If you want to read about Saff & Grenz instead.

Movie Reviews

For an idea of what my star/number ratings mean in words, here’s an idea:

  • 10 – Phenomenal Movie! Couldn’t be recommended high enough!
  • 9 – Very good movie – I liked it a lot and there’s a good chance that you will too
  • 8 – Quite good movie – I was generally pleased with the movie
  • 7 – Barely a recommendation – On the threshold but still recommended
  • 6 – Not really recommended – I wouldn’t suggest you seek out this film
  • 5 or less – Varying degrees of bad – all not recommendable

Sort list by: title | rating | view date

  • Show the reviewHide the review"Battlestar Galactica" (2004) 9/10

    2009-03-21 15:02
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 4.5 - The final season. This was a really good half season - amazing adventure, nice plot reveal at the beginning of the season with the fifth cylon so that we could get on with the show and a great finale. Some boring episodes that were necessary for buildup in the middle of the season but otherwise another great season.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 8/10

    2009-02-06 15:15
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 6 - The Final Season. I loved this season that everything was gearing up to the fictional shows end as well as the regular - that was great! I loved all the Jon Stewart stuff too.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Wire" (2002) 8/10

    2009-03-14 15:16
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 2 - new season, new main storyline which was a nice change after I got used to what was going on. Nice tie-ins with the previous season and good stories for this season; it's nice to go in blind and not have any idea what's going to happen next time around. Omar, McNulty were my favorites this round around.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Wire" (2002) 8/10

    2009-02-19 15:25
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - This show was recommended to me by so many people and after about a year of trying to get through the first season, I finally gathered some momentum and made it work. Compared to the Shield, it has a lot more graphic language and content and the show moves at the pace of reality instead of the tv world. If you want to get hooked into it, it's a good show, Shield is still better - on to Season 2.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"30 Rock" (2006) 9/10

    2009-05-14 20:10
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - This is probably my favorite comedy show this year (not a ton of competition there, really). Lots of hilarious moments, risque humor, good guests (who are usually well used) and moments of awkward truth (can't tell the age of any black people).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"30 Rock" (2006) 3/10

    2007-05-21 12:34
    * * *

    Season 1 - The 1st season is over! I'm so happy! I hate this show, it's the worst tv show I've ever been hooked on. Somebody, throw soda at me if I somehow get into season 2

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"30 Rock" (2006) 8/10

    2007-04-26 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - The 1st season is over! - My new favorite comedy sitcom. Well written and acted across the board.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Afro Samurai" (2007) 6/10

    2008-04-06 12:34
    * * * * * *

    Reminded me very much of Ninjai with the extreme swordfighting gore and also of Samurai Jack for the techno future vision. If you like Samurai cartoons, this one is a bit more adults but decently made if that's your style.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Angels in America" (2003) 7/10

    2005-10-31 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    About the NY gay community in the mid-80's and how AIDS is affecting them. There were a couple of characters in this mini-series that I really liked which is why I'm recommending this. The acting and dialogue was quite good as well. Enjoyable if this plot interests you.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Arrested Development" (2003) 9/10

    2005-06-12 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 2 - I think I consumed this whole season on a trip to CA and back! So funny again - constantly new and interesting material for all of the cast. This series is seriously the best on TV.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Arrested Development" (2003) 9/10

    2005-05-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - Oh man, by far the best comedy since Seinfeld. Story of a tight but completely worlds apart family and their grabs for power and money from each other. Amazing supporting cast - funny across the board. I can't wait for more of this!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Batman" (1992) 9/10

    2004-08-09 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Volume 1 - I absolutely love this animated series. The new batmans that they are coming out with are really kiddish but this series is just great - serious enough for adults and fun enough for kids

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Battlestar Galactica" (2004) 7/10

    2007-07-08 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - This season wasn't as innovative and risky as the other two but still pretty good entertainment.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Battlestar Galactica" (2004) 9/10

    2007-06-30 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 2 - Two stellar plot lines make this season better than the first - we'll see how the third season fares shortly.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Battlestar Galactica" (2004) 8/10

    2007-06-17 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - Good first season held the success of the mini-series quite well

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Caprica" (2009) 4/10

    2009-04-30 20:25
    * * * *

    A spin off of BSG which had no need for a prequel nor does it have any need for a follow up. This mini-movie had no interesting story to tell and should have never seen the light of day. Terrible.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Da Ali G Show" (2003) 7/10

    2006-08-10 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Rezpekt! I'm still trying to do the finger slap thing - I've got the know how, now I just need to execute, it'll come.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Day Break" (2006) 7/10

