If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • December, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJCVD (2008) 8/10

    2008-12-09 12:00
    * * * * * * * *

    This was a good movie! JCVD (the actor) is trying his hardest to break out of his stereotype and show his acting talent as well as his humanity - big win. I loved the concept for the story where the real world is busting into this movie and the star is playing himself. Good story, nice direction, limited (but good) action and very rewarding for those who like the old action guys.

    0.3
  • November, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKung Fu Panda: Secrets of the Furious Five (2008) (V) 6/10

    2008-11-14 13:42
    * * * * * *

    I was a little disappointed in this feature as lots of the main voices from the film weren't present and the animation style is totally different for the majority. Not a bad extra but not a great stand alone film.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDeath Defying Acts (2007) 6/10

    2008-11-14 08:18
    * * * * * *

    YYZ -> YVR - I caught half of this one on a flight and it didn't interest me enough to catch the latter half. I like the actors and I think the subject and time period are fascinating, but it just didn't grab me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMan on Wire (2008) 6/10

    2008-11-14 00:00
    * * * * * *

    YYZ -> YVR - This one is going to be up for all kinds of documentary awards but I didn't think it was that great. Sure, it was an interesting topic but I wasn't impressed with the way it was made. I thought that the juicy bits of the story actually came out at the very end of the movie and were barely explored where the planning and prank itself had too much screen time. Interesting characters and relationships but they weren't explored enough for me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRedbelt (2008) 8/10

    2008-11-14 00:00
    * * * * * * * *

    YYZ -> YVR - I liked this one. The story of a martial arts instructor who is in deep financial peril but won't go into competitive fighting to save himself because he doesn't believe in it; the ending is a little bit surprising and fulfilling. Good acting, dialogue and action make this a recommend.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGet Smart (2008) 5/10

    2008-11-11 00:02
    * * * * *

    YVR -> YYZ - This one met my low expectations. I came into this one not expecting anything good and it delivered; not funny and not fun - only got halfway through before the flight was (mercifully) over.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTraitor (2008) 7/10

    2008-11-11 00:01
    * * * * * * *

    International and espionage-y game of cat and mouse as the FBI try to track down a bomb supplier for Al-Qaeda. The twists were pretty easy to see coming but the story and acting were decent enough to get a mild recommend.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTaken (2008/I) 8/10

    2008-11-11 00:00
    * * * * * * * *

    Good Bourne-type action and a fun, modern story of one overly capable man trying to take down a whole human smuggling ring once his daughter gets caught. The trailer was awesome and the movie delivered.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe X Files: I Want to Believe (2008) 5/10

    2008-11-10 12:34
    * * * * *

    YVR -> YYZ - this was a really lame movie. Like they took the very worst X-Files TV episode and made it into a movie. Marginal extra-terrestrial stuff, almost nothing on the whole canon story and overall just sucky.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHellboy II: The Golden Army (2008) 7/10

    2008-11-06 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I'm not a huge fan of these characters, their superpowers or the story but the imagination in these movies is so fun that I've got to recommend it a little. So many interesting creatures make for such an interesting fictional world - that is fun.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWhere in the World Is Osama Bin Laden? (2008) 6/10

    2008-11-02 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I liked SSM but I thought the overall theme of this movie was overly simplistic - or maybe I just didn't like how the title didn't deliver for me - or maybe I'm tired of MS. Anyways, the spoiler - #1 it wouldn't matter if we'd catch Bin Laden - he's not that important to the terrorist organizations; #2 people throughout the world have the same basic values as Americans and are generally nice (except Hasidic Jews). That's it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTropic Thunder (2008) 6/10

    2008-11-01 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Pretty disappointing. The only real surprise was TC (who was hilarious) but the movie wasn't that funny and the action wasn't that amazing. BS holding his gun with his arm out was funny though and RDJ's performance was solid but nearly good enough to recommend.

