If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • August, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewInland Empire (2006) 7/10

    2007-08-12 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I'm a huge fan of David Lynch's wacky movies but this one felt like way too much of a retread and not enough of an original movie. Not nearly enough here to recommend this for anyone.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMr. Brooks (2007) 6/10

    2007-08-10 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Funny, but I couldn't connect with a movie about a sympathetic millionaire serial killer with a twisted dark side. I didn't understand what this movie was trying to say to me other than what it presented and the ending was unsatisfying.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Lookout (2007) 9/10

    2007-08-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Stellar movie with a great story, deeply drawn characters and an interesting plot to drive the movie. Not too many tricks in this movie, just great storytelling, acting and straightforward direction. A strong recommend.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHuo Yuan Jia (2006) 9/10

    2007-08-05 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I wasn't expecting a lot to think about from a Jet Li movie but this was one of his best movies that I've ever seen. Gives a lot to think about for those interested in pacifism, community, and non-violence. Based on the life of the real Wushu creator Huo Yuanjia

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBreach (2007) 7/10

    2007-08-04 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A movie that lives off tension and fear of getting caught. An interesting story and look into the workings of the FBI but not great enough to really recommend. Strong performances by all the leads make this movie better than it should be.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShooter (2007/I) 8/10

    2007-08-04 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I enjoy Mark Wahlberg movies and this one kinda sucked me in. It was a lot more political than I thought it would be but all together a good action movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTMNT (2007) 6/10

    2007-08-02 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I was a big fan of the cartoon and this one was a big disappointment. What's up with no Shredder?? It's a cartoon, man - it's not like the original actor was unavailable, c'mon.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHot Fuzz (2007) 8/10

    2007-08-01 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    This was a lot of fun. A new kind of spoof that isn't overly ridiculous - it's a legitimate movie unto itself and while it's reveling in the genre you can feel it poking fun at it at the same time.

    0.3
  • July, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMan cheng jin dai huang jin jia (2006) 7/10

    2007-07-25 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Chinese Shakespeare tragedy - well done but so fatally doomed.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewZodiac (2007/I) 8/10

    2007-07-22 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    An interesting serial killer movie where it focuses more on the unraveling lives of the people investigating than the crimes itself. A bit long in total but a good film.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewInvincible (2006) 8/10

    2007-07-21 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A rise from nothing true story sports movie - this one was done quite well and had me really rooting for the main character; I'm not a huge fan of the genre but this was done well.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewWho Killed the Electric Car? (2006) 6/10

    2007-07-20 12:34
    * * * * * *

    What a crappy documentary - this was more like propaganda. Either there wasn't nearly enough story to carry a movie, it was way too long, or they injected way too much of their opinion but I didn't like this movie. I agree with the overall concept but the movie was crap.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBlades of Glory (2007) 6/10

    2007-07-20 12:34
    * * * * * *

    DEN -> IAD - The WF comedies are really starting to go downhill and lose their relevance, this one is certainly part of the downhill experience. Not much in here to recommend.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewPremonition (2007/I) 7/10

    2007-07-16 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    YUL -> DFW - I give this movie points for a decent ending, but until that point I really wasn't loving it. Overly repetitive and we feel that we know what's going on before the main character does which isn't a good sign.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGhost Rider (2007) 5/10

    2007-07-13 12:34
    * * * * *

    I watched this whole movie at between 2X and 8X so it was kind of a blur. I was expecting little and got it!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDas Leben der Anderen (2006) 8/10

    2007-07-13 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A solid, complex movie about the communist side of Germany pre-wall-fall. Great character development, and direction to make us feel part of the whole situation. A well made film.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Battlestar Galactica" (2004) 7/10

    2007-07-08 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - This season wasn't as innovative and risky as the other two but still pretty good entertainment.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Hoax (2006) 8/10

    2007-07-07 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    It was a lot of fun to go along with this guy and his scam

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewShut Up & Sing (2006) 8/10

    2007-07-01 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A good documentary about how a little comment they made at a concert in London turned into a media sensation and dogged the Dixie Chicks for a long time; well, until they proved to be right about W and all is forgiven (that part wasn't in the movie!)

