    2009-06-10 22:09
    * * * * * * *

    Felt like this film didn't have much to say in addition to what was previously done in the main movies but the ambiance was decent and the acting was ok and for a fan film, it was pretty impressive.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewConfessions of a Shopaholic (2009) 5/10

    2009-06-09 21:56
    * * * * *

    I'm glad I had the good sense to not watch this. I did however listen to it as Heidi was watching it and it seemed like a big dud.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHe's Just Not That Into You (2009) 8/10

    2009-06-07 22:43
    * * * * * * * *

    Romantic Comedy geared at bringing the guys in as well. I liked the multiple stories, the semblance of realism to the storylines and the acting was mostly good (I didn't care for JL). It was largely unpredictable in what was going to happen with each of the characters and for the majority, the ending(s) were wrapped up nicely.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPush (2009) 5/10

    2009-06-05 15:55
    * * * * *

    The special effects were pretty good in this movie but there was something that really didn't click for me in this movie. Not sure what the problem was but I didn't like this; maybe too much prediction of death without any death...

    0.3
  • May, 2009

  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Office" (2005) 6/10

    2009-05-18 21:35
    * * * * * *

    Season 5 - To me, this show is getting tired and because-such, I dropped it mid-season. Heidi has been keeping up with it, but it just doesn't make me laugh. I also checked out the spin off, "Parks and Recreation" but I won't be going back for seconds of that one either.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"30 Rock" (2006) 9/10

    2009-05-14 20:10
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - This is probably my favorite comedy show this year (not a ton of competition there, really). Lots of hilarious moments, risque humor, good guests (who are usually well used) and moments of awkward truth (can't tell the age of any black people).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKillshot (2008) 6/10

    2009-05-13 15:10
    * * * * * *

    I wasn't a fan of almost any of the acting with the exception of JGL and the story wasn't great either. Seeing a professional hitman put to the limit by a couple who saw his face really pushes the boundaries of reality for me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTales of the Black Freighter (2009) (V) 6/10

    2009-05-12 15:12
    * * * * * *

    Like the Watchmen of which this story is a part that didn't make it to the theatre, it's very depressing, gory and way over the top in believability.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGrey Gardens (2009) (TV) 8/10

    2009-05-07 20:48
    * * * * * * * *

    Heidi watched and liked it quite a bit - I'm translating that to an 8.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStar Trek (2009) 9/10

    2009-05-07 17:45
    * * * * * * * * *

    Awesome reboot! As a pretty big Star Trek fan from the early days, I thought that this was a faithful and yet fresh look at the series. They had inside jokes galore for the long time Trek fan and enough action and good story to keep the average movie goer entertained. Now, I'm excited to see more of these.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Wire" (2002) 4/10

    2009-05-03 17:47
    * * * *

    Season 5 - Uggg. What a waste and a shame. I was a big fan of all the other seasons but this one got off on the wrong foot right away. McNulty creating a serial killer seemed way too off his character to be believable that the rest of the season just seemed like crap because of that. The fact that Lester went along with it just completely blew up the whole season for me. I couldn't get past that. Oh, and killing Omar by a hopper; that was unforgivable. Terrible season.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCinderella (1950) 7/10

    2009-05-02 15:10
    * * * * * * *

    Very kid friendly as it didn't have a scary villain, really. I was surprised how old this movie was - the voice work made it seem much older than the animation (which was pretty decent). Saffron loved it on our first family sleep over party in the living room; good times.

    0.3
  • April, 2009

  • Show the reviewHide the review"Caprica" (2009) 4/10

    2009-04-30 20:25
    * * * *

    A spin off of BSG which had no need for a prequel nor does it have any need for a follow up. This mini-movie had no interesting story to tell and should have never seen the light of day. Terrible.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Wire" (2002) 8/10

    2009-04-23 08:15
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 4 - This season almost got a 9 but I found the ending to be so lame - basically a set up for the next season and not much of a finale at all. I'm getting a hang for how this show works now and what to expect. This season covered the schools, the run for and business of mayor, the corner kids and Omar in prison; McNulty was nowhere to be found.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewI.O.U.S.A. (2008) 8/10

    2009-04-06 08:14
    * * * * * * * *

    An interesting look at the unsexy topic of federal finances. Good access to lots of key players, very non-partisan message of fiscal responsibility in government and in your own home. Boy, I'm happy that I don't own the States' debt - yea Canada!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Wire" (2002) 7/10

    2009-04-05 14:22
    * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - I felt that this was a pretty lame season until the last 3 eps when it really came together. Interesting stories about Hamsterdam, the freed boxer, and the run for mayor. It's fun going into these seasons completely blind not knowing what's coming at all - onto S4.