    0.3
  • October, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKung Fu Panda (2008) 8/10

    2008-10-31 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Very enjoyable! The Kung Fu action was great, the story followed the tradition of Kung Fu movies really closely with a few mocking moments in there, "Master, I know you're supposed to be all secretive and Kung-Fu-y, but can you tell me what's going on?" - Funny. Nice voice work too.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWanted (2008) 8/10

    2008-10-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Better than I was expecting - A good movie with fun and intense action, an interesting and (mostly) plausible story. Not bad at all for a movie obviously geared entirely to the frat boys (maybe that's my inner frat-boy saying that though).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEnron: The Smartest Guys in the Room (2005) 7/10

    2008-10-15 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    An interesting look at some fascinating characters and their spiral into self-destruction. I liked the section where they were researching how far people would go to hurt someone if told by someone in authority that it was all ok - that was really interesting, the rest of the movie was kind of average.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPrince of Peace, God of War 7/10

    2008-10-13 09:12
    * * * * * * *

    Very heady/intellectual look from some bright minds as to how and why Christians today are so very FOR war when it seems that Jesus wasn't. The story at the end sealed the deal for me and was amazing to hear.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Day Break" (2006) 7/10

    2008-10-06 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    For a constrictive TV premise where a LA cop repeats his day over and over again, they were able to keep it surprisingly fresh. I did get tired of catching the bad guy only to realize it's his boss we really need to catch, that was tiring, but otherwise a decent show.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBigger Stronger Faster* (2008) 10/10

    2008-10-01 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    This is an amazing documentary filled with shades of gray on the subject of steroid use in America. Why people use it, why people are so upset at athletes over it with a very personal tandem story to bring it all together. Amazingly put together - a big shocker - I wasn't expecting anything nearly this good.

    0.3
  • September, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 7/10

    2008-09-26 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Season 4 - I liked the Artie all-nighter episode, any episode with BO in it and the Beck music number

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewYoung at Heart (2007) 7/10

    2008-09-23 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A good documentary but given the subject matter it could have been a LOT better. The movie was a little bit boring and dragged at parts; the subjects of the movie were great though as was their quest to entertain.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWALL·E (2008) 8/10

    2008-09-19 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I enjoyed this movie - pretty much as good as I was expecting with a lot more commentary on our society than I was expecting by the end. Entertaining fun with a robot who has a ton of personality.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Incredible Hulk (2008) 7/10

    2008-09-17 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Brain-dead action. It is well made and well acted but lacks depth (on purpose, I'm sure).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAli G, Aiii (2000) (V) 7/10

    2008-09-07 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    This movie of his slipped through the cracks so it was good to see some new Ali G stuff - the interview with the old guy that was dressed like him was the best part of the show.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Happening (2008) 5/10

    2008-09-06 12:34
    * * * * *

    What a disappointment - MNS just can't quite make movies like he used to. Annoying in almost every sense.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHancock (2008) 7/10

    2008-09-04 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Marginally better than I was expecting based on the trailer not giving too much away and the good performances. A pretty light action type movie where the special effects seemed ok but a little CG-y. The tension in the movie was very internalized and I would have liked to see more of it out there with a supervillian.

    0.3
  • August, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBaby Mama (2008) 9/10

    2008-08-27 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I do love TF comedy and this movie was great! Very clean - super funny and lots of memorable quotes. I liked that what the trailer gave away was covered quickly in the movie so we could get to new stuff. "I'm going to reward you with 5 minutes of uninterrupted eye contact." "Mr Ackerman?! That's my dog's name. Call me Rob."

