If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • Life of Pi (2012) 10/10

    2013-02-27 22:19
    * * * * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewInception (2010) 10/10

    2010-07-24 01:09
    * * * * * * * * * *

    Woah!! This is big budget movie making! Very smart story, well acted, awesome effects and it sticks with you for awhile after watching - go see this!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAway We Go (2009) 10/10

    2009-09-19 22:56
    * * * * * * * * * *

    I haven't been this taken with a movie since Garden State. I loved the story which mostly consisted of short sections glued together by the larger story similar to Into the Wild (which I also loved). I think that I need to do a larger post on the whole movie as there's so much to discuss but I really was taken by the range of characters and how the main couple interacted with them. Note that I'm not recommending this to a general audience as there are lots of things to make people really not enjoy it (language, adult situations, etc). Oh, and the main artist (Alexi Murdoch) from the soundtrack was such "Dave music".

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBigger Stronger Faster* (2008) 10/10

    2008-10-01 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    This is an amazing documentary filled with shades of gray on the subject of steroid use in America. Why people use it, why people are so upset at athletes over it with a very personal tandem story to bring it all together. Amazingly put together - a big shocker - I wasn't expecting anything nearly this good.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Dark Knight (2008) 10/10

    2008-07-30 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    Oh yeah! What an amazing follow up to an amazing movie! The story is incredible and reasonably complex, the acting is great, and the villain is menacing in a goofy way, Batman is conflicted over his hero-morals and he yearns for something stable in his life. Gritty and tense without being gruesome - love it!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewInto the Wild (2007) 10/10

    2008-03-16 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    Ohh yeah! An amazing movie that has a perfect balance of storytelling, acting and character in it. I loved the range of characters in the story, the huge heart of the movie and would highly recommend this for almost anyone.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe King of Kong (2007) 10/10

    2008-02-28 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    Mmm, my favorite movie of the year so far, I defy you to watch this movie and not be rooting for the characters you see. Amazing documentary making! There are some interesting supplemental things that you can read up on after watching the movie. Twin Galaxies reply, Filmmakers reply. Awesome - go watch this!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSicko (2007) 10/10

    2007-06-15 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    As a big MM fan, it's no surprise that I like this one. It's so shocking that the US hasn't got full health care for its citizens yet and pretty much every other developed country does. It's what's keeping me from moving there - for real!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMononoke-hime (1997) 10/10

    2006-03-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    A repeat watching for me - I don't usually watch movies again once I've seen them but I absolutely love this movie even the second time; I would watch it again! I love the honor, mysticism and brand new feel to this movie (it's no Disney fluff!) - a real winner!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCrash (2004/I) 10/10

    2006-01-04 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    I was astounded at how good this movie actually was. Not cruder than it needed to be and also not graver than necessary. I loved that it avoided lots of opportunities to be a heavier movie. It is in each of us to be better people... or worse - make the small decisions to choose to be better!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBatman Begins (2005) 10/10

    2005-06-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    I don't know what more I want from a Batman movie! I've been looking forward to this one for at least a year and it did not fail to deliver! Great cast, story, villians, pace, mood, effects made this the best Batman movie yet!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFahrenheit 9/11 (2004) 10/10

    2004-07-20 12:34
    * * * * * * * * * *

    Possibly the best movie I've ever seen! My first 10 on this list. I was amazed to hear a perspective that I've never heard before - why haven't I? A movie to certainly make you ask questions...