    0.3
  • March, 2009

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFireproof (2008) 6/10

    2009-03-30 21:53
    * * * * * *

    It was sort of nice to watch a movie that's entirely wholesome and slightly challenging but it couldn't quite get me over the poor dialog and preachy-ness. This movie felt like it was geared at non-church goers and even non-believers to which I thought it failed through its apparently-conflicting desire to be seen in as many church basements as possible. Although the message of devotion to your spouse is excellent, the troubled characters are way too wholesome and put together to be believable. Not terrible but not great either.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTwilight (2008/I) 7/10

    2009-03-30 20:54
    * * * * * * *

    I enjoyed this movie more than I thought I would. I liked the ambiance of the NorthWest and the dialog was mostly quite good as were the high school relationships which were a little less cardboard cutout and a bit more authentic. That said, I wished that there was a bit more to the movie; it felt more like a TV episode in terms of the amount of story that it got through (maybe that's a compliment to tv). Anyways, decent film; not much vampire-ness until the very end (which was good with me).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWatchmen (2009) 8/10

    2009-03-26 21:48
    * * * * * * * *

    Followed the comic book very carefully with some notable exceptions at the end especially. I had just recently read the comics and found this to have a great majority of the plot points from the comic. The was a lot of the blue dong and I wasn't a fan of Silk Spectre II (she talked like Cameron Diaz) but a solid film keeping virtually all the grit of the comic.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Battlestar Galactica" (2004) 9/10

    2009-03-21 15:02
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 4.5 - The final season. This was a really good half season - amazing adventure, nice plot reveal at the beginning of the season with the fifth cylon so that we could get on with the show and a great finale. Some boring episodes that were necessary for buildup in the middle of the season but otherwise another great season.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKiss Kiss Bang Bang (2005) 8/10

    2009-03-16 18:54
    * * * * * * * *

    I enjoyed how this movie had narration referring to itself and how it referenced other things that we've all heard of. Native American Joe Pesci and stuff like that was awesome. Interesting enough story to keep you guessing even though that wasn't so much of what the movie was about (for me).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStep Brothers (2008) 4/10

    2009-03-14 21:00
    * * * *

    Another entry in the line of new comedies that push the envelope of decency from Apatow. While I'm not adverse to comedies with foul language (even though I should be), this one was just too far fetched with the ridiculous sons who I couldn't buy into at all. Made it 25 minutes till I canned it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFelon (2008) 5/10

    2009-03-14 20:51
    * * * * *

    I liked Val Kilmer's character as he was completely lost in it. The material was just way too depressing to me so I stopped it half way. If it was a mindless action movie, that would be okay but it was too serious and the material too grim to be enjoyable.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewQuantum of Solace (2008) 8/10

    2009-03-14 15:20
    * * * * * * * *

    I felt like I was able to follow what was happening without having a clue what was being said or why they were going certain places - a strange feeling. The action was great and I liked that it followed on what happened in the previous movie. Not amazing, but really quite good.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Wire" (2002) 8/10

    2009-03-14 15:16
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 2 - new season, new main storyline which was a nice change after I got used to what was going on. Nice tie-ins with the previous season and good stories for this season; it's nice to go in blind and not have any idea what's going to happen next time around. Omar, McNulty were my favorites this round around.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBlindness (2008) 8/10

    2009-03-08 06:51
    * * * * * * * *

    I thought it would be more sciency as opposed to social but it was quite good, and very harrowing look at a future where everyone goes blind and plunges society to chaos. Similar to Children of Men and Lord of the Flies mixed together.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRoman Polanski: Wanted and Desired (2008) 7/10

    2009-03-05 05:52
    * * * * * * *

    HBO Documentary on the rape case and eventual flight from United States of Roman Polanski. Decent documentary with enough to say and good access to the big players in the case. It is sympathetic to Roman which I'm not sure if I agree with but it certainly does outline his problems and the case very well.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSynecdoche, New York (2008) 6/10

    2009-03-04 14:54
    * * * * * *

    Storyless, a movie of merely themes. Lots of weirdly funny moments but the movie felt too confusing to really enjoy. My least favorite of Charlie Kaufmann's movies so far - see any of his others first.