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 8/10

    2008-08-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - Another good season. I liked that less time was spent on Larry's home life and more developing some of the other characters. Highlights were the episode for Artie and the Roseanne finale.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStreet Kings (2008) 7/10

    2008-08-13 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Not bad but not great. Dirty cop looking for some good karma to come his way by cleaning up the streets in a non-typical way.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewForgetting Sarah Marshall (2008) 7/10

    2008-08-12 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I have pretty high expectations for JA comedies and this one was decent. I liked the simplicity and decency of the main character and the pure British casual-ness of RB in every scene was awesome.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review10,000 BC (2008) 3/10

    2008-08-06 12:34
    * * *

    This movie was surprisingly uninspired. It had no interesting ideas of its own, lacked historical accuracy on a grand scale and was at times, just annoying. The old lady part was the worst and the interaction (across a vast distance!) for the finale threw this movie over the top for crappiness factor.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSurfwise (2007) 7/10

    2008-08-02 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    This movie well underperformed on my expectations. There was so much other interesting stuff I wanted to know about the family like how they actually made it work during their time on the road - the Dad was interesting but he came off mostly crazy and detached. Not a real recommend unless you're fascinated by the story.

    0.3
  • July, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Dark Knight (2008) 10/10

    2008-07-30 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    Oh yeah! What an amazing follow up to an amazing movie! The story is incredible and reasonably complex, the acting is great, and the villain is menacing in a goofy way, Batman is conflicted over his hero-morals and he yearns for something stable in his life. Gritty and tense without being gruesome - love it!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008) 7/10

    2008-07-27 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Again it seemed like the battles and makeup were too much the focus as opposed to the story and characters themselves. No complexity to the story makes it pretty plain. I did like the addition of the White Witch for a brief moment even though it wasn't in the original novel (I don't think).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRevolver (2005/I) 6/10

    2008-07-25 12:34
    * * * * * *

    A poorly acted version of many other similar (better) movies. Some of the action was ok, but it seemed like an open book for a thriller yet it still tried to confuse. Basically, I understood what was going on while I was watching it and it all made sense(ish) by the end but everything in between was trying to be overly complex and mysterious. Not cool.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSharkwater (2006) 8/10

    2008-07-23 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A really educational documentary on the true nature of sharks and the threat that man is to them. I liked the renegade conservation ship (you never knew what those guys were going to do), and the fact that he swims with sharks all the time. Great footage and flow to this documentary, I would have only changed the voice over work - his surfer-accent was quite annoying. savingsharks.com

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDoomsday (2008) 5/10

    2008-07-17 12:34
    * * * * *

    OK, I shouldn't have been expecting more, but I was. This movie never finds it's groove and lumbars around between inplausible events and storyline. Ridiculous.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLake of Fire (2006) 5/10

    2008-07-16 12:34
    * * * * *

    This was a good movie that got me to think about some of the issues around abortion but a couple of things ruined it. The extremely graphic content of a late term abortion, the all black and white film, a little bit of fear mongering and the overall length was way too long. I liked that it was relatively neutral in its stance and that in addition to the extreme ends they also had some voices of reason (Norm Chomsky was great!)

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 8/10

    2008-07-13 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 2 - More of Artie is always a laugh. John Ritter and Gene Siskel were awesome and finding a replacement host for the show after his was a great episode.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBatman: Gotham Knight (2008) (V) 6/10

    2008-07-03 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Felt like an Animatrix for Batman. The consistency of the Batman voice was a little bit weird when the Batman looked so radically different, I may have gone with a different voice on each different style.

    0.3
  • June, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFlawless (2007) 6/10

    2008-06-30 12:34
    * * * * * *

    It's no fun to see a heist movie and constantly be one step ahead of the plot. I felt that this one was too slow and didn't offer enough interesting twists. BTW - a recently discovered pet peeve of mine; showing the ending of the movie and then flashing back to tell the whole story. There are times when it could work but this one was about the worst I've ever seen.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Hammer (2007) 8/10

    2008-06-29 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    This was a lot of fun! AC has a lot of charisma, the movie is almost squeaky clean and still a lot of fun. The story is pretty simple, the humor is really funny and it's a real pleasure to watch.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAnnie Hall (1977) 6/10

