If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • March, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIn the Shadow of the Moon (2007) 7/10

    2008-03-23 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A documentary that's most interesting for the cast of astronauts that it was able to assemble but other than that, it's a pretty basic documentary. Nothing to make it stand out too much and not a lot of really new and interesting information. If you're interested in the Apollo missions though this will be worth your time.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThere Will Be Blood (2007) 8/10

    2008-03-21 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    It's hard to really love this movie outside of the amazing performance by DDL. I thought it was well written, directed and especially acted and for those reasons I'd recommend it but I found it hard to connect with the heart of the movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWristcutters: A Love Story (2006) 7/10

    2008-03-20 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A cute take on a tragic subject. Suicide committers awake in a new world that's devoid of the happiness from the regular world. Some people form a romantic bond and try to end their misery. Interesting idea and pretty well made although it could have been better.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSouthland Tales (2006) 1/10

    2008-03-20 12:34
    *

    The worst movie that I've seen in memory. Wasting review words on this is such a shame but this movie sucks really badly - stay far away.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewInto the Wild (2007) 10/10

    2008-03-16 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    Ohh yeah! An amazing movie that has a perfect balance of storytelling, acting and character in it. I loved the range of characters in the story, the huge heart of the movie and would highly recommend this for almost anyone.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNext (2007) 6/10

    2008-03-15 12:34
    * * * * * *

    A decent movie but really just an effective waste of time. The basic premise was just a little too much for me to handle and even though it was handles pretty lightly, this isn't something I could recommend.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEnchanted (2007) 7/10

    2008-03-14 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    ORD -> YUL without sound. A giant mash up of all the previous Disney movies into one big one seemed like a really fun idea. I think the songs were a big hit so it was too bad I couldn't hear them but it appeared to be a decent movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAugust Rush (2007) 6/10

    2008-03-07 12:34
    * * * * * *

    YUL -> ORD without sound. I think this movie was better without sound than it would have been had I been able to hear it. It seemed a little too Hallmarkish for me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBee Movie (2007) 8/10

    2008-03-03 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I love JS humor and this movie was ripe full of it. Lots of interesting quips, some, "didja ever notice?" and other great observations plastered inside a decent storyline. A few unusual direction choices for an animated movie that put the focus more on the comedy than the story but I went for it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHitman (2007) 6/10

    2008-03-01 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Seemed like it was trying as hard to get its R rating as it was to be loyal to the videogamers. I wasn't a huge fan of this one although it was watchable.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHappy Feet (2006) 4/10

    2008-03-01 12:34
    * * * *

    This movie was really dreadful. A rip off of good music done up to the recently popularized penguin dancing to it. The Mexican penguins were funny but the base of the movie was really bad.

    0.3
  • February, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe King of Kong (2007) 10/10

    2008-02-28 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    Mmm, my favorite movie of the year so far, I defy you to watch this movie and not be rooting for the characters you see. Amazing documentary making! There are some interesting supplemental things that you can read up on after watching the movie. Twin Galaxies reply, Filmmakers reply. Awesome - go watch this!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewI Am Legend (2007) 8/10

    2008-02-24 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    It's the Castaway of zombie movies. I really enjoyed the movie, the first half was amazing in it's hiding of great technical achievements in making NY look barren. The second half gave us a good modern zombie film with some great acting and a decent storyline.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Darjeeling Limited (2007) 7/10

    2008-02-22 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    The WA schtick is getting a little tired with me, funny because I think I'm the only one who really liked him who's getting tired. The line, "Can we all agree..." was pretty funny as were a few others but all together I wasn't a huge fan.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRun Fatboy Run (2007) 8/10

    2008-02-19 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A solid comedy with lots of interesting characters and lots of cliche characters but all together, some good dialogue and a familiar story seen once again.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMichael Clayton (2007) 9/10

    2008-02-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    The rapid, difficult to comprehend story telling reminded me of Syriana where the plot can be followed without too much difficulty but it's not just given to you easily - there are lots of high level conversations that are tough to grab the jist from. Good performances though and an enjoyable law thriller.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review16 Blocks (2006) 7/10

    2008-02-07 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Not a bad little action flick. I grew tired of the MD character, but I think that was the point and it was weird to see BW as a completely washed up cop. I did enjoy many things about the ending though - worth checking out.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJuno (2007) 9/10

    2008-02-04 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I really enjoyed this movie although the snarky dialogue can grow a bit tiring. I liked the characters, the unexpected change in one character at the end and the high school romance. Interesting and enjoyable movie with huge heart.