    0.3
  • February, 2009

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFrost/Nixon (2008) 9/10

    2009-02-25 15:31
    * * * * * * * * *

    Much more engaging than a series of actual interviews aught to be. Well filmed, brought me into the history and characters effortlessly even though I didn't know that much about them to begin with. Great historical film and worth watching.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMongol (2007) 8/10

    2009-02-22 15:29
    * * * * * * * *

    In theory, the first part of a trilogy on the life of Genghis Khan. Since I know almost nothing of him, it was nice to see a well made story on the life of this controversial character. A tough life lived, good battle scenes and lots of adversity overcome. As a petty grievance, I'm always annoyed by showing the end of a movie at the very beginning and then walking through the movie to see how we got to that situation.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGran Torino (2008) 8/10

    2009-02-20 15:27
    * * * * * * * *

    I loved all the racial slang that Clint Eastwood's character came up with. It was so funny to see what terrible thing was going to come out of his mouth next. I enjoyed both the characters and the message of the movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Wire" (2002) 8/10

    2009-02-19 15:25
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - This show was recommended to me by so many people and after about a year of trying to get through the first season, I finally gathered some momentum and made it work. Compared to the Shield, it has a lot more graphic language and content and the show moves at the pace of reality instead of the tv world. If you want to get hooked into it, it's a good show, Shield is still better - on to Season 2.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Day the Earth Stood Still (2008) 5/10

    2009-02-15 15:23
    * * * * *

    Absolutely Dreadful. I'm going to riddle this with spoilers because it's simply not worth watching. I saw no convincing argument for Keanu's character that humanity should be saved - he should have wiped us suckers out! The protector robot was really great, especially when it turned into microscopic bugs that eat everything. Question: Why would those globes hang around? For the sole purpose of being able to stop the end of humanity - stupid.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGomorra (2008) 7/10

    2009-02-14 15:21
    * * * * * * *

    A ultra gritty movie about the Italian mafia (in Italy) and the little guys that make it run. In the style and gravity of City of God.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHow to Lose Friends & Alienate People (2008) 5/10

    2009-02-14 15:19
    * * * * *

    I watched this over 4 days (as is our style lately) but this film was barely able to hold it together for me. Not a fan of the humor in this case though I do often like Simon Pegg. Maybe his next one will be less 'miss'.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNothing But the Truth (2008) 9/10

    2009-02-12 15:18
    * * * * * * * * *

    Based on the Plame affair. An awesome film showing the personal toll of reporting and how the law can be worked against you - I enjoyed this film very much.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 8/10

    2009-02-06 15:15
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 6 - The Final Season. I loved this season that everything was gearing up to the fictional shows end as well as the regular - that was great! I loved all the Jon Stewart stuff too.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTasogare Seibei (2002) 7/10

    2009-02-01 15:14
    * * * * * * *

    It feels good to watch some foreign movies once in awhile - especially ones about samurai - my favorites! This was a good movie - almost no action (like a good samurai movie should be) and well formed characters and environment.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDoubt (2008/I) 7/10

    2009-02-01 15:11
    * * * * * * *

    This one suffers again from my dislike of movies that feel like stageplays - it felt like one. The acting was solid - and deserved all the nominations; the fingernail scene was my very favorite.