    2008-06-28 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I think it's official that I'm not a WA fan. It was hard for me to see what all the fuss was about other than just seeing more of WA. I did think that the ending was good and quite brave but otherwise there was nothing that I liked too much.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewI'm Not There. (2007) 5/10

    2008-06-25 12:34
    * * * * *

    This was painful. I thought the performances were very interesting and I wanted to see more of them but I just couldn't bear to watch the actually movie to get to them. I think that I had to be high or something to watch this.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewVantage Point (2008) 7/10

    2008-06-24 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Nothing groundbreaking but a mild recommend. The plot gets pretty convoluted as we see the president's life taken at a public gathering in some foreign country (I can't remember). You have to forgo disbelief for a bunch of the scenes and the overall plot seems a little soft and convenient but it's not too bad.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Mist (2007) 7/10

    2008-06-22 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I really liked the scenes with MGH in the grocery store, she was incredible and her character was so well written - SK really knows how to write a good villian. I grew tired of the mist creatures and, brave as it was, I did not like the ending.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review21 (2008) 8/10

    2008-06-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    This was a fun movie - a few slight twists and turns made it a little bit interesting while keeping it reasonably realistic. Based on true-ish events, real Blackjack busting methods and the first movie I've seen that references making a Printed Circuit Board make this a winner.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 8/10

    2008-06-17 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - Good bunch of characters and an interesting show means I'm going to season 2

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIn Bruges (2008) 9/10

    2008-06-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    This movie was outright hilarious! The first few minutes have a lot of swearing and you wonder how it'll be funny but it really is. Attacking with a bottle, possibility of dying in Bruges and all the dwarf stuff is hilarious.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShine a Light (2008) 5/10

    2008-06-13 12:34
    * * * * *

    LAX -> YVR - Only got halfway through - I love the Rolling Stones but concert videos are an incredible bore to me - bleh.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDefinitely, Maybe (2008) 6/10

    2008-06-11 12:34
    * * * * * *

    An interesting way to tell a romantic comedy (romcom) story, starting from the divorce and working back. Good actors all around but it's not something I would recommend to many other people because who am I to recommend a romcom.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBe Kind Rewind (2008) 5/10

    2008-06-07 12:34
    * * * * *

    This was dreadful. An uber-talented director and some really talented actors fall flat in this one. I thought the performances were awful, the characters drove me bonkers and the story seemed like it was stuck in quicksand. I did like the shooting in reverse at nighttime though - that was funny.

    0.3
  • May, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNational Treasure: Book of Secrets (2007) 6/10

    2008-05-30 12:34
    * * * * * *

    To be certain, this movie was not made for me but I watched it with my nephews. Not as bad as it could be but it certainly does require the suspension of belief. If you liked the first one, you'll probably go for this one too.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBefore the Devil Knows You're Dead (2007) 7/10

    2008-05-29 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    This movie is all about the performances. The story is draining and the trailer really gives away the big parts of the movie leaving you without much extra to wait for. A mild recommend for the great acting.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Forbidden Kingdom (2008) 7/10

    2008-05-26 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    The combination of Jet Li and Jackie Chan is a great thing. The movie suffered a little from being made in English for a Western audience but still was pretty decent.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRambo (2008) 7/10

    2008-05-24 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Subdued isn't the word I normally think of when it comes to Rambo, but this movie was. Not too over the top and with some good action (which is not subdued at all!). It was also kept really short which was a good thing as it left you wanting (just a little bit) more.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCharlie Wilson's War (2007) 8/10

    2008-05-16 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    YOW -> YVR - this was actually really good. I was expecting a pile of junk from the trailer but the performances were awesome and the characters being portrayed had real depth and flaws. Nice work!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJumper (2008) 6/10

    2008-05-16 12:34
    * * * * * *

    YOW -> YVR - Dreadful movie with one of the worst endings since Super Mario Brothers, it's unbelievable that HC still gets work.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIron Man (2008) 9/10

    2008-05-15 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I like the new blend of semi-realism that's coming to super hero movies where they're supposed to seem plausible. I thought it was done well in this movie, the acting was great, the story was pretty typical but still fun. Good times.