    0.3
  • January, 2008

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJacob's Ladder (1990/I) 7/10

    2008-01-31 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    An older thriller movie that I saw recommendations for from many of the other movies that I like. I did enjoy the movie but the twist ending has been done a few times (probably since this came out) so I saw it coming. It was weird to have a moment in the movie where I knew the dialogue perfectly, because of a Radiohead song that uses it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Brothers Solomon (2007) 5/10

    2008-01-30 12:34
    * * * * *

    I have no one to blame but myself for watching this. While not a horrible movie, it's just not very good unless you're really in the mood for the two silliest characters imaginable doing ridiculous things, that is...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewElizabeth: The Golden Age (2007) 6/10

    2008-01-29 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Not a bad movie but not really great either. The war scenes at the end were so abysmal which leads me to a non-recommend but the royal drama and the acting was quite good. If you liked the first one, you'll probably enjoy this one though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCaché (2005) 4/10

    2008-01-28 12:34
    * * * *

    To me, this film was about the mystery of the tapes and on that level it disappointed me greatly. As a commentary on social responsibility it had good points but I was so frustrated by the lack of care given to the main drawing feature of this movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert... 9/10

    2008-01-26 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    This was a deliberately paced atypical western and I loved it. I really enjoyed the narration, soundtrack and cinematography which didn't seem to fit what you'd except from the genre but I thought that it worked wonderfully. It is a long and slow paced movie but well worth it for those who like films.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEagle vs Shark (2007) 6/10

    2008-01-18 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I love JC from FOTC who stars in this movie pre-FOTC but I think that this was a big miss. The humor is so quirky that it is borders not even being humor. There were a few lines that we retained from the show (Horse, Damn) but I can't suggest that anyone go and rent this.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Ten (2007) 5/10

    2008-01-17 12:34
    * * * * *

    I only saw the first hour to know that I didn't need to see the next. A movie with short skits each based on one of the Ten Commandments. The movie has so precious little to do with the big ten outside of being a very loose theme (aka gimmick) which I found a bit of a turnoff. Don't know if the last half was awesome, let me know if it was...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBridge to Terabithia (2007) 8/10

    2008-01-16 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I really liked this movie - almost enough to give it a 9 - maybe I should have. I liked that it was a fantasy movie that I could relate to and the big question in the movie was one that I constantly ask. The performances were good throughout and the story was great. Seek this out!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Kingdom (2007) 8/10

    2008-01-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Political Iraq/Oil movies are usually not my idea of a good time but this one tried to remain as neatly non-political as it could (which I enjoyed) and didn't offer easy solutions to solving our problems in the Mid-East (which I also enjoyed). Acting and story were good but the action got a bit-Ramboish in the sense that these guys were combat experts and invincible to enemy fire.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Heartbreak Kid (2007) 6/10

    2008-01-09 12:34
    * * * * * *

    There were some good laughs but a bit dirty to be a couples movie so we only made it about 1/2 way through.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRenaissance (2006) 6/10

    2008-01-08 12:34
    * * * * * *

    This movie attracted my attention for the new visuals it was using where the whole movie is in high contract, motion capture animated black and white. I thought the concept was neat but I really got tired of looking at it after about 10 minutes; then the subtitles were really hard to read because the background is so similar (audio is in French) that I gave up and FF'd through the rest of the movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLucky Number Slevin (2006) 7/10

    2008-01-08 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I'm not a big fan of the noir-style films of which I would say this belongs to but the enjoyable twist at the end of film and the overall quality of the movie made it acceptable for me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShoot 'Em Up (2007) 5/10

    2008-01-06 12:34
    * * * * *

    I had no expectations on this movie and what it was, I didn't want. A way over the top action movie with over the top dialog, acting and stunts. Not my style.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Nanny Diaries (2007) 9/10

    2008-01-06 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I had really low expectations for this film and it really exceeded them quite wonderfully. Basically, if you liked, Devil Wears Prada, there's a good chance that you'll like this film because they have many remarkable similarities. I felt that this one had legitimate dialog, avoided the high-jinxes and had some fun with the whole anthropology angle without overdoing it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Tin Man" (2007) 6/10

    2008-01-05 12:34
    * * * * * *

    The production on this really felt second rate. An interesting concept of having Alice in Wonderland but with a Sci-Fi spin - I liked the idea but it didn't work for a whole miniseries. Some weak acting and poor dialog so not really recommended.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDeep Water (2006) 8/10

    2008-01-04 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A documentary about a single manned around the world yacht race in the 60's where a non-sailor enter, decides he can't finish and attempts to cheat to finish the race. Some good surprises and enough material to really warrant the feature length.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShrek the Third (2007) 6/10

    2008-01-03 12:34
    * * * * * *

    It just didn't seem that funny, is what I found myself thinking. I wish there were more funny parts that made me laugh and less goofing around with a real story. I do always enjoy the musical interludes though...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWar (2007) 7/10

    2008-01-01 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    This one was going to get a failing grade when a plot twist at the end that I didn't see coming but totally worked for me won this a small recommend. There are some obvious holes but the action is good and the story is almost worth following.