    0.3
  • June, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the review"Battlestar Galactica" (2004) 9/10

    2007-06-30 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 2 - Two stellar plot lines make this season better than the first - we'll see how the third season fares shortly.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Battlestar Galactica" (2004) 8/10

    2007-06-17 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - Good first season held the success of the mini-series quite well

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSicko (2007) 10/10

    2007-06-15 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    As a big MM fan, it's no surprise that I like this one. It's so shocking that the US hasn't got full health care for its citizens yet and pretty much every other developed country does. It's what's keeping me from moving there - for real!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBattlestar Galactica (2003) (TV) 9/10

    2007-06-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Mini Series - This is the mini series that got me hooked on the show. A great concept that eventually got made into a full out TV show.

    0.3
  • May, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMidnight Cowboy (1969) 7/10

    2007-05-22 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I started this show years ago and was just able to finish it recently. The story of a Texan who moves to NY and befriends a sickly local and they try to scrape by on the tough streets. Some classic moments that have been copied in many movies and great performances make this a mild recommendation.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"30 Rock" (2006) 3/10

    2007-05-21 12:34
    * * *

    Season 1 - The 1st season is over! I'm so happy! I hate this show, it's the worst tv show I've ever been hooked on. Somebody, throw soda at me if I somehow get into season 2

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSpider-Man 3 (2007) 7/10

    2007-05-07 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A big disappointment after the first two but still pretty good. I liked Venom a lot and could have seen a lot more of him, some awful parts which made this movie a lot worse were the American Flag, the newscaster at the end fight and the last conversation between Spidey and Sandman - ridiculous! Otherwise, good special effects, etc.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Office" (2005) 9/10

    2007-05-04 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - The 3rd season is over! This show is still pretty good but not the best sitcom on tv anymore. The Jim and Pam center of the show is being diluted.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMusic and Lyrics (2007) 6/10

    2007-05-04 12:34
    * * * * * *

    DFW -> YUL - I've forgotten so much about this movie which is probably why I didn't rate it too highly.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Painted Veil (2006) 5/10

    2007-05-01 12:34
    * * * * *

    JFK -> SAN - This one really missed me. Granted I think that the target audience is exactly not me, but I didn't care for this story at all and nothing else was able to impress me.

    0.3
  • April, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the review"30 Rock" (2006) 8/10

    2007-04-26 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - The 1st season is over! - My new favorite comedy sitcom. Well written and acted across the board.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDeja Vu (2006) 7/10

    2007-04-22 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I have a pretty hard time accepting time traveling movies because they're usually not very well thought out. I'm not sure that this one is much different but good performances and a sense that it was having fun with the idea instead of taking it so seriously made it better.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewOrdinary People (1980) 8/10

    2007-04-13 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    YWG -> YUL - A big little drama that won a lot of awards when in came out. Good, subtle acting for characters that seem really authentic. Addresses the rifts that remain in a family after the older son dies, leaving a confused younger son, a wife who can no longer relate to her husband and a husband who's trying to hold it all together.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewVolver (2006/I) 7/10

    2007-04-10 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    YUL -> YWG - This certainly was not the movie that I was expecting, much more of a drama. PC can act pretty well in her native language and she looks quite good in the film also.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Holiday (2006) 5/10

    2007-04-09 12:34
    * * * * *

    The only story in this of any interest was with KW and the old man - that was interesting but everything else was so forgettable.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Pursuit of Happyness (2006) 7/10

    2007-04-08 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A warm hearted movie about a man down on his luck who strives and works hard to get himself a career on Wall Street. The poor guy has everything bad happen to him but maintains his drive - what resolve!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLady in the Water (2006) 5/10

    2007-04-05 12:34
    * * * * *

    I don't know exactly what made this movie so bad but it was awful! It had some nice concepts like community; but this movie just sucked.