    0.3
  • Jack Reacher (2012) 9/10

    2013-04-18 23:19
    * * * * * * * * *
    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSeven Psychopaths (2012) 9/10

    2013-01-15 22:38
    * * * * * * * * *

    I had low expectations for this movie but it surpassed in every way! I was expecting a thoughtless violent movie but this movie had a lot of ideas. I liked the 'Adaptation' like feel where the writer is in the story and changing things as he goes, the acting is great and the characters are very interesting while not being overly cartoonish. Walken and Farrell were especially interesting to me as pacifists in violent surroundings and how/why they hold on to their ideals. Very interesting ideas in a movie where I wasn't expecting any.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKon-Tiki (2012) 9/10

    2013-01-06 22:05
    * * * * * * * * *

    A fictional retelling of the true story of a Norwegian who sets out to prove his thesis that the Polynesian islands were populated from South America as opposed to Asia by rafting his way there using the same apparatus that the natives would have had. The original documentary was an Oscar winner Kon Tiki Doc. Amazing that I didn't know this story already and it's all together very well done, one of my favorites so far this year.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBreaking Bad (TV Series 2008– ) 9/10

    2012-12-18 11:12
    * * * * * * * * *

    If a TV series can be described as a page turner, this is one. At first, I had a very hard time getting into it as it's pretty dark watching a good man slowly and methodically go down a dark path but I started again and got hooked. The acting is incredible, the stories are unique and the writing of the show is top notch. One of the best character tv shows ever.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewSherlock (TV Series 2010– ) 9/10

    2012-11-25 22:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    An absolutely awesome TV show that would be suitable for nearly everyone. Very cleverly written, and well acted throughout. I love the shortened seasons (3 longer episodes) that the British use as they’ve really packed a movie-like punch into every episode. Well recommended.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBrave (2012) 9/10

    2012-10-05 11:58
    * * * * * * * * *

    YUL > YVR - I enjoyed this a lot! I was happy that the trailers didn’t spoil too much of the movie. The characters were lively and entertaining, the story was very interesting and kept you involved to see how the characters would change compared to how they were when you first met them.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Dark Knight Rises (2012) 9/10

    2012-08-08 22:48
    * * * * * * * * *

    I couldn't be much happier with the Batman trilogy overall. This movie was the weakest of the three but was still quite good. I felt that they were trying to tie too many things together and it felt forced. The plot and characters were pretty good though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIf a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation... 9/10

    2012-05-26 22:41
    * * * * * * * * *

    Very compelling doc about a group of radicalized young people who resort to property destruction on a grand scale to get the attention of the people that (they feel) are damaging the environment. Shows the story from both sides although it leans to the protesters, good doc which goes to show that almost anything can be made interesting in good hands.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Avengers (2012) 9/10

    2012-05-04 21:10
    * * * * * * * * *

    watched this in Denver with my friend on opening night and it was awesome!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMoneyball (2011) 9/10

    2012-01-14 23:44
    * * * * * * * * *

    When a movie with a plot as benign as MLB drafting and trading using statistics instead of scouting intuition is this entertaining, you know they did something right. Great story that had both Heidi and I riveted to a sport that we really know and care very little about.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRise of the Planet of the Apes (2011) 9/10

    2012-01-01 22:25
    * * * * * * * * *

    This was a really good prequel!! The acting was great, the animation was quite good (not flawless but not distracting), the story was well told and the characters were awesome with moments of Godfather II in there with Caeser as the original Don. Really loved it!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThis Film Is Not Yet Rated (2006) 9/10

    2011-09-07 19:35
    * * * * * * * * *

    9 is generous but I enjoyed the expose of the corrupt and secretive MPAA. It's fascinating to hear of the arbitrary and unjust censorship by a secretive bunch of people and the drastic effect that it has on film-makers. I share the opinion that violence and sex should swap places as ratings offenders but it's not an opinion I share with too many people, I don't think...

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewGame of Thrones (TV Series 2011) 9/10

    2011-06-20 22:32
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - I was instantly drawn to and completely engrossed in this fantastic HBO series. I was blown away by the risks that they take and the stories that they tell, excellent tv but probably not for everyone.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Way Back (2010) 9/10

    2011-05-21 23:19
    * * * * * * * * *

    A great movie showing the power of the human spirit to overcome adversity in order to survive. Great scenery, characters and although the veracity of the story may be questioned, it is still compelling.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHanna (2011) 9/10