    2008-10-06 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    For a constrictive TV premise where a LA cop repeats his day over and over again, they were able to keep it surprisingly fresh. I did get tired of catching the bad guy only to realize it's his boss we really need to catch, that was tiring, but otherwise a decent show.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Entourage" (2004) 8/10

    2006-10-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - That's it! All caught up. A nice little diversion for when you want to waste some time, Lloyd the secretary is another favorite in this season.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Entourage" (2004) 8/10

    2006-10-06 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 2 - More of the same, I'm getting to like Drama a lot.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Entourage" (2004) 8/10

    2006-09-27 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - A fluffy series about a movie star and his lackeys as they try to make it in Hollywood. I like all the cameos and interesting inside jokes but mostly, I love Ali Gold, he's got lightning fast witty lines and is acted really well.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Firefly" (2002) 7/10

    2005-05-04 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - Not great but not bad either. I like the braveness of making unlikeable characters but all in all, I just watched it cause it was there and nothing better was on.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Justice League" (2001) 2/10

    2003-02-10 08:55
    * *

    Way too many superheroes make this a giant mess. No one hero is given enough time to show anything past their superpower skill set - stick with them by themselves.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Samurai Jack" (2001) 6/10

    2003-04-18 09:26
    * * * * * *

    Some adrenaline and cool swordplay with interesting animation but it really only holds for about 30 minutes no the full length. Cool but not that cool.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The American Experience" RFK (2004) 7/10

    2004-11-29 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Really educational documentary about RFK and his political rise, the loss of his brother and how he needed to overcome that. It's amazing how close he was to becoming the next president when he was assassinated.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 7/10

    2008-12-30 12:50
    * * * * * * *

    Season 5 - Not the greatest season but I did enjoy the constant tension with Jon Stewart over losing the show to him, the Sarah Silverman episodes, and Artie mixed up with Angie Dickinson.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 7/10

    2008-09-26 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Season 4 - I liked the Artie all-nighter episode, any episode with BO in it and the Beck music number

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 8/10

    2008-08-14 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - Another good season. I liked that less time was spent on Larry's home life and more developing some of the other characters. Highlights were the episode for Artie and the Roseanne finale.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 8/10

    2008-07-13 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 2 - More of Artie is always a laugh. John Ritter and Gene Siskel were awesome and finding a replacement host for the show after his was a great episode.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Larry Sanders Show" (1992) 8/10

    2008-06-17 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - Good bunch of characters and an interesting show means I'm going to season 2

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Office" (2001) 7/10

    2006-10-06 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Season 2 - This is a pretty dirty show when compared to the US version, not that great actually, you could probably skip to the Christmas special and enjoy yourself more.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Office" (2001) 7/10

    2005-04-22 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Season 1 - I liked this show but don't think I'll be addicted to it. It's a little to realistic and slow paced to be excellent but does have its funny moments.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Office" (2005) 6/10

    2009-05-18 21:35
    * * * * * *

    Season 5 - To me, this show is getting tired and because-such, I dropped it mid-season. Heidi has been keeping up with it, but it just doesn't make me laugh. I also checked out the spin off, "Parks and Recreation" but I won't be going back for seconds of that one either.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Office" (2005) 9/10

    2007-05-04 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - The 3rd season is over! This show is still pretty good but not the best sitcom on tv anymore. The Jim and Pam center of the show is being diluted.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Wire" (2002) 4/10

    2009-05-03 17:47
    * * * *

    Season 5 - Uggg. What a waste and a shame. I was a big fan of all the other seasons but this one got off on the wrong foot right away. McNulty creating a serial killer seemed way too off his character to be believable that the rest of the season just seemed like crap because of that. The fact that Lester went along with it just completely blew up the whole season for me. I couldn't get past that. Oh, and killing Omar by a hopper; that was unforgivable. Terrible season.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Wire" (2002) 8/10

    2009-04-23 08:15
    * * * * * * * *

    Season 4 - This season almost got a 9 but I found the ending to be so lame - basically a set up for the next season and not much of a finale at all. I'm getting a hang for how this show works now and what to expect. This season covered the schools, the run for and business of mayor, the corner kids and Omar in prison; McNulty was nowhere to be found.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"The Wire" (2002) 7/10

    2009-04-05 14:22
    * * * * * * *

    Season 3 - I felt that this was a pretty lame season until the last 3 eps when it really came together. Interesting stories about Hamsterdam, the freed boxer, and the run for mayor. It's fun going into these seasons completely blind not knowing what's coming at all - onto S4.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Tin Man" (2007) 6/10