    0.3
  • December, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the review3:10 to Yuma (2007) 8/10

    2007-12-31 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A solid western. You don't see a lot of good westerns these days but this is a good one. You'll need to stretch your imagination a bit to put yourself in the villains shoes but otherwise a good ride.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStardust (2007) 7/10

    2007-12-30 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Maybe my expectations were a bit high but this one didn't connect with me as much as I thought that it could. I didn't like RDN's character although I realize he was playing opposite-typecast on purpose and I felt like it was edited weirdly where it seemed like a big chunk of movie was just left out at certain points.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEastern Promises (2007) 9/10

    2007-12-29 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    This was a great mob movie. A regular family gets involved with the mob where they find danger and some attraction. Amazing acting by VM and an all around great story make this a big winner.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBlood Diamond (2006) 8/10

    2007-12-27 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A really intense movie that wrenched at your heart to save the plight of the Africans and not to buy that big diamond ring. I imagine that's one extravagance that's costing others too much but that there's many others as well. Anyways, nice acting, good story but very intense (not for the faint of heart).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIdiocracy (2006) 6/10

    2007-12-09 12:34
    * * * * * *

    A movie where everyone in the film is supposed to be the dumbest person alive doesn't really inspire great writing and normally leaves about a thousand plot holes so I wasn't a huge fan but LW saved it from being a complete mess.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPaprika (2006) 7/10

    2007-12-09 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    This one was kind of bizarre but colorful and fun. The worlds created by these animators still fascinate me, so that's good.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSuperbad (2007) 7/10

    2007-12-05 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I liked this movie but didn't love it. I have pretty high expectations from Rogen because of his other really funny movies but this one was overly crude and wasn't quite the movie I was hoping for. It'll be a huge hit with the high school crowd but it missed on me. Still, McLovin was pretty funny stuff...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe I Inside (2003) 5/10

    2007-12-04 12:34
    * * * * *

    I have pretty high expectations when it comes to mind bending thrillers and I was not satisfied with this one. The direction wasn't so great, there were so many things off with the plot and all the twists were there just to confuse and not enhance. Reminded me very much of Stay which also wasn't great.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWaitress (2007) 8/10

    2007-12-01 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I thought that the characters were given real depth and acted amazingly - great performances and dialogue. The bad husband was kind of over the top and some messages were a bit conflicting but a good story and great acting.

    0.3
  • November, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRatatouille (2007) 8/10

    2007-11-24 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Truth be told, I fell asleep during part of this movie because I was super tired, but it is still quite a good film. Quality animation, voice work and a great story - well worth seeing.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSurf's Up (2007) 7/10

    2007-11-21 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    SFO -> YUL - It was surprising how much this animated movie seemed like a real surf movie - it had the heart. A good surf movie ripe full of all the cliche's but well executed and great visuals.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOnce (2006) 8/10

    2007-11-21 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    SFO -> YUL - A heartwarming story that lets you join two lonely people as they meet and get to know each other. This new type of format to the romantic comedy felt fresh and enjoyable to me. At times I wished for a better quality picture...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNo Country for Old Men (2007) 9/10

    2007-11-19 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    A really good movie with a great villain, good tension and a great flow. Amazing characters, lots to say wrt the state of society, and deftly directed. The story is entirely fresh and devoid of the corniness that typically fills this kind of movie. A bit grotesque at points but a solid recommend.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBeowulf (2007) 8/10

    2007-11-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    This movie was a lot of fun to see in IMAX 3D. The 3D-ness is a lot of fun and I felt that it added to the film. Great special effects, good story and pretty good acting (the 3D-ization of some characters took some great subtleties away). I had a fun time!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWe Are Marshall (2006) 7/10

    2007-11-17 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Kind of a paint by numbers typical movie but there were a few things that I liked especially: the replacements weren't extraordinarily bad, the father seemed like the same character throughout, and protaganist characters had obvious flaws (inability to think outside football, insecurities, etc) that added to their character.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFast Track (2006) 5/10

    2007-11-11 12:34
    * * * * *

    This was one sloppy script that could only have been imagined to appeal to the lowest common denominator - lots of great talent wasted.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHot Rod (2007) 7/10

    2007-11-11 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Classic SNL movie, except that I didn't feel that it dragged too much. Funny concepts like, wanting to heal your step father so you can beat the crap out of him - that was a good running joke.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Simpsons Movie (2007) 7/10

    2007-11-07 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    The Simpsons have done so much already with the TV show that it's hard to think of something bigger to do. The animation is more detailed with more shadowing, backgrounds that move independently, etc; but really, it's a good episode that goes long (which is a good thing!)