    2011-05-01 23:29
    * * * * * * * * *

    The best action movie of the year so far! The story of a rogue and very secluded CIA agent who spends many years raising his young daughter to be a super agent while depriving her of any childhood. When she's unleashed on the world, she needs to decide what to do with her life. Great characters and acting especially by Cate Blanchett and Saoirse Ronan.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe King's Speech (2010) 9/10

    2011-02-08 22:52
    * * * * * * * * *

    A very nice and friendly film showing how an unsuspecting king enlists the help of a speech therapist to overcome his stutter. Great performances with wonderfully sympathetic characters. From the premise it seems boring, but like Frost/Nixon, it really pulls you in.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTrue Grit (2010) 9/10

    2011-01-25 22:52
    * * * * * * * * *

    The Coen's constantly impress me with their trademark wit, snappy dialogue and great acting throughout. A gripping Western about a girl looking for revenge on her father's killer.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review127 Hours (2010) 9/10

    2011-01-06 22:16
    * * * * * * * * *

    Just awesome, I read the book a few years ago and was really excited to see the movie adaptation and it was really great in adding some nice visuals to the story and fleshing out (ha!) the character a bit more. Great adventure and survival story.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDear Zachary: A Letter to a Son About His Father... 9/10

    2010-12-18 23:28
    * * * * * * * * *

    An absolutely heart wrenching documentary - I haven't seen a movie that has grieved my heart so much. It's numbingly real and that heightens the pain and suffering so much more. I don't want to give more than I need to away but watch this when you're ready to be brought to tears by an incredible family and their great misfortune. On behalf of Canada, my apologies for our messed up system.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewToy Story 3 (2010) 9/10

    2010-11-10 22:10
    * * * * * * * * *

    The Toy Story trilogy doesn't disappoint at all and this is no exception. Great return of the characters for another slightly darker expedition to a daycare and the toys that run it. Great fun and adventure.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewScott Pilgrim vs. the World (2010) 9/10

    2010-11-03 22:13
    * * * * * * * * *

    Ooh, I loved the originality of this movie!! It did so many things that were just wonderful and unique so for that I give it big applause

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewRed (2010) 9/10

    2010-10-21 12:10
    * * * * * * * * *

    MSP -> YVR This was a ton of fun, reminded me of The Losers which I enjoyed but with an A-cast. Great characters, acting and over the top action.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewUp in the Air (2009/I) 9/10

    2010-01-13 22:57
    * * * * * * * * *

    Loved this movie! So much detail about flying, staying away from home that I could really relate to. The story itself was surprisingly gentle for being about such a grave topic (firing people), the romance was enjoyable to watch and the ending was surprising and good.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewAvatar (2009) 9/10

    2009-12-30 15:47
    * * * * * * * * *

    AMAZING effects that really immerse you in the world of Pandora. When the movie was over, I was sad that I had to leave the whole experience. The story was not bad at all, nothing incredibly original but it was re-heated with great skill. It is best to see in the theaters (in 3D)!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewDistrict 9 (2009) 9/10

    2009-11-19 23:57
    * * * * * * * * *

    I loved this movie because it stayed away from formulas and easy characterizations to give us an ambiance, characters and plot that was unique and exciting. It was great to see this story unfold, surprised by almost every step it took because it was doing something new. Bravo!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewUp (2009) 9/10

    2009-11-01 15:33
    * * * * * * * * *

    Heartfelt and warm movie with sparinly used dialogue. Pixar is amazing at telling a story without using words (see Wall-E) and this is another prime example. I was happy to be taken along for this acrophobic ride with great visuals, great characters, fun story and a wonderful message. Highly recommended!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMilk (2008/I) 9/10

    2009-06-27 21:48
    * * * * * * * * *

    The acting was great, the story was told very well and the message is important. Good job on the movie with a strong message to Christians to love your neighbor, you know, like Jesus would.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"30 Rock" (2006) 9/10

    2009-05-14 20:10
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - This is probably my favorite comedy show this year (not a ton of competition there, really). Lots of hilarious moments, risque humor, good guests (who are usually well used) and moments of awkward truth (can't tell the age of any black people).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewStar Trek (2009) 9/10