    2008-01-05 12:34
    * * * * * *

    The production on this really felt second rate. An interesting concept of having Alice in Wonderland but with a Sci-Fi spin - I liked the idea but it didn't work for a whole miniseries. Some weak acting and poor dialog so not really recommended.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewÆon Flux (2005) 6/10

    2006-07-13 12:34
    * * * * * *

    I think I liked finding that weird Æ thing for this blog that the movie itself. The story was quite weak, the emotion contrived and the action - not frequent enough.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Caprica" (2009) 5/10

    2010-04-30 15:24
    * * * * *

    Season 1 - This show is terrible. No characters to root for and motivations that are bizarre. Why is Zoe so stauch on not letting herself he known to her father, Why does Lacy think it's a reasonable request to move a giant top secret robot to a different planet without anyone knowing. Etc. Not good at all.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Keep Your Head Up Kid: The Don Cherry... 8/10

    2010-06-10 23:38
    * * * * * * * *

    The peculiar charm of DC in a biopic made for tv movie which seems like it would be tough to do but it did it very well. Captured the core of his ethic and portrayed him (and his family) very endearingly.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Misfits" (TV Series 2009) 8/10

    2011-12-24 15:40
    * * * * * * * *

    Seasons 1 and 2 were simply amazing but season 3 was a big let down due to the lack of Nathan and the energy he brought. Very crude show but it brings a unique viewpoint to the superhero genre.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Spartacus: Blood and Sand" (2010) 6/10

    2010-05-01 15:25
    * * * * * *

    Season 1 - Not really a very good show, it feels like its plotlines are thought out by teenage geek boys and the dialog is fancied up by someone that likes old English. An abundance of blood, skin and recycled plots will keep some interest though, I suppose.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Strange Days on Planet Earth" (2005) 7/10

    2010-07-11 22:40
    * * * * * * *

    A decent documentary series on how things are changing so rapidly on Earth due to mans intervention from intermingling species from all over the world to removing large predators.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review"Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles"... 6/10

    2010-05-26 17:43
    * * * * * *

    Season 1 and 2 - I didn't like the sanitized TV feel of this show and the quippy dialog grew tiring. It's hard to keep track of all the time travel timelines so eventually it's best to just stop trying. Not terrible for mindless entertainment but I wouldn't bother to seek it out. It was interesting seeing a bunch of people from the Wire in it; the casting director must have been a fan.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review(500) Days of Summer (2009) 6/10

    2009-11-21 22:19
    * * * * * *

    I had really high hopes for this movie based on the trailer and the first few minutes of the movie (which was great!) but ultimately, this movie left me tired and bored. I loved the narration and concept for the movie but ended up disappointed in the execution. I thought the acting was poor (the guy friends were terrible) and I don't really care for Zooey Deschanel. Some good ideas and some hilarious moments but too much boredom let me down on this one.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review10,000 BC (2008) 3/10

    2008-08-06 12:34
    * * *

    This movie was surprisingly uninspired. It had no interesting ideas of its own, lacked historical accuracy on a grand scale and was at times, just annoying. The old lady part was the worst and the interaction (across a vast distance!) for the finale threw this movie over the top for crappiness factor.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review12 Angry Men (1957) 8/10

    2009-01-20 15:07
    * * * * * * * *

    An all time classic, currently 10th on the top 250 movies of all time so it deserved my attention. It’s exactly the type of movie that I don’t typically like (one-room theater dramas) but even with that working against it, it was a solid movie. It kept my attention and even had me stay up later than I wanted to in order to finish it.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review127 Hours (2010) 9/10

    2011-01-06 22:16
    * * * * * * * * *

    Just awesome, I read the book a few years ago and was really excited to see the movie adaptation and it was really great in adding some nice visuals to the story and fleshing out (ha!) the character a bit more. Great adventure and survival story.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review13 Assassins (2010) 8/10

    2011-04-16 14:32
    * * * * * * * *

    A Japanese movie set in the time of the samurai where 13 samurai are assembled to go on a suicide mission to assassinate an evil lord. It has a feeling similar to my favorite film, Seven Samurai, with the assembling of the team, the planning of the attack and the subsequent gory battle. It is excessively gory but I can not resist a good samurai movie, and this is one.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review16 Blocks (2006) 7/10

    2008-02-07 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    Not a bad little action flick. I grew tired of the MD character, but I think that was the point and it was weird to see BW as a completely washed up cop. I did enjoy many things about the ending though - worth checking out.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review21 (2008) 8/10

    2008-06-18 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    This was a fun movie - a few slight twists and turns made it a little bit interesting while keeping it reasonably realistic. Based on true-ish events, real Blackjack busting methods and the first movie I've seen that references making a Printed Circuit Board make this a winner.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review21 Grams (2003) 8/10