    0.3
  • January, 2009

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSeven Pounds (2008) 7/10

    2009-01-30 15:10
    * * * * * * *

    Even from watching the trailer, you're left with almost nothing as to what's going on and the movie unfolds as slowly. The performances are good but the movie is a little difficult to decipher what's actually happening

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNick and Norah's Infinite Playlist (2008) 4/10

    2009-01-27 15:09
    * * * *

    25 minutes in, Heidi and I decided this movie was going nowhere and turned it off. A plotless day in the life of some college kids who are looking to get in on a secret concert and fix their love lives on the way. I’m past the age where this movie interests me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBody of Lies (2008) 7/10

    2009-01-26 15:09
    * * * * * * *

    An international action movie in the shadow of the Iraqi war. Portrays a grim (possible) reality where Americans use their Iraqi comrades to advance their cause and show little to no respect for the Iraqi people. I didn’t care for RC in this but LC did a fine job. A decent movie but not outstanding.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewW. (2008/I) 8/10

    2009-01-25 15:09
    * * * * * * * *

    I was expecting a much more negatively biased movie than I got here. While there certainly are a lot of things to condemn in his presidency, I was impressed with his seemingly genuine faith (portrayed slightly negatively, but still a major part of who he was) and his desire to do the best that he could for his country. Good performances all around.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSlumdog Millionaire (2008) 7/10

    2009-01-23 15:08
    * * * * * * *

    This movie is getting a lot of hype this year and although I did enjoy it, I found it oppressively depressing. The ending is happy and heart warming but the entirety of the movie is a collection of the most horrible things that could happen to a person from the slums; I wasn’t really prepared for that and thus didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I was expecting to.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review12 Angry Men (1957) 8/10

    2009-01-20 15:07
    * * * * * * * *

    An all time classic, currently 10th on the top 250 movies of all time so it deserved my attention. It’s exactly the type of movie that I don’t typically like (one-room theater dramas) but even with that working against it, it was a solid movie. It kept my attention and even had me stay up later than I wanted to in order to finish it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSmart People (2008) 7/10

    2009-01-15 15:07
    * * * * * * *

    Enjoyable movie. While watching the movie it feels relatively light-hearted but digging into the issues, it’s pretty depressing. Some great characters and side stories but I wasn’t thrilled with the good looking younger woman falling for the older, grumpy intellectual - other than that, not a bad film.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPineapple Express (2008) 5/10

    2009-01-11 15:06
    * * * * *

    This was really stupid. Not enough laughs and not enough action for this silly hybrid. I think a requirement to watching this is that you be stoned, which I imagine most people are.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRed (2008) 7/10

    2009-01-10 15:06
    * * * * * * *

    A bit of an odd revenge type movie. I’ll spoil a few things here but first, the revenge is for killing his dog, second, the avenger doesn’t want much for revenge, third, he’s unhappy when he gets revenge. A few well done characters in the movie give this a-typical revenge flick a slight recommend.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGonzo: The Life and Work of Dr. Hunter S. Thompson... 7/10

    2009-01-07 15:05
    * * * * * * *

    A good documentary about a really interesting character but nothing really groundbreaking. If you’re interested in this writer and his schenanigans, find this film; if not, find something else. Good quote from McGovern, “I’m fed up to the ears with old men dreaming up wars for young men to die in.”

    0.3
  • December, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 7/10

    2008-12-30 12:50
    * * * * * * *

    Season 5 - Not the greatest season but I did enjoy the constant tension with Jon Stewart over losing the show to him, the Sarah Silverman episodes, and Artie mixed up with Angie Dickinson.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEagle Eye (2008) 5/10

    2008-12-18 13:40
    * * * * *

    The story, the story. So far fetched and ill conceived that I couldn't believe anything else in the movie. The computer is ridiculous and as improbable as the hackers in Live Free or Die Hard, the things that it has control over is outrageous. The one scene that I did like was the eavesdropping through the coffee cup after a bunch of other things failed - that was a good scene.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBurn After Reading (2008) 8/10

    2008-12-17 12:00
    * * * * * * * *

    I typically love the Coens' movies and this one did not disappoint. The dark sense of humor, the characters with weird idiosyncrasies (biking, running, weight loss) and some funny ideas (CIA officer doesn't care about his cases at all, just wants them closed). BP was outstanding in his performance and made the movie much better than it would have been without him.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGhost Town (2008) 7/10

    2008-12-13 12:00
    * * * * * * *

    KW was great and RG plays himself as usual. If you like his humor you'll enjoy the movie otherwise it may be a bit of a miss. I enjoy it and therefore enjoyed the movie enough to recommend.

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>