    2009-05-07 17:45
    * * * * * * * * *

    Awesome reboot! As a pretty big Star Trek fan from the early days, I thought that this was a faithful and yet fresh look at the series. They had inside jokes galore for the long time Trek fan and enough action and good story to keep the average movie goer entertained. Now, I'm excited to see more of these.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Battlestar Galactica" (2004) 9/10

    2009-03-21 15:02
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 4.5 - The final season. This was a really good half season - amazing adventure, nice plot reveal at the beginning of the season with the fifth cylon so that we could get on with the show and a great finale. Some boring episodes that were necessary for buildup in the middle of the season but otherwise another great season.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFrost/Nixon (2008) 9/10

    2009-02-25 15:31
    * * * * * * * * *

    Much more engaging than a series of actual interviews aught to be. Well filmed, brought me into the history and characters effortlessly even though I didn't know that much about them to begin with. Great historical film and worth watching.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNothing But the Truth (2008) 9/10

    2009-02-12 15:18
    * * * * * * * * *

    Based on the Plame affair. An awesome film showing the personal toll of reporting and how the law can be worked against you - I enjoyed this film very much.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBaby Mama (2008) 9/10

    2008-08-27 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I do love TF comedy and this movie was great! Very clean - super funny and lots of memorable quotes. I liked that what the trailer gave away was covered quickly in the movie so we could get to new stuff. "I'm going to reward you with 5 minutes of uninterrupted eye contact." "Mr Ackerman?! That's my dog's name. Call me Rob."

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIn Bruges (2008) 9/10

    2008-06-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    This movie was outright hilarious! The first few minutes have a lot of swearing and you wonder how it'll be funny but it really is. Attacking with a bottle, possibility of dying in Bruges and all the dwarf stuff is hilarious.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIron Man (2008) 9/10

    2008-05-15 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I like the new blend of semi-realism that's coming to super hero movies where they're supposed to seem plausible. I thought it was done well in this movie, the acting was great, the story was pretty typical but still fun. Good times.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Bank Job (2008) 9/10

    2008-04-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    One of the biggest surprises I've had at a movie in awhile. It starts off like a very light heist movie and mid way takes a turn for the darker and more ominous - I love how the characters handle this. Based on a true story, this is one fascinating heist; well acted and directed. Some of the material may not suit everyone, btw.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewMichael Clayton (2007) 9/10

    2008-02-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    The rapid, difficult to comprehend story telling reminded me of Syriana where the plot can be followed without too much difficulty but it's not just given to you easily - there are lots of high level conversations that are tough to grab the jist from. Good performances though and an enjoyable law thriller.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewJuno (2007) 9/10

    2008-02-04 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I really enjoyed this movie although the snarky dialogue can grow a bit tiring. I liked the characters, the unexpected change in one character at the end and the high school romance. Interesting and enjoyable movie with huge heart.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert... 9/10

    2008-01-26 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    This was a deliberately paced atypical western and I loved it. I really enjoyed the narration, soundtrack and cinematography which didn't seem to fit what you'd except from the genre but I thought that it worked wonderfully. It is a long and slow paced movie but well worth it for those who like films.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Nanny Diaries (2007) 9/10

    2008-01-06 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I had really low expectations for this film and it really exceeded them quite wonderfully. Basically, if you liked, Devil Wears Prada, there's a good chance that you'll like this film because they have many remarkable similarities. I felt that this one had legitimate dialog, avoided the high-jinxes and had some fun with the whole anthropology angle without overdoing it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewEastern Promises (2007) 9/10

    2007-12-29 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    This was a great mob movie. A regular family gets involved with the mob where they find danger and some attraction. Amazing acting by VM and an all around great story make this a big winner.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewNo Country for Old Men (2007) 9/10

    2007-11-19 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    A really good movie with a great villain, good tension and a great flow. Amazing characters, lots to say wrt the state of society, and deftly directed. The story is entirely fresh and devoid of the corniness that typically fills this kind of movie. A bit grotesque at points but a solid recommend.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewTransformers (2007) 9/10