    0.3
  • October, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Bourne Ultimatum (2007) 8/10

    2007-10-30 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I like the Bourne series and this one didn't disappoint. I liked that the ending was a touch unexpected and revealed some interesting things about the character that I thought were good. Great action and easy to follow - good times.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFrailty (2001) 7/10

    2007-10-16 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Whoo - this is one freaky movie! I think this is classified as horror although I remember very little blood in it. Basically the story of two boys and their Dad, who wakes up one day and says he had a dream where an angel told him he had to kill demons (family activity!). The two boys are both affected by this very differently.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEvan Almighty (2007) 5/10

    2007-10-08 12:34
    * * * * *

    What a crappy story! I had high expectations coming off of the much superior Bruce Almighty which I think had interesting things to say, but this movie had nothing to say. The story is preposterous which makes God look ridiculous and what's the point of it all - sheesh!

    0.3
  • September, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOcean's Thirteen (2007) 7/10

    2007-09-30 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Back to the classic. This one is up there with the first one and much better than the second. A fun ride with a bunch of acting superstars having a lot of fun on screen - good times.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLive Free or Die Hard (2007) 8/10

    2007-09-26 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    This was pretty much a carbon copy of all of the other Die Hard movies which isn't quite as fresh of a concept as it used to be. Although I got tired of the hacker goofballs who can do everything, the silly Fighter Jet - Truck sequence; there were some good things, like the acrobatic bad guy and that the pace of the movie was quick.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTransformers (2007) 9/10

    2007-09-25 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I really liked this movie - I didn't feel as stupid after watching it as I thought I would. It had great characters and dialog, it didn't take itself too seriously but at the same time contained the best special effects I've ever seen. Felt a bit like a kids movie but still, good acting and story all around.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIce Age: The Meltdown (2006) 7/10

    2007-09-17 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I'm not a huge fan of the Ice Age series (the squirrel creature is my favorite by far) and this one was ok but not great.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKnocked Up (2007) 9/10

    2007-09-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    OK, so the humor is pretty crude but there were a number of times I just couldn't contain my laughter, it was so funny (butterfly kisses especially) and at the same time really touching with legitimate characters. Also contains the longest and probably most accurate birth in a major movie, which is a good thing?

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review28 Weeks Later (2007) 7/10

    2007-09-09 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I really don't like this silly horror movies and I don't think that I would really recommend this movie unless you liked the first one. While not as good as the original, it is pretty high energy and nerve wracking with a few surprises.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRocky Balboa (2006) 8/10

    2007-09-02 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    OK, so this was a lot better than I thought it would be. I wasn't expecting much but this seemed like such an accurate portrayal of the future of the Rocky character. Still kind and compassionate and also very driven. Great acting, good story; I didn't love the HBO aspect of the fight at the end to make it seem more real, but a fine film.

    0.3
  • August, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the review4: Rise of the Silver Surfer (2007) 5/10

    2007-08-26 12:34
    * * * * *

    OK, so this is a movie you'll feel stupid for watching and possibly a little upset that you wasted your time on it. Some special effects are pretty good but man, does this ever have poor dialogue and a really dumb story. Waste your time here with caution.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFlushed Away (2006) 9/10

    2007-08-23 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Pixar aren't the only ones making great 3D animation movies as this one is top notch! The side characters are really funny and the movie on a whole is really well done - easily recommended!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewApocalypto (2006) 7/10

    2007-08-20 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I like that this movie is full of unknowns and about a time and place that we see very few movies about - it was interesting in that respect but I just didn't love the movie. I'm not sure why it didn't stick with me, but it just didn't.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSunshine (2007) 5/10

    2007-08-18 12:34
    * * * * *

    A space opera without the singing. Really slow and more philosophical than I like my movies - this was a big waste of time for me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Falcon and the Snowman (1985) 8/10

    2007-08-17 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A classic movie about some government worker (during the Cold War) who is disillusioned with his country's part in the world scene and decides to start selling some of the secret things that he knows about to the Russians to help even things out - but where to start? Good characters and great acting.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLittle Children (2006) 8/10

    2007-08-12 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A little slice of suburban life where a lonely mother and uninitiated father spend all their daytime together and make a pseudo-daytime relationship away from their distant spouses. Good performances and an interesting story make this good viewing, the story with the pedophile was tough to integrate with this and could have been better with something lighter.

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>