    0.3
  • April, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Golden Compass (2007) 6/10

    2008-04-20 12:34
    * * * * * *

    This was the first part of a longer series of movies and for that reason, the ending just hung there. It's pretty gutsy to make a first part movie all the while, not knowing whether you'll make the later ones and this franchise doesn't appear to be able to make it to #2. That fact alone is unsettling but the movie wasn't even that great otherwise.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHorton Hears a Who! (2008) 8/10

    2008-04-20 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    The animation was true to Seuss and very pretty to watch. I had a good time watching this and enjoyed the monkeys with the bananas the most, the voiceover work was pretty good as well.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Bank Job (2008) 9/10

    2008-04-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    One of the biggest surprises I've had at a movie in awhile. It starts off like a very light heist movie and mid way takes a turn for the darker and more ominous - I love how the characters handle this. Based on a true story, this is one fascinating heist; well acted and directed. Some of the material may not suit everyone, btw.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewUnknown (2006) 5/10

    2008-04-09 12:34
    * * * * *

    This had so many elements of a great movie for me - thriller genre, memory loss, tons of great actors but it just didn't make it for me. Felt too much like a stageplay and not enough like a movie. The twists felt purposely twisty and didn't unfold in a good story telling method, nice try but not a recommend.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAtonement (2007) 5/10

    2008-04-06 12:34
    * * * * *

    Until the ending, I was astonished that this received so many awards nominations - I was appalled by the boring-ness of this movie and couldn't wait for it to pick up some pace. At the end everything came together nicely but the payoff was not nearly worth the price I had to pay to get there.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Afro Samurai" (2007) 6/10

    2008-04-06 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Reminded me very much of Ninjai with the extreme swordfighting gore and also of Samurai Jack for the techno future vision. If you like Samurai cartoons, this one is a bit more adults but decently made if that's your style.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCloverfield (2008) 7/10

    2008-04-05 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I was content with this piece of entertainment that was filmed in the style of Blair Witch about a Godzilla like monster attacking NYC. I enjoyed the story, the monster was cool and the style was alright even though I wouldn't want it all the time.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWalk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story (2007) 8/10

    2008-04-01 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Funnier than I thought it was going to be for a spoof. It certainly had aspects of a spoof but it wasn't a complete send off. There were lots of comedic bits that were really funny and the songs were really good. Not for everyone though...

    0.3
  • March, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAway from Her (2006) 8/10

    2008-03-31 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A really good movie on the effects of Alzheimer's on the unaffected spouse. Covers the whole range of emotions from the beginning through. I liked the very Canadian feel of this movie and the (resulting) slow pace. Good characters although I don't think that JC deserved an Oscar nom for her role.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSeraphim Falls (2006) 8/10

    2008-03-26 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Much better than I was expecting - basically a whole movie of one guy and his band of hired men tracking another man. Very realistic in its depiction and very enjoyable to see the characters try to stay alive through tough situations. Pretty simple plot but the ending wasn't quite what I was hoping for - decent though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBrokeback Mountain (2005) 8/10

    2008-03-25 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Getting to be a bit of a classic already, this movie is pretty solid. It's all about character and relationships and I think that it does a good job of portraying those in the time and place where they're not accepted at all. You probably know what you're getting with this movie already and it delivers good performances and decent character tension to keep it interesting.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAlpha Dog (2006) 8/10

    2008-03-24 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I really liked this movie more than I thought I would. Plays out like tragic Shakespeare where you can see the unfortunate ending coming the whole movie and all the missed attempts to get out of the situation seem devastating. Very well acted and directed in a good direction make this a good show. Possibly a bit coarse for many...

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>