    2007-09-25 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I really liked this movie - I didn't feel as stupid after watching it as I thought I would. It had great characters and dialog, it didn't take itself too seriously but at the same time contained the best special effects I've ever seen. Felt a bit like a kids movie but still, good acting and story all around.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewKnocked Up (2007) 9/10

    2007-09-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    OK, so the humor is pretty crude but there were a number of times I just couldn't contain my laughter, it was so funny (butterfly kisses especially) and at the same time really touching with legitimate characters. Also contains the longest and probably most accurate birth in a major movie, which is a good thing?

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewFlushed Away (2006) 9/10

    2007-08-23 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Pixar aren't the only ones making great 3D animation movies as this one is top notch! The side characters are really funny and the movie on a whole is really well done - easily recommended!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Lookout (2007) 9/10

    2007-08-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Stellar movie with a great story, deeply drawn characters and an interesting plot to drive the movie. Not too many tricks in this movie, just great storytelling, acting and straightforward direction. A strong recommend.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewHuo Yuan Jia (2006) 9/10

    2007-08-05 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I wasn't expecting a lot to think about from a Jet Li movie but this was one of his best movies that I've ever seen. Gives a lot to think about for those interested in pacifism, community, and non-violence. Based on the life of the real Wushu creator Huo Yuanjia

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Battlestar Galactica" (2004) 9/10

    2007-06-30 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 2 - Two stellar plot lines make this season better than the first - we'll see how the third season fares shortly.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBattlestar Galactica (2003) (TV) 9/10

    2007-06-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Mini Series - This is the mini series that got me hooked on the show. A great concept that eventually got made into a full out TV show.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Office" (2005) 9/10

    2007-05-04 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - The 3rd season is over! This show is still pretty good but not the best sitcom on tv anymore. The Jim and Pam center of the show is being diluted.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewChildren of Men (2006) 9/10

    2007-02-22 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    A surprisingly stark look at the future where the human race has been incapable of procreating for 18 years. I was expecting a more philosophical movie but instead got a gritty realistic movie of what that future might look like. A fascinating movie that was well thought out and executed brilliantly!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewBorat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit... 9/10

    2007-02-20 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    The Antique shop mangling, wrestling match, bear roaring at children, line, "her, not so much", horse falling, and Pamela sacking - so many surprises - this is a masterful comedy!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Queen (2006) 9/10

    2007-02-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Extremely well acted, I feel like I understand the characters and the lifestyle of the Royals much more after this film. A worthy Best Actress win for HM and a stunning and thoughtful film.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCasino Royale (2006) 9/10

    2007-02-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    A total rejuvenation of the Bond franchise - the last one was so forgettable and stupid and this one is so gritty, complex and real! The chase at the beginning had my palms sweating and the rest of the action throughout was stellar. DC as Bond is a great fit!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewCars (2006) 9/10

    2007-02-11 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I was expecting to like this but not to really enjoy it (I did really enjoy it!) The characters were really lovable, I love the cow/tractors, the first version of the paved road and the CGI scenery is just amazing. Makes me happy to ride the smaller roads that go through town instead of the expressway.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewIn Cold Blood (1967) 9/10

    2007-02-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Amazing performances in the lead roles that really flesh out fully complete characters who commit the 'motive-less crime'. Based on a true story that is quite harrowing.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewThe Prestige (2006) 9/10

    2007-01-27 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I quite enjoyed this one because I didn't really know what to expect, it had some tense moments, a great ending, great visuals. A few of the plot items you have to just play along with but the ending does have a real (and one obvious) surprise.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewUnited 93 (2006) 9/10

    2006-11-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    It really brings you back to the uncertainty of the day due to the misinformation and disbelief. The acting by all unknowns is great and it was quite informational without being too political. It doesn't let up very much which left us uptight throughout, saying, "This is so intense!"

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>