    0.3
  • March, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Quick and the Dead (1995) 6/10

    2007-03-30 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I only saw the last part of this movie and there are a lot of big actors in it, and a big director - a cast like that today would cost a fortune!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSouvenir of Canada (2005) 6/10

    2007-03-30 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Interesting documentary about what is unique about us as Canadians but it went long and couldn't hold my interest.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFour Weddings and a Funeral (1994) 6/10

    2007-03-29 12:34
    * * * * * *

    This movie was abysmal! There was NO chemistry between the leads and most of the rest of the cast came out pretty flat.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStranger Than Fiction (2006) 8/10

    2007-03-27 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A bit of a trippy movie in concept but quite well grounded in execution. I liked the new ideas in the story as well as a unexpected romance which was heartfelt.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Devil Wears Prada (2006) 8/10

    2007-03-26 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Whew - I haven't written up any reviews in 6 months! Anyways, this movie was really a lot better than it probably should have been. Well acted throughout and an interesting ending that isn't too obvious.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Break-Up (2006) 8/10

    2007-03-22 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    High marks for bravery in the romantic comedy genre and working on a couple that is starting the melt down. Handled comedicly and seriously at once with a good flow. The leads were good but I didn't like JF as the main buddy, I thought that last conversation was creepy and didn't serve a purpose in this movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLife of Brian (1979) 8/10

    2007-03-22 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A really funny Monty Python movie second only to their SFTHG. I had seen this a really long time ago and the only jokes that I remembered were Biggus Dickus and How much do you hate the Romans? Lots of other funny jokes plus an LSD space trip in the middle.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMou gaan dou II (2003) 8/10

    2007-03-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A Japanese Chinese prequel to the original Infernal Affairs (source material for the Departed). Quite a slow movie and tough to follow at the beginning but I did get the jist of what was going on by the end. Many surprises like the first one.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Miracle Maker (2000) 7/10

    2007-03-15 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    A repeat viewing of the claymation story of Jesus for our Bible Study. The accents were a great source of ridicule (Scottish for the fishermen?) but I liked some things like the desert temptation was interesting for picturing what Satan was offering Jesus and what he was turning down.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review300 (2006) 8/10

    2007-03-12 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    All action and style and short on story which is a good thing. Not necessarily a great movie but rather a visually stunning distraction. Great effects and high on testosterone. Based on the graphic novel (yep, that's a comic)

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Last Temptation of Christ (1988) 8/10

    2007-03-08 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    This is a repeat viewing for our new Jesus themed movie nights and was still fresh and enjoyable. Many things to discuss and bring a new perspective of a part of what Jesus could have really been like. Good discussion

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewLost Highway (1997) 8/10

    2007-03-04 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    This is the DL that I'm used to! A great film that after a little bit of study and a great writeup on the meaning made it a good view. I enjoyed the meaning behind it all and his heavy use of dreams. Classic DL!

    0.3
  • February, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBabel (2006) 8/10

    2007-02-23 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I liked it but not as much as the intertwined winner last year, Crash. I found the Japanese story too unrelated and the rest of the stories all too related (how much bad stuff can happen to one family). SPOILER - They didn't make it as grim as they could have but that was almost an after-effect, they have your heart clenched the whole movie, the release at the end doesn't seem like much consolation.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewChildren of Men (2006) 9/10

    2007-02-22 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    A surprisingly stark look at the future where the human race has been incapable of procreating for 18 years. I was expecting a more philosophical movie but instead got a gritty realistic movie of what that future might look like. A fascinating movie that was well thought out and executed brilliantly!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBorat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit... 9/10

    2007-02-20 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    The Antique shop mangling, wrestling match, bear roaring at children, line, "her, not so much", horse falling, and Pamela sacking - so many surprises - this is a masterful comedy!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEl laberinto del fauno (2006) 8/10

    2007-02-19 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    I was more shocked by this film than impressed as I knew nothing about it and was quite surprised by the content given the cover and the title. I do think that it is quite a good movie but confess I probably don't understand it as well as I could.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Queen (2006) 9/10

    2007-02-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Extremely well acted, I feel like I understand the characters and the lifestyle of the Royals much more after this film. A worthy Best Actress win for HM and a stunning and thoughtful film.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFor Your Consideration (2006) 7/10