    2004-10-05 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    Heavy movie about coping with death, organ donation, Jesus and other big issues. Well acted, but a bit heavy for those who don't feel like dealing with that.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review25th Hour (2002) 6/10

    2004-03-14 09:04
    * * * * * *

    Too slow without developing much - a little too talky and not enough to talk about. Interesting premise but not enough to carry a whole feature film

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review28 Days Later... (2002) 7/10

    2004-10-21 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I don't really like horror movie but this one was on HBO in my hotel so I tuned in and found myself enjoying it. I liked that it wasn't too stupid, the zombies were kinda bright and that there were other bad guys besides the zombies - interesting.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review28 Weeks Later (2007) 7/10

    2007-09-09 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I really don't like this silly horror movies and I don't think that I would really recommend this movie unless you liked the first one. While not as good as the original, it is pretty high energy and nerve wracking with a few surprises.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review30 Minutes or Less (2011) 4/10

    2011-11-08 21:51
    * * * *

    Too vulgar, me and my sensibilities couldn't make it through.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review300 (2006) 8/10

    2007-03-12 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    All action and style and short on story which is a good thing. Not necessarily a great movie but rather a visually stunning distraction. Great effects and high on testosterone. Based on the graphic novel (yep, that's a comic)

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review3:10 to Yuma (2007) 8/10

    2007-12-31 12:34
    * * * * * * * *

    A solid western. You don't see a lot of good westerns these days but this is a good one. You'll need to stretch your imagination a bit to put yourself in the villains shoes but otherwise a good ride.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review4: Rise of the Silver Surfer (2007) 5/10

    2007-08-26 12:34
    * * * * *

    OK, so this is a movie you'll feel stupid for watching and possibly a little upset that you wasted your time on it. Some special effects are pretty good but man, does this ever have poor dialogue and a really dumb story. Waste your time here with caution.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review50/50 (2011) 7/10

    2011-10-25 22:13
    * * * * * * *

    Moderately crude movie but I guess that should be expected considering the talent involved. Nice comedy laced and truth-based story about a guy who gets cancer and tries to beat it with the help of his friend and family.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the review61* (2001) (TV) 7/10

    2004-04-06 09:06
    * * * * * * *

    Nice history lesson in how the home run record of Babe Ruth was broken by a small time home body Roger Maris and the competition that he had with Mickey Mantle - well made and educational.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA Christmas Carol (2009) 7/10

    2009-11-27 23:39
    * * * * * * *

    I had low expectations of Jim Carrey in a serious role like this but he was better than I thought he would be; not amazing but not bad. A compliment is that if you didn't know he was playing scrooge, there weren't a lot of scenes that would make it obvious. I liked that it kept quite close to the original, watching it in 3D was a lot of fun but the technology has to continue growing to make it more natural (hair, eyes, teeth).

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA Clockwork Orange (1971) 7/10

    2005-03-12 12:34
    * * * * * * *

    I think this movie is so popular because it's the first one to do many things but I didn't really love it. Good story, more of a social commentary though.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA Glimpse of Hell (2001) (TV) 3/10

    2002-12-18 14:30
    * * *

    After making it through the movie I start to understand the title! The story of the explosion on the U.S.S. Iowa - while it is an interesting story it would have been MUCH better as a documentary or a JAG episode.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA History of Violence (2005) 9/10

    2006-03-17 12:34
    * * * * * * * * *

    I enjoyed this more than I thought I would, and I had pretty high expectations. A mix of guilty pleasure 90's action movies with a story that makes sense and performances that are riveting. Great action and story merge here for a great movie.

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA Man Apart (2003) 5/10

    2004-05-22 09:10
    * * * * *

    Yet another movie I wouldn't be worse off if I hadn't seen. Not much to really say except that Vin Diesel isn't in for the long haul

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA Mighty Wind (2003) 9/10

    2003-12-06 08:38
    * * * * * * * * *

    The first CG movie (documentary style films) that we saw and the characters and the silly things they say and do really grew on us. Our favorite charcters are FW and JC - they're so creative! Wha' happened?!

    0.3
  • Show the reviewHide the reviewA Serious Man (2009) 6/10

    2010-02-13 22:57
    * * * * * *

    I'd say that this is probably my lowest rated Coen movie. So many times it feels like a great Coen movie but I was disappointed with the quick ending and seemingly disjointed beginning. I'm reading about the themes and stuff it makes a bit more sense but as a piece to itself, it wasn't enjoyable enough.

    0.3

Leave a comment

You can use these tags : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>