    2007-02-17 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Expectations for CG movies are through this house's roof already and while it was quite a good movie it wasn't awesome. Some of the characters are beginning to be recycled and predictable but the 1/8 Mighty Choctaw was the winner in this one. FW is a hoot again in this one, "to all you who understand the King's English"

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSarah Silverman: Jesus Is Magic (2005) 6/10

    2007-02-16 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I confess that a bunch of her stuff was pretty funny but a purely stand up routine would have been better, the musicals didn't fit nor did the back stage stuff. She does say some pretty wild things but some of it is pretty funny too.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSmokin' Aces (2006) 6/10

    2007-02-15 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I'm surprised at myself for giving this only a mild thumbs down. A preposterous action flick with loads of hyper-violence and over the top characters. No decent dialog and stupid characters make this very miss-able.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHollywoodland (2006) 7/10

    2007-02-14 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    This one felt like CTF where it gives you one perspective of a true story that seems so perfect, then throws that away with new information and continues to keep you guessing. Good performances give this a mild recommend

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCasino Royale (2006) 9/10

    2007-02-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    A total rejuvenation of the Bond franchise - the last one was so forgettable and stupid and this one is so gritty, complex and real! The chase at the beginning had my palms sweating and the rest of the action throughout was stellar. DC as Bond is a great fit!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDOA: Dead or Alive (2006) 3/10

    2007-02-13 12:34
    * * *

    If anyone actually reads these reviews I'm going to be embarrassed that this is even on the list. Wow, what a crappy movie!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTom yum goong (2005) 7/10

    2007-02-12 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Nice chunk of action with this movie but the moves feel all the same by the end. The bone breaking last scene was pretty awesome and the one shot stair climbing scene was pretty impressive, a mild recommend.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEraserhead (1977) 4/10

    2007-02-11 12:34
    * * * *

    I normally really like DL's movies but this one I really despised. It didn't have any clever meaning behind it all and was just strange and annoying; it may be his first masterpiece but I'd be even happier if I'd missed it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCars (2006) 9/10

    2007-02-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I was expecting to like this but not to really enjoy it (I did really enjoy it!) The characters were really lovable, I love the cow/tractors, the first version of the paved road and the CGI scenery is just amazing. Makes me happy to ride the smaller roads that go through town instead of the expressway.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIn Cold Blood (1967) 9/10

    2007-02-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Amazing performances in the lead roles that really flesh out fully complete characters who commit the 'motive-less crime'. Based on a true story that is quite harrowing.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTrois couleurs: Rouge (1994) 7/10

    2007-02-01 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Quote from a message board that sums it up for me > It was a tantalizing film as I felt it with my heart, but cognitively, there was nothing there for my brain.

    0.3
  • January, 2007

  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCrank (2006) 6/10

    2007-01-28 12:34
    * * * * * *

    It's hard to rate a movie poorly that isn't really striving for anything great. I think it does manic action movie quite well but I guess it was just a bit too manic for me.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Prestige (2006) 9/10

    2007-01-27 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I quite enjoyed this one because I didn't really know what to expect, it had some tense moments, a great ending, great visuals. A few of the plot items you have to just play along with but the ending does have a real (and one obvious) surprise.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFun with Dick and Jane (2005) 6/10

    2007-01-17 12:34
    * * * * * *

    A comedy mixed pretty heavily with corporate commentary that does promote interesting discussion of the duty corporations have to their employees but the rest of the film is pretty flat.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMiami Vice (2006) 4/10

    2007-01-16 12:34
    * * * *

    This one was way too realistic that I didn't have a clue what language these guys were even speaking. I don't know if this is legitimate undercover cop speak but I didn't follow. Pretty forgettable.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewChinjeolhan geumjassi (2005) 6/10

    2007-01-15 12:34
    * * * * * *

    This one had a really topical ending that would not be considered typical of a revenge type movie but it certainly could promote good discussion.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Proposition (2005) 6/10

    2007-01-14 12:34
    * * * * * *

    A gritty Aussie western that is pretty good but quite slow paced. It does give you a good feel for the time and flavor of the area and does flesh out good characters but it's too slow to really recommend.

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>